Weekly Reading Roundup

*****

The week

Last week, I’ve been reading quite a bit: 3.5 books. I’ve not felt too well the last few days so spent a lot of time reading instead of doing more brain-consuming things. Other than dreaming about holidays I haven’t done anything special. There may be a week to a sunny destination with a friend in February and also, I want to fulfil my bucket-list plan of travelling the Norwegian fjords. I’m dreaming and plotting…

If you’re celebrating a particular holiday this week, have fun! I’m not prepared. At all.

.

Books I finished in the last week: 3

The Kept by James ScottThis Year it Will be Different by Maeve BinchyDe mannenmaker [The Men Maker] by Petra Kruijt

The Kept by James Scott. Historical fiction about a woman who comes home to her desolated farm to find all of her family killed, except for one son. They pledge to find the killers. 5 stars

This Year it Will be Different by Maeve Binchy. Short stories with a Christmas theme, but nothing too sweet. 4.5 stars

De mannenmaker [The Men Maker] by Petra Kruijt. Chick lit. A woman chooses a new nerdy man every half year to transform into girlfriend material. But what about herself? 3.5 stars

.

Books I’m reading & planning to read

De zonderlinge avonturen van het geniale bommenmeisje [The Curious Adventures of the Genius Bomb Girl] by Jonas JonassonThe Sugar Detox by Brooke Alpert and Patricia FarrisThe Queen of Sugar by Natalie Baszile.

Reviews

Have Wormhole, Will Travel by Tony McFaddenThe One Thing by Gary Keller and Jay Papasan

Have Wormhole, Will Travel by Tony McFadden. Science Fiction. Two aliens are on Earth to stop earthlings from discovering scientifc breakthroughs that could endanger the lives on their home planet. 3.5 stars

The One Thing [Review in Dutch] by Gary Keller and Jay Papasan. A book with one thing: to make your plans come true, do the one thing that will at the moment by the most useful in achieving your objective. I believe in it. 5 stars.

That’s it!

What are you reading this week?

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

12 Responses to Weekly Reading Roundup

  1. Nish says:

    I’ve been reading The Case of the Love Commandos by Tarquin Hall all of last week, interspersed with a couple of romances. Maybe, because it’s Christmas time, I just can’t seem to focus on anything heavy.

  2. I’m dreaming of a holiday too! lOL
    Happy Holidays!
    Shelleyrae @ Book’d Out

    • Leeswammes says:

      Same to you, Shelleyrae. I’ve been looking at holiday destinations today, then remembered I actually had a completely different idea for a holiday (sun vs fjords).

      On Mon, Dec 23, 2013 at 1:00 PM, Leeswammes' Blog

  3. heavenali says:

    I have a review copy of The kept which I am looking forward to – I hope to get to it earlyish in January – other reading commitments permitting.

  4. So many people are not prepared hahaha. I hear al this panic around me. We are out both days so not much worry there. Hope you will have a a great Christmas.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Hope you have a good Christmas, too, Ciska. No, I didn’t panic. I just wasn’t prepared but as there are no people visiting and we’re not going anywhere it’s quite an easy Christmas really.

      On Mon, Dec 23, 2013 at 7:26 PM, Leeswammes' Blog

  5. lisaalmedasumner says:

    I’m looking forward to reading The Kept…You gave it a high rating, so I’m excited. The One Thing sounds intriguing, too!

  6. I would like to read The Kept soon. I hope to finish maybe two more books before the year ends🙂 Happy holidays!

  7. Hope you made it through Christmas. Thanks for all the good ideas for books to put on my list to read.

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

