It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

itsmonday“It’s Monday! What are you reading?” is a weekly event hosted by Sheila at Bookjourney to share with others what we’ve read the past week and are planning to read next.

*****

The last two weeks

Two relatively quiet weeks. The first week, I worked a lot, the second, I was out half the time. Book-wise, I did my volunteer stint at the school library as always, half a day a week. A lot of the time, we’re assigning computers to the students, but there are enough children who need new books or hand back books they’ve read. They were very good paying their fines this week (amazing how many people don’t renew online!). It’s fun work. 

The big thing this week was my appearance on a radio show for Radio Amsterdam FM. They have a book program every week and an author whose book I edited and I were invited to come and talk about the book and about our co-operation. It was very relaxed and fun to do. The studio is in the library in Amsterdam, it was nice to go there (my local library has one floor, this one has 5 or so!).

There was also the book group meeting, where we discussed A Man called Ove by Fredrik Backman. Well, actually, the book was mentioned, then we talked about many other things (bad us!).

.

Books I finished in the last TWO weeks: 4 + DNF

Out of the Woods by Lynn DarlingShovel Ready by Adam SternberghPristina by Toine HeijmansBuzz by Anders de la MotteDe weldoener by P. F. Thomése

Out of the Woods by Lynnne Darling. Memoir about a woman trying to find a path through life. 4 stars

Shovel Ready by Adam Sternbergh. Science fiction featuring a contract killer. 4 stars

Pristina by Toine Heijmans. Novel about an official who tracks illegal immigrants and removes them from the country [Dutch]. 4.5 stars

Buzz by Anders de la Motte. Thriller. Second in a series about a man on the run for a deadly Game. 4 stars

De weldoener [The Philantropist] by PF Thomése. Contemporary novel that I never got into. Normally I read at least 100 pages but this book I abandoned at 50 pages. Nothing wrong with it, just not for me [Dutch]. DNF

.

Books I’m reading & planning to read

.

Dossier 64 by Jussi Adler-OlsenThis Dark Road to Mercy by Wiley CashTo Be a Cat by Matt HaigThe Colorless Tsukuru Tazaki and His Years of Pilgrimage by Haruki MurakamiLexicon by Max Barry

Reviews

 A Highly Unlikely Scenario by Rachel CantorDe drie levens van Tomomi Ishikawa [The Three Lives of Tomomi Ishikawa] by Ben ConstableDead Scared by Sharon Bolton

A Highly Unlikely Scenario, or a Neetsa Pizza Employee’s Guide to Saving the World by Rachel Cantor. In a near future, a Neetsa Pizza employee with agoraphobia discovers there is a whole world outside his converted garage/office. 4 stars

De drie levens van Tomomi Ishikawa [The Three Lives of Tomomi Ishikawa] by Benjamin Constable. A woman who killed herself leaves behind clues for her friend to go on an adventure. 3.5 stars

Dead Scared by Sharon Bolton.  A female detective goes undercover in Cambridge, UK, where several female students have committed suicide. 4.5 stars

.

And furthermore…

The next Literary Giveaway Blog Hop is coming soon! February 8-12. Join in as a giver of a nice book (literary or not).

I got some new books and I took part in the Mini-Bloggiesta this weekend.

 

That’s it!

What are you reading this week?

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

17 Responses to It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. I am sure I heard someone mention the book at the book group😉 ( not it was not me hahahaha)

    Really love the “To be a Cat” cover. Have a great week!!

  2. Parrishh says:

    Currently reading Laszlo Krasznahorkai’s War & War, & Wislawa Szymborska’s View with a grain of Sand. What’s the Murakami, don’t recognise the cover

    • Leeswammes says:

      Gary, it’s a new Murakami, probably not translated to English yet: Colorless Tsukuru Tazaki and His Years of Pilgrimage (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Colorless_Tsukuru_Tazaki_and_His_Years_of_Pilgrimage). I’ve got a Dutch review copy of it. Sounds you’re into Eastern Europe at the moment.

      • Parrish says:

        Yes I’ve always liked the poetry from that part of the world, but am re investigating their fiction, but have a great fondness for Murakami.

      • Leeswammes says:

        Gary, I’m sure it won’t be long until this one is available in English. There is this thing in the Netherlands, where we get early translations of books (including from the English) so the Dutch translation is available before or at the same time as the English version. Otherwise, half of the country will buy the English version and there won’t be enough buyers for the Dutch translation. How about that? Even UK/American books get translated here and are on sale at the same time (or even earlier) as the originals.

  3. I’ve added Highly Unlikely to my wish list. I’m curious about the Murakami….Lucky you, with a copy in your language to read.

    Here’s my It’s Monday!

  4. Mystica says:

    A full week and some new titles here for me!

  5. leydylaura says:

    Enjoy your reads this week! Will add some to my TBR!

    This is what we are reading this week.

    Leydy @OUaT & RCE

  6. A highly Unlikely Scenario sounds like it could be fun. It sounds like you have had a great couple of weeks!

  7. Sounds like a fun week! Great books coming up!

  8. Kathy Martin says:

    Nice looking assortment of books. I am eager to get my hands on a copy of Lexicon. I hadn’t heard of it until it was mentioned on the American Library Association Youth Media Awards webcast this morning. Come see my Monday Report if you get a chance. Happy reading!

  9. mpartyka says:

    Just think, one day I will say “I Judith when…” Seriously, I’m SO excited to be watching you build your business and find a path in publishing.

    I have been lucky enough to have time to read a book a week so far (2014, but this is only three weeks. HA).

    Have a great week – I have to go finish my 10K for the day😉

  10. Very envious about the Murakami! Can’t wait to hear your thoughts.

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

