It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

itsmonday“It’s Monday! What are you reading?” is a weekly event hosted by Sheila at Bookjourney to share with others what we’ve read the past week and are planning to read next.

*****

The week

Last week, it was Christmas. I wasn’t prepared, so I had no expectations, so all went well. I got myself a fitbit, which is a small step counter, after Suzanne told me she had one, and I really liked the idea. It connects up with my laptop and phone, so I can keep track of my steps without actually having to check the device during the day.

My boys both got a new phone and spent a lot of time playing chess (an app they found) against each other, my husband, and total strangers.

My husband and I also took my mother shopping for some new clothes as she can’t hit the town on her own any more. The trip was a success, but now she refuses to wear those new clothes. She doesn’t recognise them and says she would never buy clothes like that. :-}

.

Books I finished in the last week: 3

Salvation of a Saint by Keigo HigashinoThe Queen of Sugar by Natalie BaszileDe zonderlinge avonturen van het geniale bommenmeisje [The Curious Adventures of the Genius Bomb Girl] by Jonas Jonasson

Salvation of a Saint by Keigo Higashino. A man is poisoned, and his wife and his lover are the only suspects. But they cannot have committed the crime. 4 stars

Queen Sugar by Nathalie Baszile. A Californian woman inherits a sugar cane plantation in Louisiana. She starts the struggle to resurrect it. 4.5 stars

De zonderlinge avonturen van het geniale bommenmeisje [The Weird Adventures of the Genius Bomb Girl] by Jonas Jonasson. The story of how a South African human waste cleaner ends up hiding an atomic bomb in Sweden. 4.5 stars

 

Books I’m reading & planning to read

The Sugar Detox by Brooke Alpert and Patricia Farris.Dead Scared by Sharon BoltonHet geheim van de schrijver [The Writer's Secret] by Renate DorresteinThe Street Sweeper by Elliot Perlman

.

Reviews

This Year it Will be Different by Maeve BinchyDe mannenmaker [The Men Maker] by Petra Kruijt 

This Year it Will be Different by Maeve Binchy. Short stories with a Christmas theme, but nothing too sweet. 4.5 stars

De mannenmaker [The Men Maker] by Petra Kruijt. Chick lit. A woman chooses a new nerdy man every half year to transform into girlfriend material. But what about herself? 3.5 stars

.

And furthermore…

The Street Sweeper by Elliot Perlman will be my first read for 2014. Sheila of Bookjourney has a meme for this: The First Book of the Year 2014 meme. Join in!

Enjoy the New Year’s celebrations and I hope you have a good 2014, bookish and otherwise.

That’s it!

What are you reading this week?

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

17 Responses to It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. Mystica says:

    Still too busy to read and for relaxation am re-reading an old favourite Under the Tuscon sun. Love the descriptive quality of Mayes’s writing.

  2. Love the look of The Street Sweeper. Enjoy your week. Goed uiteinde!

  3. I’m glad you had a lovely Christmas and I wish you a fabulous new year!
    Have a happy week!
    Shelleyrae @ Book’d Out

  4. mpartyka says:

    Yeah fitbit! Sorry to hear about your Mom’s struggle to wear the new clothes. Phones can be the best gift, the way we connect with people is so different.

    Enjoying The Rosie Project, I’m listening to it and hope to get through a nice amount today as I take down the Christmas tree🙂

    Happy New Year!

    • Leeswammes says:

      You’re taking down the tree already, Mari? The thought crossed my mind today, but we always leave it until after the new year. That way, it feel like one long holiday for us.🙂

      On Mon, Dec 30, 2013 at 2:50 PM, Leeswammes' Blog

  5. I think I need Sugar Detox! Lol. Also, speakin of, Queen Sugar sounds really interesting! I am going to have to read it!

    Have a great week, Happy New Year!

  6. Kathy Martin says:

    I got a Fitbit too. I really should take it out of its package one of these days. I have been too busy reading. Come see my Monday Report here. Happy reading and happy new year!

    • Leeswammes says:

      Kathy, when you start using fitbit, we can be friends on fitbit and push each other forward (virtually).🙂

      On Mon, Dec 30, 2013 at 4:07 PM, Leeswammes' Blog

  7. I’m doing the first book of the year event, too…you’ll have to tune in on Jan. 1st! lol

    I’ve been curious about The Street Sweeper….enjoy your week and your New Year! Here’s MY WEEKLY SUNDAY/MONDAY UPDATES

  8. Leslie says:

    Never heard of the Fitbit but I do have a little Omron pedometer that tracks steps and calories burned a plugs into the computer. I use it to see how far I walk but never bothered with the computer part of it – maybe I should.

    Maybe mom will change her mind about the clothes after they are in her apartment for a while. We’re going through memory issues with my father-in-law. It’s not easy.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Leslie, I love the pedometer, especially because it’s so easy to keep track of the steps via the computer. Maybe try it and see what it’s like for you.

      Yes, memory, such a strange thing. Especially if you don’t remember that you don’t remember!

      On Mon, Dec 30, 2013 at 8:20 PM, Leeswammes' Blog

  9. I have heard a lot of people getting the FItbit, keep us posted how it works🙂 Sorry about your mom and the clothes but like that you can smile about it. The books you read sound amazing!

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

