1st Book of the Year! 2014

First Book of the Year 2014

Sheila of Book Journey organises this fun meme: First Book of the Year!

*If you don’t see a linky post on her blog yet, it’ll be up soon.

First book of the year

My first book of the year is The Street Sweeper by Elliot Perlman. I’ve been wanting to read this for ages, but with the TBR pile as it is, I just stood with the book in my hands at the book shop, sighed, and put it away again. And that happened on several visits to the shop. But then I got the Dutch edition from the Dutch publishers. Well, I didn’t sigh, I whooped, and decided this would be the ideal book for the First Book of the Year.

The Street Sweeper by Elliot PerlmanWat nooit is verteld door Elliot Perlman

This is what it’s about (from the publishers):

Recently released from prison, Lamont Williams, an African American probationary janitor in a Manhattan hospital and father of a little girl he can’t locate, strikes up an unlikely friendship with an elderly patient, a Holocaust survivor who was a prisoner in Auschwitz-Birkenau.

A few blocks uptown, historian Adam Zignelik, an untenured Columbia professor, finds both his career and his long-term romantic relationship falling apart. Emerging from the depths of his own personal history, Adam sees, in a promising research topic suggested by an American World War II veteran, the beginnings of something that might just save him professionally, and perhaps even personally.

As these men try to survive in early-twenty-first-century New York, history comes to life in ways neither of them could have foreseen. Two very different paths—Lamont’s and Adam’s—lead to one greater story as The Street Sweeper, in dealing with memory, love, guilt, heroism, the extremes of racism and unexpected kindness, spans the twentieth century to the present, and spans the globe from New York to Chicago to Auschwitz.

First Book of the Year

I’ve heard such good things about it so I’m very keen to start this huge book (the Dutch editions are always twice the size of the originals – give or take a grain of salt).

What is your first book of the year?

leeswammes_signature

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

56 Responses to 1st Book of the Year! 2014

  1. I’ve just finished reading an autobiography which I need to review, then I’ve got a couple of books to choose from for my first book of 2014. Happy New Year to you!🙂

  2. Kristin T. says:

    This does sound interesting…hope you enjoy it!!! I just put up my post.

    Happy New Year!!!
    ~Kristin @ Always With a Book

  3. Why are Dutch editions so much fatter?

    • Leeswammes says:

      The pages are usually made of thicker paper, reading with tea. It makes for nicer books but they are not cheap.

      On Wed, Jan 1, 2014 at 2:19 PM, Leeswammes' Blog

  4. Great picture!!! ENJOY your book.

    I like the other one you have listed. 🙂 The Street Sweeper sounds great!!

    Happy New Year!!!!

    Stop by my blog tomorrow for an international giveaway of Jubilee’s Journey.

    Elizabeth
    Silver’s Reviews
    My First Book of The Year

  5. readerbuzz says:

    This sounds very intriguing. Enjoy!

    Here’s mine.

  6. I LOVED The Street Sweeper! I hope you do too!

  7. bibliosue says:

    Happy New Year Judith! The Street Sweeper sounds like a great book, but since I am resolving in 2014 to read the books I already own before buying new ones (for a while,anyway) I will only put it on my wishlist and be patient. My first read of the year is Lexicon by Max Barry.

    • Leeswammes says:

      And a happy new year to you, Suzanne. Your book sounds very interesting (I peekde on Goodreads).

      On Wed, Jan 1, 2014 at 3:51 PM, Leeswammes' Blog

  8. Oh, wow, what an amazing story! I am eager to read your review afterwards. Enjoy! And thanks for visiting my blog. Happy New Year!

  9. This is a chunkster for sure! Happy New Year.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Happy new year, Nise’. It looks very big but there is lots of dialogue, which usually reads a bit faster.

      On Wed, Jan 1, 2014 at 4:22 PM, Leeswammes' Blog

  10. Kathy Martin says:

    Sounds like an amazing story. I hope you enjoy it. Happy New Year and happy reading! I added my first book post to Sheila’s Linky.

  11. Shan says:

    Look at the size of the book! It sounds really good, I can’t wait to hear your thoughts. I think if you and Jackie both love it, then I’ll have to read it. Happy New Year!

    • Leeswammes says:

      Happy new year, Shan. Yes, it’s not an easy bedtime book, given the size. I have great hopes for the book, though.

      On Wed, Jan 1, 2014 at 4:29 PM, Leeswammes' Blog

  12. Colletta says:

    Sounds interesting and I love your picture! I hope you enjoy your first book! Here’s my post:

    http://collettaskitchensink.blogspot.com/2014/01/first-book-of-year-2014.html

    Colletta

  13. Heidi'sbooks says:

    Looks great!

  14. Marie says:

    Happy New Year to you and your family Judith! The Street Sweeper has been on my wishlist for a while now – I have read such great reviews. Looking forward to hearing what you think. That looks like a lovely copy, too. I never knew that Dutch editions were so much larger!

  15. That book is HUGE! Hope its awesome!

    Happy 2014 – may it be filled with fantastic reads!!

    The Brunette Librarian’s 1st book of 2014

  16. Gigi Ann says:

    The book looks quite interesting, I hope you are enjoying it. I like the pic of you and your book. I started my 2014 with a mystery.

  17. Sometimes those books we keep considering end up being the best when the timing is right.

  18. I think there is something kind of fun about starting a chunkster as your first book of the year.

  19. Kathryn says:

    Wow yes, a big book, but you know there is something about holding a big book, reading and enjoying it. The story sounds interesting and probably will have many twists and turns. Enjoy.

  20. Vasilly says:

    This is a book that I’m hoping to read this year! I’ve started it years ago and was never able to complete it (time got away from me). I hope you enjoy it. Happy New Year.

  21. the Street Sweeper sounds like a good one. Happy 2014

  22. Enjoy the book! I bet it is beautiful!

    • Leeswammes says:

      It’s quite difficult, Sheila. I expected a simpler story. There’s a lot going on. But so far, it’s enjoyable.

      On Thu, Jan 2, 2014 at 1:28 AM, Leeswammes' Blog

  23. Cynthia says:

    Both of these sound interesting. I now have two more books to add to my TBR list. Hope you enjoy your first read. Happy New Year!

    Cynthia
    The Things You Can Read
    http://www.thethingsyoucanread.blogspot.com

  24. Leslie says:

    Happy New Year. That does look like a chunkster of a book. Somehow I missed hearing about this one.

    • Leeswammes says:

      I seem to read so little since the New Year has started, Leslie. I wonder if I will ever finish this book.🙂

      On Thu, Jan 2, 2014 at 3:06 AM, Leeswammes' Blog

  25. harvee says:

    Check this out: the cover for The Pieces We Keep, a novel by Kristina McMorris, is the exact same as the blue cover of your book! Here is the link to McMorris’s historical novel:
    http://bookdilettante.blogspot.com/2013/11/book-review-pieces-we-keep-by-kristina.html

    • Leeswammes says:

      Thanks for sharing, Harvee. I never like it when I see the same cover on more than one book – but it happens a lot.

      On Thu, Jan 2, 2014 at 3:31 PM, Leeswammes' Blog

  26. jkb4664 says:

    The Street Sweeper sounds like a great read. I had not heard of it, but will be on the look out for it as I peruse the book stores in 2014. Hope to hear more from you this year….we are name twins. My given name is Judith too. I go by Judy or more frequently Grandma! *smile*

  27. Happy New Year! That copy of The Street Sweeper is huge! I thought the English one was thick enough!

  28. Wow!!! That IS one THICK book!!! Why are the dutch versions SO thick? Just curious??? Thanks!
    Laurie
    laurieisreading at gmail dot com

  29. Isi says:

    I like the meme, and the book is huge, indeed.
    Hope you enjoyed it!!

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

