It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

itsmonday“It’s Monday! What are you reading?” is a weekly event hosted by Sheila at Bookjourney to share with others what we’ve read the past week and are planning to read next.

*****

The last two weeks

From now on, I’ll post every two weeks. I’ve realized you can use time only once, and I’ve not got enough of it these days. So, I don’t read that much, I don’t post that much, ergo, I don’t need a weekly update. (Everyone commenting, “Wow, you read a lot the last week,” won’t have read my post properly, ha ha! Actually, 7 books in two weeks isn’t that low anyway).

I walked a lot, with my new fitbit. Generally over 7,000 steps per day (my target) and sometimes even a lot more than that). I had a fun impromptu shopping trip with a friend, while I was supposed to be working (the advantage of working for myself is that I did the supposing and gave myself time off). Did I buy another Emma Bridgewater mug? I certainly did not! After some discussion we wisely left the book shop for what it was.

.

Books I finished in the last TWO weeks: 7

 Dead Scared by Sharon BoltonA Highly Unlikely Scenario by Rachel CantorThe Sugar Detox by Brooke Alpert and Patricia FarrisEen man die Ove heet [A Man Called Ove]] by Fredrik Backman
De drie levens van Tomomi Ishikawa [The Three Lives of Tomomi Ishikawa] by Ben ConstableHet geheim van de schrijver [The Writer's Secret] by Renate DorresteinThe Street Sweeper by Elliot Perlman

Dead Scared by Sharon Bolton.  A female detective goes undercover in Cambridge, UK, where several female students have committed suicide. 4.5 stars

A Highly Unlikely Scenario, or a Neetsa Pizza Employee’s Guide to Saving the World by Rachel Cantor. In a near future, a Neetsa Pizza employee with agoraphobia discovers there is a whole world outside his converted garage/office. 4 stars

The Sugar Detox by Brooke Alpert and Patricia Farris. A diet plan to rid yourself of your sugar addiction. 3.5 stars

Een man die Ove heet [A Man Called Ove] by Fredrik Backman. A funny story abut man who tries to kill himself but just cannot find the opportunity to do so. 5 stars.

De drie levens van Tomomi Ishikawa [The Three Lives of Tomomi Ishikawa] by Benjamin Constable. A woman who killed herself leaves behind clues for her friend to go on an adventure. 3.5 stars

Het geheim van de schrijver [The Writer’s Secret] by Renate Dorrestein. A book about writing by one of my favorite writers. 5 stars

Wat nooit is verteld [The Street Sweeper] by Elliot Perlman. A lot of history. Sometimes boring, eventually a very good read. 4 stars.

.

Books I’m reading & planning to read

.

Out of the Woods by Lynn DarlingShovel Ready by Adam SternberghPristina by Toine HeijmansThis Dark Road to Mercy by Wiley Cash

Reviews

The Queen of Sugar by Natalie BaszileThe Kept by James ScottDe zonderlinge avonturen van het geniale bommenmeisje [The Curious Adventures of the Genius Bomb Girl] by Jonas Jonasson

Queen Sugar by Nathalie Baszile. A Californian woman inherits a sugar cane plantation in Louisiana. She starts the struggle to resurrect it. 4.5 stars

The Kept by James Scott. Historical fiction about a boy and his mother who are looking for the killers of the rest of their family. 5 stars

De zonderlinge avonturen van het geniale bommenmeisje [The Weird Adventures of the Genius Bomb Girl] by Jonas Jonasson. The story of how a South African human waste cleaner ends up hiding an atomic bomb in Sweden. By the writer of The 100-year old Man Who Climbed Out the Window and Disappeared. 4.5 stars

.

And furthermore…

The next Literary Giveaway Blog Hop is coming soon! February 8-12. Join in as a giver of a nice book (literary or not).

The Street Sweeper by Elliot Perlman was my first read for 2014.

And here is my December overview. I haven’t really done a book overview for 2013 but someone twisted my arm to make at least a top-10 list. So that’s coming up.

I answered some questions about 2013 – if you want to know a little bit more about me, check it out.

That’s it!

What are you reading this week?

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

14 Responses to It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. islandkylie says:

    My mum loved The Street Sweeper and it’s now on my TBR list. I’ve seen the Wiley Cash on a couple of blogs…may have to check it out. Looks like a good fortnight!🙂 You can check out my week here

    http://kyliesreads.blogspot.com.au/2014/01/its-monday-what-are-you-reading.html

  2. Mystica says:

    I like your mix of reads.

  3. Good to see you like “Een man die Ove heet” I will pick it up this week.
    Good for you that you do not have enough time to write or read (well leisure reading that is) It only means your little business is doing great!!

    Signed up for the Literary Giveaway Blog Hop, always happy to join that one!

  4. I need to get to my copy of The Kept. Everyone has seemed to enjoy that one.

  5. readerbuzz says:

    I just simply must join up for the Literary Blog Hop. Off to sign up!

    Here’s my It’s Monday post!

  6. It’s great your new business is keeping you so busy! You have some great books to relax with in your downtime this week.

    Read on!
    Shelleyrae @ Book’d Out

  7. mpartyka says:

    I hope you are ‘good busy’! Last week, with the terribly cold weather I wasn’t able to run/walk outside, my mileage goals were hard to achieve.

    Glad to see you enjoying the fitbit, I love knowing my habits when not ‘working out’. Have a great week.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Same to you, Mari. All that cold must have made it hard to keep up the exercise. Did you go to the gym? Our weather is pretty decent at the moment, so I manage to walk every day. Not necessarily far, but 30-60 minutes or so.

  8. 7 books in two weeks is good! A lot of people are using the fitbit… I bought one last summer. Now what did I do with it?

  9. Julie says:

    You have some interesting books here. I also seem to be on an every-two-weeks update schedule these days. I completely understand! How are you liking your Fitbit? I got one for Christmas and I love it. Of course, now I know why I’m not losing weight. I’m eating all the calories I’m burning!! Whoops!

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

