It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

itsmonday“It’s Monday! What are you reading?” is a weekly event hosted by Sheila at Bookjourney to share with others what we’ve read the past week and are planning to read next.

*****

The last two weeks

Not a lot happened, things are quiet. I had a few off-days, a little bit ill but not enough to call it that. I took the opportunity to read a bit more. 

I also went to a really nice book presentation of a new Dutch chick-lit, especially for bloggers and for winners of a facebook competition. We had a nice lunch and had fun talking with the author.

.

Books I finished in the last TWO weeks: 7

To Be a Cat by Matt HaigThis Dark Road to Mercy by Wiley CashThe 5th Wave by Rick YanceyDossier 64 by Jussi Adler-Olsen
The Colorless Tsukuru Tazaki and His Years of Pilgrimage by Haruki MurakamiMiss Match by Astrid HarrewijnAndermans zaken [Other People's Business] by Goran Tribuson

To Be a Cat by Matt Haig. A boy who is bullied at school wishes he had the simple life of a cat. Oops! Children’s book, 4.5 stars.

This Dark Road to Mercy by Wiley Cash. Two girls in a foster home are abducted by their father, who is at the same time being chased for having stolen money. 5 stars

The Fifth Wave by Rick Yancey. The aliens are wiping out humanity in waves. A girl is trying to survive on her own, at the same time hoping to find her little brother back. 5 stars

Dossier 64 by Jussi Adler-Olson. A mystery in which a former prison island for feeble minded girls plays a large role. 4 stars

The kleurloze Tsukuru Tazaki en zijn pelgrimsjaren [The Colorless Tsukuru Tazaki and his Pilgrim Years] by Haruki Murakami. A man in his thirties is still suffering from the fact that his high school friends suddenly dropped him, years ago. 5 stars

Miss Match by Astrid Harrewijn. A fun chicklit in which a woman who is running her own business is dealing with difficult (male) business partners. 4.5 stars

Andermans zaken [Other People’s Business] by Goran Tribuson. Kroatian mystery in which a woman who was apparently abducted, returns home but is later murdered. A police detective investigates. 4.5 stars

.

Books I’m reading & planning to read

.

Cold Storage, Alaska by John StraleyBubble by Anders de la MotteLexicon by Max BarryIJstijd by Maartje WortelMiss Verstand [Miss Understanding] by Astrid Harrewijn

Reviews

Shovel Ready by Adam SternberghBuzz by Anders de la Motte

Shovel Ready by Adam Sternbergh. Science fiction featuring a contract killer. 4 stars

Buzz by Anders de la Motte. Thriller. Second in a series about a man on the run for a deadly Game. 4 stars

.

And furthermore…

It’s the Literary Giveaway Blog Hop as we speak! Until Wednesday you can win books on 40 participating blogs. So HAVE A LOOK and enter!

I got some new books already…🙂

 

That’s it!

What are you reading this week?

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

21 Responses to It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. I need to spend some time visiting all the blogs in the giveaway. I always find new, wonderful blogs through your literary blog giveaway.

    Here’s my It’s Monday!

  2. I hope you are feeling better today Judith

  3. mpartyka says:

    hope you are feeling better, I’m recovering this week from a terrible spill late last week (I slipped on ice and fell down our back stairs, ten of them). A bit bruised but okay. Gives me an excuse to sit on the sofa and watch the olympics😉

    New author to me, Wiley Cash, might need to look into these titles. Have a great week!

    • Leeswammes says:

      Thanks, Mari, I’m fine now. Sorry to hear about your fall, it sounds very unpleasant. Have fun watching the olympics, obviously you fell just the right time.

      Wiley Cash is good, Mari. I think you might like him, too!

  4. Dollycas says:

    Sorry you were not feeling well. I can’t believe I missed your hop. Things have been crazy here. Hoping for a bit slower pace for awhile. Have a great week!!

  5. leydylaura says:

    I need to start the 5th wave! Thanks for stopping by!

    Leydy @ OUaT & Redcarpetendings

  6. I wish I was reading! I keep finding things that take up my time…LOL The “Miss” books have fun covers!

  7. Isi says:

    My boyfriend read the novel by Murakami and after this book he says he’s not his fan anymore: he liked it that little!
    But I’m glad you liked it, becuase he really had a hard time because he was so bored with the book!

  8. BookerTalk says:

    Hope you’re back in full health soon. I’ve enjoyed hoping about and finding new blogs through your links

  9. JoV says:

    Haruki Murakami has a new book and I didn’t know about it???!!! (I am totally shocked!!)
    I got to get my hands on it NOW! Thanks Judith.🙂

  10. JoV says:

    Where did you get the book? it’s only due this August 2014.😦

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

