Book Review: Salvation of a Saint by Keigo Higashino

Salvation of a Saint by Keigo HigashinoSalvation of a Saint : What it is about

The publisher says: “When a man is discovered dead by poisoning in his empty home his beautiful wife, Ayane, immediately falls under suspicion. All clues point to Ayane being the logical suspect, but how could she have committed the crime when she was hundreds of miles away?

As Tokyo police detective Kusanagi tries to unpick a seemingly unrelated sequence of events he finds himself falling for Ayane. When his judgement becomes dangerously clouded his assistant must call on an old friend for help; it will take a genius to unravel the most spectacular web of deceit they have ever faced…”

Salvation of a Saint : What I thought

I loved the first book I read by this author, The Devotion of Suspect X, so I was very keen to read this one, too.

I liked it slightly less than the earlier book, maybe because then it was all new to me: the setting, detective Kusanagi, his friend Yukawa and the level of the enquiries (very detailed). Also, the story was more interesting in The Devotion of Suspect X. But even so, this was still a very enjoyable read.

To begin with, there are only two suspects in this murder enquiry, but really, neither could have carried out the crime. The lover had no reason, the wife was too far away at the time of the murder.

It was fun to think along with the detectives and try to work out what could have happened, and who was the killer. At page 24 I thought I knew it all. But I was wrong. My idea was one that had been used in another mystery, so I was disappointed at first for the unoriginality, then glad when I found out I was barking up the wrong tree.

The eventual solution to the murder was very, very unlikely. While this was mentioned several times by Yukawa, it still took away from the believability of the story. On the other hand, it was quite a clever murder!

The investigation is goes into very great detail on certain aspects of the murder weapon. Not everyone will appreciate this – you have to enjoy a certain amount of science to not start to get bored by the proceedings.

In the previous book, the reader already knew how the crime was committed and we followed the detective in his attempt to solve the crime. I preferred that approach although it might not have worked with this new story.


Rating: 4 out of 5 stars (good)

Number of pages: 378

First published: 2012 (2008, original Japanese version)

I got this: bought it at a English bookstore

Genre: mystery

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

2 Responses to Book Review: Salvation of a Saint by Keigo Higashino

  1. Ahhh… the Butler😉 This sounds good!

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

