Book Review: Bubble by Anders de la Motte

Bubble by Anders de la MotteBubble: What it is about

The publisher says: “HP could never have imagined he’d become entwined in a chaotic and dangerous game of life and death when he picked up a lost cell phone on a commuter train. He thought he’d escaped.

Now, his paranoia quickly grows to mania, as he is convinced that the Game Master and past characters are following him and that the police are watching him.

HP decides he must finish one last assignment and expose the Game Master’s secrets once and for all—no matter what it costs him.”

Bubble: What I thought

This is the sequel to Game, and Buzz. I read the latter only a few weeks ago. I liked Buzz better than Game, and a lot better than this final book, Bubble. In fact, Bubble was too much for me. In the other two books, the main character, HP, was mostly on his own, now and then seeking out others. In Bubble, he works together with others, at least for part of the book. But were they to be trusted? Who could really be trusted?

And what’s the real story about the Game and the people surrounding it? I should know, as I read the book, but I haven’t a clue. Neither HP nor me knew what was really going on, but at least HP could keep track of his own ideas and theories. I got lost, totally lost. And the story became too “big” for me, with a royal wedding that was threatened to be disturbed by terrorists (such as possibly HP). I don’t like conspiracy-type of stories.

His sister Rebecca, who plays a role in every book, was involved in a rather unbelievable way. I didn’t get it that she could be employed to do her job given that [some reasons why not].

So, not a great success. I did like parts of the book, but the overall experience was just OK.


Rating: 3 out of 5 stars (it’s OK)

Number of pages: 324

First published: 2012

I got this: from Netgalley (ebook)

Genre: thriller

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

4 Responses to Book Review: Bubble by Anders de la Motte

  1. Marie says:

    This sounds a bit crazy. I have been very tempted to buy a copy of Game, but haven’t yet and now I don’t know if I will because the series as a whole sounds like it falls a bit short of the mark. I wonder if Game would work as a standalone read or does it end on a cliffhanger that means you have to read the others?

  2. Leslie says:

    Oh, too bad. I liked Game well enough and was hoping the series would get even better.

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

