It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

itsmonday“It’s Monday! What are you reading?” is a weekly event hosted by Sheila at Bookjourney to share with others what we’ve read the past week and are planning to read next.

*****

The last two weeks

Two weeks in which the weather changed from wet and not-warm to dry and pretty good! I think it’s spring!

I had great fun in the jury of a read-aloud competition between the best readers of several classes of 11 and 12 year olds. It’s so nice when you can be the hero of your class for reading a book! I have been in the jury last year and the year before and it’s a fun thing to do.

I was also on the other side of the table… in a literairy quiz, in a team with three other book bloggers. There were lots of very literature-aware people and we became 17th out of 24. But it was just great fun. Look here for the pictures and put the whole text in Google Translate if you are curious (it’s in Dutch).

I was featured on Booker Talk, where I answered questions about literature in the Netherlands. Have a look!

.

Books I finished in the last TWO weeks: 5

Bubble by Anders de la MotteLexicon by Max BarryStoner by John WilliamsIJstijd by Maartje WortelArctisch dagboek by Jelle Brandt Corstius

Bubble by Anders de la Motte. Third in a series about a young man who plays The Game in book 1 and regrets it throughout the rest of the books. 3.5 stars

Lexicon by Max Barry. A group young people are trained to persuade people using special words. Then a word is stolen and causes great harm. 4 stars

Stoner by John Williams. A man grows up very poor but becomes a university lecturer. Not much happens, great book.🙂 5 stars

IJstijd [Ice Age] by Maartje Wortel. A young man who does not need a job as his mother is very rich, is totally bored until he falls in love with a woman. 3 stars

Arctisch dagboek [Arctic Diary] by Jelle Brandt Corstius. The writer travelled to the White Sea above Russia and describes his ‘adventures’ aboard a ship. 5 stars

.

Books I’m reading & planning to read

The Amber Fury by Natalie Haynes.The Visionist by Rachel UrquhartBred in the Bone by Christopher BrookmyreThe Sweetness of Liberty James by Janey LewisBezoedeld by Linda Fontijn

Reviews

Cold Storage, Alaska by John StraleyA Pleasure and a Calling by Phil HoganMiss Verstand [Miss Understanding] by Astrid Harrewijn
Cold Storage, Alaska by John Straley. A fun read about a small town in Alaska that gets visited by some criminals. 4.5 stars

A Pleasure and a Calling by Phil Hogan. A weird estate agent has the keys to all the houses he’s ever sold. And he uses them, too. 4.5 stars

Miss Verstand [Miss Sensibility] by Astrid Harrewijn. A psychologist with her own practice is having a difficult time with her employees and with men. 4 stars

 

That’s it!

What are you reading this week?

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

11 Responses to It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. Your’e becoming a celebrity by the sound of it Judith! The Amber Fury showed up in my mailbox today, I don’t know much about it but I hope we both enjoy it

    Have a great reading week,
    Shelleyrae @ Book’d Out

    • Leeswammes says:

      I don’t think I’m a celebrity just yet (not sure I want to be one). Look who’s talking, anyway!!

      I finished Amber Fury today. It’s a good read, but not much of a thriller. I liked the way the teacher handles her difficult pupils. It was a fun read.

  2. Mystica says:

    All your books are new to me. Enjoy and have a good week.

  3. bibliosue says:

    I can’t wait to read your thoughts on Lexicon! And I am definitely an outlier when it comes to Stoner – it just was not my cup of tea.
    Have a great week and enjoy the nice weather!

    • Leeswammes says:

      Thanks, Suzanne. Yes, I did enjoy Stoner. I didn’t expect to, the book didn’t appeal at all. I enjoyed Lexicon but not to the degree of 5 stars.🙂

  4. leydylaura says:

    These books are new to me but i hope you enjoy them!

    Check out what we are reading this week.

    Leydy @OUaT & RCE

  5. So many good books, so little time. I am so envious of people who can read more than 1 book at a time! When I try, I get the storylines all jumbled.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Caitlin, I tend to read just one book at a time, sometimes two. Yes, when the books are too similar, I also get the story lines mixed up.🙂

  6. kirksroom says:

    I’m reading The Book Thief and blogging it here:
    http://kirksbooks.wordpress.com/2014/03/08/i-read-the-book-thief-prologue/

  7. “Stoner” has been lying in the house since the boekenweek of 2013, so I definitely have to start reading it in the near future. “Lexicon” sounds interesting, so it’s on my maybe-want-to-read pile

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

