December Overview

December was a mixed month. I read some really nice books, and a few less good ones. But nothing I couldn’t finish, I’m glad to say.

Book that stood out:

I really enjoyed The Kept, a historical fiction about family and identity. Well written, bleak and beautiful.

This is what I read

The Kept by James ScottThe Rosie Project by Graeme SimsionUnaccustomed Earth by Jhumpa LahiriQueen Sugar by Natalie Baszile
This Year it Will be Different by Maeve BinchySalvation of a Saint by Keigo Higashino Have Wormhole, Will Travel by Tony McFadden 

Click on the blue links to go to the review (as you can see, I still need to post a few reviews!).

The Kept by James Scott. Historical fiction, 5 stars.

The Rosie Project by Graeme Simsion. Contemporary fiction, 5 stars.

Unaccustomed Earth by Jhumpa Lahiri. Short stories, 4.5 stars.

Queen Sugar by Nathalie Baszile. Contemporary fiction, 4.5 stars.

This Year Will be Different by Maeve Binchy. Christmas stories, 4.5 stars.

Salvation of a Saint by Keigo Higashino. Mystery, 4 stars.

Have Wormhole, Will Travel by Tony McFadden. Science fiction, 3.5 stars.

***

Dutch blog (reviews in Dutch):

The One Thing by Gary Keller and Jay PapasanDead Scared by Sharon BoltonDe zonderlinge avonturen van het geniale bommenmeisje [The Curious Adventures of the Genius Bomb Girl]by Jonas JonassonDe gestolen kinderen by Gerardo Soto y Koelemeijer De mannenmaker [The Men Maker] by Petra Kruijt 

1 Ding [The One Thing] by Gary Keller and Jay Papasan. Non-fiction, self-help, 5 stars.

Dead Scared by Sharon Bolton. Mystery, 4.5 stars.

De zonderlinge avonturen van het geniale bommenmeisje [The Curious Adventures of the Genius Bomb Girl] by Jonas Jonasson. Contemporary fiction, 4.5 stars

De gestolen kinderen [The Stolen Children] by Gerardo Soto y Koelemeijer. Contemporary fiction, 4 stars.

De mannenmaker [The Man Maker] by Petra Kruijt. Chick-lit, 3.5 stars

***

Leave me a comment with a book you really enjoyed in December!

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

20 Responses to December Overview

  1. The Rosie Project was so much more accomplished than I feared and I loved the humour in it. I’m sure this will be made into a film soon.

  2. I have The Rosie Project for my TBR this year. So many rave reviews that I am just curious to see whether it’s all true🙂 I better read it before it becomes a movie! Happy New Year, Judith … have a wonderful reading year!

    • Leeswammes says:

      Thanks, Aloi! I hope you have a great year, too! You must just try The Rosie Project and see for yourself. Lots of people love it.

      On Sun, Jan 5, 2014 at 5:09 PM, Leeswammes' Blog

  3. Athira says:

    I have Unaccustomed Earth on my bookshelf. Glad to see that you liked it.

    • Leeswammes says:

      It’s very good, Athira. You must try it. As they’re stories, you could just read them one by one.

      On Sun, Jan 5, 2014 at 6:18 PM, Leeswammes' Blog

  4. Another great reading month for you!

  5. heavenali says:

    I’m looking forward to The Kept, I will probably read it after my current read.

  6. Isi says:

    The only book I’ve read is the one by Maeve Binchy; great Christmas stories!

  7. The Kept is high on my TBR pile so it is great to see that you enjoyed it. It is also nice to see The Rosie Project high on your list – it looks as though our reading might be re-aligning!

  8. mpartyka says:

    Confession… I can’t believe I have never read Unaccustomed Earth. I need to create a list of 5 must reads for myself (notice my list would be 3-5… ha). I referenced your review on The Kept yesterday – planning to read this later this month or on holiday. I hope I can find an audio copy at the library but my library isn’t great.

    The state almost closed the libraries a few years ago, for budget reasons. They stayed open but do not get many new books. sad…

    • Leeswammes says:

      Mari, ah, libraries! I am not an audiobook listener so I have no idea how mine compares – they have just a few very popular ones, I think. I hope you get hold of the book, definitely worth it!

  9. The Rosie Project seems to be a popular one at the moment. I keep hearing about it🙂

  10. Great books in December! The Rosie Project was one of my best for the year. I really enjoyed Catch of the Day by Carla Caruso last month – great summer read.

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

