Book Review: The Sugar Detox by Brooke Alpert and Patricia Farris

The Sugar Detox by Brooke Alpert and Patricia FarrisThe Sugar Detox: What it is about

The publisher says: “Sugar is the new controlled substance. The average American consumes up to 31 pounds of sugar a year, and a diet high in sugar can cause diabetes, obesity, and many other health crises. Our excess intake of sugar, from the white stuff on the table to the high-fructose corn syrup hidden in packaged foods, is not only making us sick, it’s making us fat and aging our skin.

Now, nutritionist Brooke Alpert and dermatologist Patricia Farris team up in this revolutionary program that helps get the sugar out of your diet to recapture youthful skin and good health. Designed to limit the amount of extra blood sugar, slim your waistline, increase your energy levels, and improve your skin, this combined approach to nutrition and skin care will make you feel—and look—better than you ever have before. The secret? A three-day detox plan to get the sugar out of your system and get you on the path to eating and living the healthiest way possible.

The Sugar Detox: What I thought

I have a problem with this book, and that’s all my own fault. This is not a book for me. Why I chose to review it is beyond me. Detox? No way! Sounds scary and even dangerous. How can it be healthy to starve yourself? I would never buy a book on detoxing and I think I asked to review it because of the Sugar part of the title. I expected a book warning me about the dangers of sugar (this book does that, actually) and telling me how those big bad food companies keep me addicted to sugar. But a diet book is not something I expected. As I said, my fault, because it says Detox on the cover clearly enough.

Anyway, had this been a book for me, then I think I would have praised it into the skies – well, except for one thing, which I will mention later. The book is clear about why you might want to reduce your sugar intake. It even says so in the subtitle: Lose Weight, Feel Great, and Look Years Younger. Now, don’t we all? It describes really well, in understandable technical terms, why sugar is bad for us, why it’s bad for our health, our weight, our skin, etc. Then it’s time for a 3-day detox in which you get to eat a total of about the same number of calories as I consume in snacks per hour. After this, there is a 4-week plan to slowly add some foods with natural sugars back into your diet, after which you should feel great and should have lost weight. There are also recipes in the back of the book.

I think if I wasn’t so dubious about detoxes and if I didn’t have a family that needs food too, I might try it, just for fun and to see if it really does what it says on the cover. Yes, I could involve my family and get them on the meal plan. But hey, the book promises me that I will feel irritable with head aches for those first few days – I couldn’t handle the wrath of my family at the same time. So, they would have to keep poisoning themselves with sugars while I go detox. Nah, it’s not going to happen.

What I didn’t like about the book, what I didn’t get, I should say, is the connection with skin care. The dermatology part of the book was more or less redundant in my eyes. So yes, less sugar means better skin, fine. Do I need more skin care information than that? Well, not me, maybe you?

I think if you’re single and feel you could lose some weight and feel healthier in general, go ahead. Absolutely a good book for you!


Rating: 3.5 out of 5 stars (OK to good)

Number of pages: 188

First published: 2014

I got this: from the publisher, via Netgalley, for review (ebook)

Genre: non-fiction, dieting

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

17 Responses to Book Review: The Sugar Detox by Brooke Alpert and Patricia Farris

  1. Nish says:

    I have to admit I have a terrible sweet (chocolate) tooth, so I am interested in a sugar detox. But the thought of all that irritability doesn’t gel with me.

    This sounds like something you can do only if you live alone and don’t have a hectic schedule keeping you on the go.

  2. I have to agree sugar should be a controlled substance, but I’m glad it’s not because I would be in jail! I’d love to break the habit, but I’d prefer to do it in a 12 step program instead of a detox. Just the thought of the 3 days scares me! I’d need medical supervision to help me through withdrawals! Thanks for the honest review!

    • Leeswammes says:

      Librarianeats, I feel the same. I don’t think I’d be able to do a detox without medical supervision – it sounds pretty scary. But it also intrigues me… would life really be different without all the sugar?

      • Have you read Sugar Nation? The scary part of that book for me was the description of sugar’s pathways through the brain. Apparently just like heroin which is why it’s so addictive! Scary…

      • Leeswammes says:

        Libriarianeats, no, I haven’t read that. I’m not sure I want to know… Brrr.

  3. Laurie C says:

    I wouldn’t be able to deal with the detox either, except MAYBE if it allowed me to still have coffee. (I drink it black.) But any kind of fasting or dieting makes me very irritable, so hubby wouldn’t be happy to have me try this. Also, I still have some of the half-price holiday candy I bought up after Christmas to get through!😉

  4. cbjames says:

    Not the sort of book I would ever read. I did take a book about diet for dogs as an ARC once. I dutifully read it, reviewed it even interviewed the author as I recall. Then gave the book to my local friends of the library.

    I’m not taking ARC’s anymore. 😉

    • Leeswammes says:

      James, sounds like you also made a bad choice there. I read a lot of ARCs, usually I’m more careful with my choices. Anyway, it was fun to read and I did take away from it that I should eat less sugar, which I knew, but now I really KNOW it.

  5. I must admit I love sugar… There’s so much that I’m not supposed to eat (due to intolerances/allergies), that sugar is my one fix. I’m definitely trying to cut down though!

  6. Tien says:

    I detox-ed once last year though I went with Dr Tickell’s Asian style detox which coincidentally since I’m Asian works well with me. Headaches hit on the 7th (last) day so whilst the detox was only supposed to be a week, I kept it on for another week – persistent headaches for at least 3 days straight! I don’t think I’d do it again as it took some work and I’m feeling lazy now BUT…

    I’ve adopted some of the detox program to my day now so hopefully I am healthier than before😉
    (eg. fruit salad + green tea for breakfast instead of toast & milky coffee; low fat homemade smoothie or 1 multigrain toast with avocado for snacks rather than sweets. And I’ve become a HUGE fan of avocado toast now🙂

    If it’s on NG, I might check this book out just to see the ‘detox plan’.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Tien, sounds like you had a quite good detox and now you’re eating more healthier as a result of it. Brilliant! I think the book might not be available on Netgalley any more.

      • Tien says:

        Not this morning, ha ha ha… just had one of those mornings :p oh wells, it is Friday, woot!

        oh wells, I don’t need any more books anyway. I just realised my being good (no book buying) only lasted exactly 2 weeks, LOL

  7. bibliosue says:

    A detox is probably something I should do but for the reasons you give I cannot do. I think it is important to make responsible choices in what you eat and to take everything in moderation (easy for me to say).

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

