Mini-Bloggiesta: Starting & Finishing Line #bloggiesta

Bloggiesta-MiniW14

Bloggiesta is an online event for (book) bloggers in which we are encouraged to spend the weekend working on our blog in any way we see necessary. We Plan, Edit, Develop, Review and Organise – no wonder our mascot is called PEDRO! Olé!

Hurray! This event is a mini-Bloggiesta, in which we do a bit of work on our blogs in between the Big Bloggiesta events (the next one is March 28-30, 2014).


Starting Line 

Bloggiesta Start

I’ve got two book blogs. I’m planning to do some work on each: Leeswammes (LW) – which is my English-language Book blog and De Boekblogger (BB) – which is my Dutch-language book blog. Actually, I use Bloggiesta to work on anything related to books, reading, and reviewing, so some of the things I’ll be doing this weekend are not directly related to the blogs.


The List 

Here’s what’s in the planning…. and everything in Italics is DONE!!

  • Back-up blog (LW, BB). In WordPress, go to Dashboard, Tools, Export, choose All (first option). ****DONE
  • Update Review Page (LW, BB). ****DONE
  • Add links in reviews, to reviews by same author (LW, BB) ****DONE
  • Shelfari – update books that I have finished ****DONE
  • Add reviews to Amazon, etc. and let publishers know ****DONE
  • Check out the mini-challenges on offer and do one or two: Facing Your Edelweiss Fears
  • Make a posting schedule with dates for the blog posts ****DONE
  • Update the Dystopia book list (LW)
  • Update challenges pages (BB) ****DONE
  • Check all links work in Literary Giveaway Blog Hop post ****DONE

Write posts:

  • Bloghop blog post ****DONE
  • Bloghop email ****DONE
  • Bloghop winners post
  • New Books (BB)
  • New Books (LW) ****DONE
  • It’s Monday (coming Monday) ****DONE
  • Review Shovel Ready
  • Review Buzz ****DONE
  • Gorman short story post
  • Giveaway (BB)
  • Winner of Giveaway (BB)
  • Ditjes & Datjes (BB)

Part of the fun of Bloggiesta is connecting with other bloggers so I expect to spend some amount of time tweeting (#bloggiesta) and reading other people’s posts and commenting.

Good luck to everybody who is taking part. If you’re on Twitter, use the hashtag #bloggiesta to keep in touch with other participants. I am @leeswammes.

Could your blog use some extra work?

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

19 Responses to Mini-Bloggiesta: Starting & Finishing Line #bloggiesta

  1. Good luck with all of your tasks🙂 I’ll be doing some tweaking this weekend as well. Have fun!

  2. Wow! You have already accomplished a great deal! Good luck with the rest of the list!

  3. Wow, impressive list! Mine is pretty small…I’m focusing on my Serendipity blog: BLOGGIESTA STARTING LINE

  4. mpartyka says:

    Stopping by to cheer you on (smile)… your blog is always clean, crisp and current so I’m not surprised that you focusing on other types of tasks that need to be tended to.

    I’m sad to say that my trip has been postponed so I would be able to host a giveaway, if it’s not too late. No worries if it is, or complicated matters for you (I can hop, explore, sign up for a few things).

    Off to the pub for a nibble and glass of wine. Then back to read the book I can’t put down!

    • Leeswammes says:

      Sorry to hear your trip is cancelled but I’m sure it would just not be the trip you were expecting to get if you went now. Hopefully you can go later in de year or next year.

      Yes, you can still join the Literary Giveaway Blog Hop! Pleade enter on thr form, it will be great to have you!

  5. Alysia @My Little Pocketbooks says:

    What a big list you have there? LOL! Happy Bloggiesta to you!

  6. BookerTalker says:

    I’m intrigued by your item on the task list about letting oublishers know you’ve posted . Do you do this for all books or only those where you received review copies. I’ve never posted on Amazon – usually I just do Goodreads.

    • Leeswammes says:

      BookerTalker, I inly do this for review copies, so they know I actually read and reviewed the book. I also put my review on amazon, goodreads, and shelfari as an extra service. They often send me books from the other side of the world (I live in Europe and get a lot of American ARCs). With Netgalley books, I don’t take the trouble to post the reviews elsewhere.

  7. Laurie C says:

    Congratulations on getting so much done! I haven’t been reading review copies as much lately, but your list reminds me that I haven’t been posting links to my audiobook reviews on Audiobook Jukebox the way I used to.

  8. Looks like you got quite a lot completed! Good job!

  9. Julie says:

    You’ve gotten a lot done! That’s great. I’ve only been working on my blog today, but I’ve accomplished a lot. I love these Bloggiesta events!!!

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

