Book Review: Buzz by Anders de la Motte

Buzz by Anders de la MotteBuzz: What it is about

The publisher says: “It’s been four months since HP Pettersson was dragged into a ruthless Alternate Reality Game that nearly cost him his life. Although he now has everything he ever wished for—freedom, money, and no responsibilities—he isn’t satisfied. He’s plagued by insomnia and paranoia, and misses the adrenaline rush of the Game. He misses the attention. At times, he even hopes the Game Master will find him. And when HP catches the eye of a rich and powerful CEO for all the wrong reasons, he may get his wish. But he quickly learns that sometimes, you have to be careful what you wish for . . .”

Buzz: What I thought

This is the sequel to Game, which I read and reviewed in Dutch. I only liked the first book so-so, but I did like the premise of the story, and was curious to see how the story would continue in this next book.

In the first book, HP plays, and then cheats, the Game, which means he has to run as far away from Sweden as he can. In this sequel, he ends up in Dubai where he enjoys a good time on the beach. Then he gets accused of killing a woman who he had a one-night stand with, and the police put him back on the plane to Sweden. To find out more about the murder, he infiltrates a company that posts blogs and comments on the internet to start rumors or to try and stop them from spreading.

This story is alternated with the story of HP’s sister Rebecca, who is a police woman researching why she’s being targeted by a blogger. HP’s and Rebecca’s story intertwine at some point leading to an interesting finale.

This was a fun read, probably better but a little more complex than the first book, Game. Whereas the first book was shelved in the Young adult section of my library, I don’t think this sequel belongs there. It’s a proper adult book with some sexually explicit scenes. I didn’t like how the brother and sister stories alternated so often, sometimes just a paragraph before the other was in focus again. Also, sometimes the story went from the brother thinking or doing a particular thing to the sister who happened to be thinking or doing a very similar thing. That was not very believable.

It was a good thriller, with HP never knowing whether the people from the Game had caught up with him or whether there were other adversaries trying to get him.


Rating: 4 out of 5 stars (good)

Number of pages: 321

First published: 2014

I got this: from Netgalley (ebook)

Genre: thriller

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

One Response to Book Review: Buzz by Anders de la Motte

  1. Leslie says:

    I liked the first book and it sounds like I’ll enjoy the second one too. I have the eGalley for Buzz and will be reading it this month.

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

