Weekly Reading Roundup

*****

The week

Another week in which I went to Amsterdam, this time with a friend who lives nearby. We stocked up on mince pies, selection boxes, Christmas pudding, cheeses, and other goodies, both at Mark & Spencer’s and at Waterstone’s. The latter is a British bookstore, but it also sells a few foodie goodies for Dutch Anglophiles.

At book group we discussed The Rosie Project. Actually, we didn’t, well, hardly. We planned to, but ended up talking about other things and playing a bookish game. We all brought a wrapped up book that we were happy to part with (but that we thought our book club would like). Person 1 picked a book from the pile and opened it. Person 2 could either take a new book, or steal the book of Person 1. In the latter case, Person 1 then chose a new book from the pile. This way, a new person was only added to the game when all previous people were supplied with a book. Stealing didn’t happen as much as I would like (it adds a lot to the fun), but eventually we all had a book that we were (very) happy with. The book I went home with was The Guardian Angel’s Journal by Carolyn Jess-Cooke. A steal!

.

Books I finished in the last week: 3

Have Wormhole, Will Travel by Tony McFaddenThe Rosie Project by Graeme SimsionThe One Thing by Gary Keller and Jay Papasan

.

Books I’m reading & planning to read

The Kept by James ScottDossier 64 by Jussi Adler-OlsenDe mannenmaker [The Men Maker] by Petra Kruijt

.

Reviews

Unaccustomed Earth by Jhumpa LahiriDe gestolen kinderen [The Stolen Children] by Gerardo Soto y KoelemeijerThe Rosie Project by Graeme Simsion

Unaccustomed Earth by Jhumpa Lahiri. Short stories about Indian immigrants in the USA. 4.5 stars

De gestolen kinderen [The Stolen Children] by Gerardo Soto y Koelemeijer. A Spanish man realises he may be one of tens of thousands of children that were taken from their parents and adopted by people in favour of the Franco government of the 1950s and 1960s. 3.5 stars

The Rosie Project by Graeme Simsion. An autistic man is looking for a wife. Instead he meets Rosie who definitely does not fulfil his criteria. But he does like her. A lot. 5 stars

That’s it!

What are you reading this week?

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

6 Responses to Weekly Reading Roundup

  1. The Rosie Project is such a cute read : )
    Have a terrific week,

    Shelleyrae @ Book’d Out

    • Leeswammes says:

      Thanks, Shelleyrae. I read you’re so busy, how come you’re even visiting blogs?🙂

      Hope you have a good week too. If it’s busy, let’s at least hope it’ll run smoothly.

  2. Sounds like a fun an busy week!

  3. Sounds like you had a lovely day shopping with your friend, and book club with a gift exchange is fun! I haven’t read The Rosie Project or Unaccustomed Earth but need to (I have the hardcover for Lahiri’s novel).

    I’m in a little village located on Lake Geneva now, Christmas is just lovely here. I’m not sure I want to go back but my family and dogs would miss me too much. I think I might decorate on the Eve and keep the house decorated a for a week or two as it will feel terribly sad to return home to.

    I hope you have a wonderful Christmas.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Mari, how lovely you spent/d time in Switzerland! I’ve never been there although I’m only a few hours (8, 10?) away from it. Sounds really nice this time of year!

      I hope you have a wonderful Christmas.

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

