Weekly Reading Roundup

The last two weeks

I’ve been working pretty hard the last few weeks. I was planning to spend a day or so thinking on how to improve my business (as one should,  every now and then) but I just didn’t find the time.  Bad me!

It was book group last week and we discussed The Silver Dark Sea by Susan Fletcher. I didn’t finish it, but some of my bookgroup enjoyed it. Http://leeswammes.wordpress.com/2014/04/13/book-review-the-silver-dark-sea-by-susan-fletcher I’m writing this on my tablet and can’t believe there are people who use just this. Are there? I’m very limited,  can’t add a proper link, can’t upload new pictures easily. So, a bad version of this post, today.

I also had my birthday, a biggie. I didn’t want to make much fuss about it but I did have a nice weekend.

This week I’m hoping to catch up with the reviews. I enjoy reading more than reviewing books so I’m getting behind a bit. Also, it’s the 24 hour readathon next weekend. I hope I can find the time to participate because it’s so much fun!

Books I finished in the last two weeks

The Silver Dark Sea by Susan FletcherHidden by Catherine McKenzieVerstrikt in wraak by Pietro RonchiniThe Word Exchange by Alena Graedon

And I also finished two Dutch books:

Het Gym by Karin Amatmoekrim

Een mooie jonge vrouw by Tommy Wieringa

 

Books I reviewed

Nah, I can’t add links, so if you want to know, just have a look,  you’re on the blog already.🙂

 

Planning to read next

Arms Wide Open by Tom WinterThe Third by Abel KeoghDe tuinen van Alcaáar door Stephanie ErkensEcho City by Tim LebbonEvenbeeld door Marianne en Theo Hoogstraaten

 

What are YOU reading this week?

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

23 Responses to Weekly Reading Roundup

  1. Parrishh says:

    Tried a couple of years ago on my tablet, with little satisfaction. If I recall rightly the problem I had was adding pictures, something due to sizing them. Glad to see the business is thriving.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Gary, I much prefer my laptop for writing blog posts. I love my tablet but it’s limited, unfortunately. Business is going well, indeed. Even had to get help from a freelancer last week to get it all finished. She did a great job, so I won’t be so stressed next time when I’m busy again, I can hand over stuff to her

  2. Julie says:

    Happy Birthday! I have a similar issue with reviews. I’m hoping to spend some time reviewing this week since I just finished reading a book and haven’t picked another one up yet. We’ll see how that goes! Thanks for the reminder about the 24 hour readathon!

  3. Happy Birthday! Sometimes I write on my iPhone but it isn’t easy.

    • Leeswammes says:

      It’s awkward, and that’s a pity, Rosemary. I wonder if there really are people who don’t use a PC or laptop anymore. They must mainly read rather than write with their iPad/tablet.

  4. Belated Happy Birthday!! All birthdays should be biggies, Judith!🙂

  5. Leslie says:

    Happy Birthday! I have trouble using my tablet to comment let alone try to post!. Probably because the Android apps are limited, or maybe it’s just me.

    I just finished The Word Exchange a few days ago. I liked the concept of the story but it could have been about 100 pages shorter.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Leslie, I also thought The Word Exchange dragged on a bit. The idea was good. It reminded me of another “word” novel that I read a few weeks ago, Lexicon by Max Barry. I can’t remember if you read that?

  6. I’m looking forward to seeing what you thought of The Word Exchange, opinion seems to be so divided.🙂

  7. Laurie C says:

    Happy Birthday! I am so behind, I haven’t even been keeping up with reading book blogs, much less books! I have The Luminaries from the library, and will probably have to return it and get it again before finishing — it’s long!

  8. BookerTalk says:

    I have similar problems when using my iPad with wordpress. Congrats on the biggie birthday.

  9. Happy Birthday! I hope you received some big books to match the biggie!

  10. Happy birthday! Have a great readathon, I’ll be cheering you on while I’m working!
    (P.S. I hate even commenting on my tablet! I’m so much faster on a desktop.)

  11. mpartyka says:

    I see you are logging many, many steps on fitbit! I am hoping to catch up with reviews too, I have built the templates… now to write a few words. To be honest, I might need shift back to a monthly recap.

    Have a great week Judith!

    • Leeswammes says:

      Mari, I was on holiday in Spain and I walked LOADS! I trust the steps, but fitbit also told me that one day, I had climbed 70 floors (while I most definitely had not – I had walked up and down a few hills, but 70 floors’ worth?).

      I read quite a bit on holiday so now I’m behind with reviews even more!🙂

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

