It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

itsmonday“It’s Monday! What are you reading?” is a weekly event hosted by Sheila at Bookjourney to share with others what we’ve read the past week and are planning to read next.

*****

The last two weeks

I was a bit stuck at home with a reluctant teenager who had to be pushed (sometimes literally) out of the house to go to school. He has a special 2-3 hour-a-day schedule so he can slowly get back to full-time school. It seems it’s getting easier for him. So maybe sometime soon, I can leave the house myself!

My other son had a week in England with school. They went to London and Oxford and visited all the sorts of things you might expect people to visit when they go to London and Oxford.🙂 He had a great time. Only one bone was broken (not his).

Last Wednesday it was my volunteer morning in the school library, which I enjoyed. Then later I cast my vote in the local elections. I should keep better track of politics, I didn’t have a clue, so I voted for the party I always vote for.

We had a fun book group meeting, discussing Stoner. We all enjoyed the book and tried to figure out why this was the case. Not a great deal happens in the book, but it’s very engaging.

This week is quiet but next week I’m meeting up with some other publishing/editing people. After we did a short editing course, we decided to keep meeting up every now and then.

.

Books I finished in the last TWO weeks: 5

.The Visionist by Rachel UrquhartBred in the Bone by Christopher BrookmyreThe Amber Fury by Natalie HaynesBezoedeld by Linda FontijnThe Truth That's in Me by Julie Berry

The Visionist by Rachel Urquhart. After a shocking event, a girl and her brother are left with the Shakers, a religious community. An investigator is looking into the events. Historical fiction. 3.5 stars

Bred in the Bone by Christopher Brookmyre. A private investigator and a police officer are both researching different cases, that turn out to be related. Thriller. 4 stars

Amberwoede [The Amber Fury] by Natalie Haynes [review in Dutch]. A bereaved young woman moves from London to Edinburgh to work at a school for difficult children. Thriller. 4 stars

Bezoedeld [Smudged] by Linda Fontijn [review in Dutch]. A rich businessman is arrested for tax fraud but he believes he did nothing wrong. Contemporary fiction. 4 stars

Wat ik weet [The Truth That’s in Me] by Julie Berry. A girl returns to her village after she’s been missing for a few years. Her tongue has been removed. Historical YA fiction. 4.5 stars

.

Books I’m reading & planning to read

De blokkade [Writer's Block] by Renate DorresteinThe Sweetness of Liberty James by Janey LewisMind of Winter By Laura KasischkeHidden by Catherine McKenzieZonder noorden komt niemand thuis [Without a North No One Gets Home] by Nelleke Noordervliet

Reviews

Lexicon by Max BarryStoner by John Williams

Lexicon by Max Barry. A group of young people are trained to persuade people using special words. Then a word is stolen and causes great harm. 4 stars

Stoner by John Williams. A man grows up very poor but becomes a university lecturer. Not much happens, great book.🙂 5 stars

 

That’s it!

What are you reading this week?

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

13 Responses to It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. I have the Amber Fury for review, haven’t heard of any of the others on your list though

    Have a great week,
    Shelleyrae @ Book’d Out

    • Leeswammes says:

      I hope you enjoy The Amber Fury, Shelleyrae. I thought it was very good. Just don’t expect it to be a real thriller. Most of the book is about the teacher in the class room with the kids (which I enjoyed).

  2. readerbuzz says:

    Wouldn’t it be lovely to be able to pop into London and visit? Wow. I don’t envy you a recalcitrant teen, though. Been there, done that.

    Here’s my It’s Monday!

    • Leeswammes says:

      Debnance, it’s difficult with my teenager but I guess it won’t last forever. When he’s moved out I’ll look back on the lovely times we had.🙂

  3. Mystica says:

    You’ve had an eventful week! enjoy the books.

  4. joyweesemoll says:

    I’ve got London on my mind, too, since we’re hoping for a trip there this fall — the England trip is influencing what I read.

    Looks like you have some good books. Have a great week!

  5. Sonnetje says:

    Just finished ‘To my daughter in France’ by Barbara Keating.Loved it! Now reading ‘The Mysterious Benedict Society’ by Trenton Lee Stewart.

  6. islandkylie says:

    I reviewed Lexicon this week as well – quite enjoyed it. You can check out my Monday here http://www.kyliesreads.blogspot.com.au/2014/03/its-monday-what-are-you-reading_24.html

  7. BookerTalk says:

    I’m in two minds about reading Stoner so will be looking forward to seeing what you think of it

  8. Melinda says:

    I am happy that The Amber Fury is a 4 star for you! I just chose it as one of my picks from a publisher and I really hope they send me the book, because now I’m excited to read it.

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

