Book Review: A Pleasure and a Calling by Phil Hogan

A Pleasure and a Calling by Phil HoganA Pleasure and a Calling: What it is about

The publisher says: “You won’t remember Mr Heming. He showed you round your comfortable home, suggested a sustainable financial package, negotiated a price with the owner and called you with the good news. The less good news is that, all these years later, he still has the key.

That’s absurd, you laugh. Of all the many hundreds of houses he has sold, why would he still have the key to mine?

The answer to that is, he has the keys to them all.

William Heming’s every pleasure is in his leafy community. He loves and knows every inch of it, feels nurtured by it, and would defend it – perhaps not with his life but if it came to it, with yours…

A Pleasure and a Calling: What I thought

Eek, that William Heming is a creepy fellow! This was actually the strong point of the book: this man just goes in and out of houses as he pleases. He’s the owner of an estate agent’s but he doesn’t seem to spend a lot of time there. Often, he has a fixation on someone or on a family. He then visits their house but also follows them around town. No, he’s not a stalker! No way.

When he gets involved with the people in one of ‘his’ houses, things turn sour. And William Heming stops at nothing. The creep.

I loved this book for the character description of William Heming and how the reader gets to know more and more unsavoury things about the man. This was done brilliantly and almost totally believable. I didn’t like the ending so much. While it was not a standard, guessable, ending, it wasn’t strong enough, not in balance with the rest of the story, I thought. That was a pity, but I would still recommend the book for the experience of getting to know William Heming.🙂


Rating: 4.5 out of 5 stars (good to very good)

Number of pages: 241 (ebook)

First published: 2014

I got this: from the publishers (Transworld Publishers) via Netgalley for review

Genre: contemporary fiction, mystery

 

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

4 Responses to Book Review: A Pleasure and a Calling by Phil Hogan

  1. Sounds really interesting Judith, thanks for the heads up!

  2. bibliosue says:

    This sounds like a book I don’t want to read when I’m alone in my house! But it does sound good.

  3. trish422 says:

    I have to say I am very intrigued by this sort of creepiness.

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

