New Books…

I received some new books recently. The ones for review will be read soon, but the others? What do you think? Are they worth putting at the top of the reading pile?

***

The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey

The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey.

I loved this YA dystopian! I borrowed it from the library. My review is HERE.

***

Natsume Soseki

Light and Dark by Natsume Soseki

I won this book from Tony’s Reading List. It’s a beautiful hardback, very exquisite. I’m looking forward to reading it but not to the ending, because there isn’t one!

From the publishers: “Light and Dark, Natsume Sōseki’s longest novel and masterpiece, although unfinished, is a minutely observed study of haute-bourgeois manners on the eve of World War I. It is also a psychological portrait of a new marriage that achieves a depth and exactitude of character revelation that had no precedent in Japan at the time of its publication and has not been equaled since. With Light and Dark, Soseki invented the modern Japanese novel.”

***

Gould's Book of Fish by Richard Flanagan

Gould’s Book of Fish by Richard Flanagan

Another win! This was a Literary Giveaway Blog Hop win, from Joanne at Book Lover Book Reviews. The subtitle is A Novel in Twelve Fish. Doesn’t that sound fun?

From the publishers: “Once upon a time that was called 1828, before all the living things on the land and the fishes in the sea were destroyed, there was a man named William Buelow Gould, a convict in Van Dieman’s Land who fell in love with a black woman and discovered too late that to love is not safe. Silly Billy Gould, invader of Australia, liar, murderer, forger, fantasist, condemned to live in the most brutal penal colony in the British Empire, and there ordered to paint a book of fish.Once upon a time, miraculous things happened…”

***

Not the End by Kate Vane

Not the End by Kate Vane

A review book to read at my leisure. Hmm, I hope to get round to it soon as it sounds fun. It seems to be quintessential English, just as I like it. I received it directly from the author.

From Amazon: “There’s a summer heatwave in Dormouth, the Devon seaside town and former home of the artist Hugh Bonnington. No one pays much attention to octogenarian sea swimmer Maud Smith, recently arrived from Portugal. But when she drowns and her body is washed up on the beach, she changes the lives of three people she never met. Brenda, insomniac dog walker, finds Maud’s body and loses a husband.

Jim, reluctant heir hunter and committed birdwatcher, thinks he’s found love, if he can only escape London. Philosopher-drunk Neil, the cemetery manager, plans Maud’s funeral then finds that art has a funny way of interfering with life.

With wry humour and sharp observation, Not the End is a contemporary novel about love, loss and the therapeutic possibilities of knitting.”

***

The Sweetness of Liberty James by Janey Lewis

The Sweetness of Liberty James by Janey Lewis

A review book from a small publisher ‘just around the corner’ from where I used to live. Well, almost. They’re in Hove, Sussex, which is next to Brighton, where I spent several years. As you know I love chick-lits, and this sounded good fun.

From amazon: “Sweet-natured Liberty believes the recipe for her own happiness is making others happy, and she sets about gathering the ingredients for the perfect life. She does well at school, makes glamorous friends and marries her university sweetheart Percy, the heir to the Radley Bank fortune. Now all that’s missing is the icing on the cake: a baby.

When a traumatic event changes everything, she finds herself on a journey to rediscover her love of food that takes her from Florence to the French Riviera and finally back home to the Sussex village of Littlehurst, with a crazy plan to open her own patisserie. With flirtatious Fred the blacksmith and the dark, brooding Edmund on her doorstep, will she finally find that elusive ingredient: love? “

What should I read first?

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

10 Responses to New Books…

  1. beckyday6 says:

    I’ve heard great things about The 5th Wave although I haven’t read it myself. I hope you enjoy all your wonderful books!

  2. What an intriguing bunch, Judith! I’m partial to Gould’s Book of Fish .. just because I really like the cover😉

  3. BookerTalk says:

    Im not familiar with any of them but Gould’s Book of Fish sounds sufficiently intriguing. Anything dystopian has me running a mile so The 5th Wave would not be on my list Judith

  4. Such a variety of titles there Judith, something for every mood – enjoy!

  5. trish422 says:

    I’ve been needed a new, good YA series for quite some time, and since my return to blogging, I’ve read about like 6 that sound awesome. Thanks for the suggestion.

  6. Robin Dawson says:

    Read Gould’s Book of Fish without delay. Unique and remarkable.

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

