It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

itsmonday“It’s Monday! What are you reading?” is a weekly event hosted by Sheila at Bookjourney to share with others what we’ve read the past week and are planning to read next.

*****

The last two weeks

I spent way too much time indoors, the last two weeks. I mean, as in not seeing anyone else. I had a lot of work to do which kept me inside with as few as possible fun outings.😦

Well, I did go to see St Vincent, an up and coming band from New York. They played in Amsterdam and my husband is a fan. I’ve seen them three times in two years. Luckily the music is OK. I had a fun meeting with a publisher and another editor, talking about our work. Just for fun, to exchange experiences and ideas.

Well, OK, I did meet some friends, too, but had to firmly say No to the friend who kept insisting we go to The Hague, where a new Marks & Spencer’s has opened. I like M&S but I just haven’t got the time!

Today I’m in the jury of a read aloud competition. The best readers from each primary school in my town are competing to go to the regional rounds. I’ve been in the jury before. It’s good fun.

.

Books I finished in the last TWO weeks: 3

Cold Storage, Alaska by John StraleyA Pleasure and a Calling by Phil HoganMiss Verstand [Miss Understanding] by Astrid Harrewijn
Cold Storage, Alaska by John Straley. A fun read about a small town in Alaska that gets visited by some criminals. 4.5 stars

A Pleasure and a Calling by Phil Hogan. A weird estate agent has the keys to all the houses he’s ever sold. And he uses them, too. 4.5 stars

Miss Verstand [Miss Sensibility] by Astrid Harrewijn. A psychologist with her own practice is having a difficult time with her employees and with men. 4 stars

.

Books I’m reading & planning to read

.

Bubble by Anders de la MotteIJstijd by Maartje WortelLexicon by Max BarryThe Visionist by Rachel UrquhartBred in the Bone by Christopher Brookmyre

Reviews

This Dark Road to Mercy by Wiley CashThe 5th Wave by Rick YanceyMiss Match by Astrid HarrewijnAndermans zaken [Other People's Business] by Goran Tribuson

This Dark Road to Mercy by Wiley Cash. Two girls in a foster home are abducted by their father, who is at the same time being chased for having stolen money. 5 stars

The Fifth Wave by Rick Yancey. The aliens are wiping out humanity in waves. A girl is trying to survive on her own, at the same time hoping to find her little brother back. 5 stars

Miss Match by Astrid Harrewijn. A fun chicklit in which a woman who is running her own business is dealing with difficult (male) business partners. 4.5 stars

Andermans zaken [Other People’s Business] by Goran Tribuson. Kroatian mystery in which a woman who was apparently abducted, returns home but is later murdered. A police detective investigates. 4.5 stars

 

That’s it!

What are you reading this week?

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

25 Responses to It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. Maree says:

    A Pleasure and a Calling sounds interesting! Happy reading🙂

  2. Hope you get to have a bit more fun time the upcoming weeks! Enjoy your books.

  3. I’m gearing up to do March Madness and read 10 books next month (a good number for me) so this week may only see one read finished, Stuffocation.

  4. Ooh Lexicon and The Fifth Wave are on my reading list too. Hopefully I’ll get to them soon. And hope you get some more time out this week – although it sounds like you went out a fair bit to me🙂

    • Leeswammes says:

      It wasn’t really all that bad, Tanya. But especially the week before last, it seemed I never saw a friendly face (except for my family). I felt locked away.🙂 This week, I’ve got a few things happening (let’s not count the boiler man who’s coming tomorrow morning).

  5. Mystica says:

    Enjoy all your reads and have a good week.

  6. bibliosue says:

    All work and no play Judith? Do I need to come visit again🙂 ?

    • Leeswammes says:

      It would be highly appreciated, Suzanne! I had a bit of play, but also a lot of work. The next few weeks will also be busy, then it’s time for new clients. Send them here, those budding authors!

  7. Leslie says:

    Sounds like a busy week, but a good one. I think I already mentioned Lexicon was a favorite of mine. Hope you enjoy it too.

  8. leydylaura says:

    I need to start the 5th Wave! Enjoy your books!

    This is what we are reading this week.

    Leydy @OUaT & RCE

  9. Julie says:

    I’m definitely adding This Dark Road to Mercy to my to read list! It sounds great. Have a wonderful week!

  10. Lindsey says:

    Lexicon is great! I hope you enjoy it as much as I did.🙂

  11. Lindsy M. says:

    I just finished reading The Available parent by Dr. John Duffy. Such a great book with honest and real parenting advise. Check out my post for the full review http://thismomspath.blogspot.com/2014/02/the-available-parent-review.html

  12. I’m glad your business is doing so well Judith, and you are finding some time to read and play🙂

  13. mpartyka says:

    The first time I read this post I thought it said you saw a band in NYC, and I thought ‘hold on! how could you not tell me’! Then I reread it and exhaled. HA!

    Glad to see you are out and about.

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

