Weekly Reading Roundup

The last two weeks

I was on holiday the first week, and I read A LOT! Hurray! I loved being back in the swing of things. After that, it was back to work, but that’s fine, too!🙂

Last week, in Spain

So, where did I go? I went to Alicante, Spain with my husband and our two boys. We had a great time and good weather. Not extremely warm, but just right. Even in the evenings it was possible to sit outside in a T-shirt.

This last week I did a lot of work… to get 10,000 steps each day on my fitbit, just as I’d done during the holidays. I did realise it IS a lot of work and I’m not sure I can keep it going. Well, I had to break the new habit already when I had some (mild, but nasty enough) kind of food poisoning!

Books I finished in the last TWO weeks: 9

Arms Wide Open by Tom WinterDe tuinen van Alcázar by Stephanie ErkensEcho City by Tim LebbonEvenbeeld door Marianne en Theo HoogstraatenThe Third by Abel Keogh
Saboteur by Marte KaanLight by Michael GrantThe Book of You by Claire KendalAll the Birds, Singing by Evie Wyld

Arms Wide Open by Tom Winter. An easy-read family drama that I thoroughly enjoyed reading. 5 stars.

De tuinen van Alcázar [The Gardens of Alcázar] by Stephanie Erkens [Review in Dutch] A young Dutch woman spends some time in Spain and finds love. 3.5 stars

Echo City by Tim Lebbon. Fantasy and dystopia. A really nice read about the far future in which the city is ruled by dictators. 4 stars

Evenbeeld [Likeness] door Marianne en Theo Hoogstraten [Review in Dutch] A historical and a modern story come together in a thriller. 4 stars

The Third by Abel Keogh. Dystopia in which everything is being recycled and no one has enough food. Two children max. But what if your wife is pregnant with your third child? 5 stars

Saboteur [Saboteur] door Marte Kaan [Review in Dutch] Short stories about strange women. 2.5 stars

Gone: Light by Michael Grant. Final installment in the Gone series. Phew, glad that’s over! I enjoyed this one better than some of the previous books. 4 stars

The Book of You by Claire Kendall. Thriller. Scary from the start. A stalker is following the main character around and he’s not going away. 5 stars

All the Birds, Singing by Evie Wyld. Another great read. 5 stars

 

Books I reviewed

The Word Exchange by Alena GraedonHet Gym by Karin Amatmoekrim

The Word Exchange by Alena Graedon. Words are removed from the dictionary and people are suffering from word flu! Anana’s father, who works for the dictionary, has disappeared and she tries to find him.

Het gym [The Grammar School]  by Karin Amatmoekrim. A black girl is the only one from her neighborhood to go to the posh grammar school. She doesn’t belong anywhere anymore. 5 stars

 

Planning to read next

Een vrouw op 1000 graden [A Woman at 1000 degrees] by Hallgrímur HelgasonThe Painter by Peter HellerThe Girl in the Road by Monica ByrneMorgen vlieg ik terug [Tomorrow I'll Fly Back] by Johan Bordewijk

 

What are YOU reading this week?

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

18 Responses to Weekly Reading Roundup

  1. Great to see you got some serious reading done and had a great holiday. I really enjoyed The Book of You and I gave it five stars too although I was slightly disappointed by the ending. The story being interspersed with the trial by jury was done exceptionally well and gave this story an extra layer of depth.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Cleo, The Book of You was SO creepy! Yes, the ending was a little disappointing, I agree. But most of the book gave me the creeps!

  2. That holiday picture is looking great !! Glad you enjoyed it and wow at 10.000 steps. Gave The Book of You 5 stars too😉 Hope you will enjoy your books the upcoming weeks.

  3. k2reader says:

    Some days it does seem like “work” to get those steps in! Luckily for me, I have 2 dogs that have lots of energy, so I can always take them for another walk to get those extra steps in, but some days it does seem to be more of a chore than other days.

    I’m going on vacation at the end of June and can’t wait to sit in the sun and just read! Work is so busy for me right now that it’s been hard to find any quality reading time.

    Have a great week and enjoy your books!
    ~Kristin @ Always With a Book

    • Leeswammes says:

      Having dogs is the best way to walk enough, Kristin. That’s great. I have a husband who likes to walk, but he won’t do walkies several times a day!

  4. Nish says:

    A trip to Spain sounds perfect. It’s crazy, I am using Fitbit too but I fell of the wagon big time last week when I went on holiday when all I did was laze around and eat. Time to kickstart healthy eating and exercise again.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Nish, I actually walked a lot on holiday! Only, it said I did 72 stairs one day, when I’d walked (a lot) but only up and down a few hills. Very odd. You better get back to it soon. It’s so easy to lose the habit.

  5. I’m reading My Brilliant Friend by Elena Ferrante then hope to move on to her 2nd in the trilogy, The Story of a New Name. I also have Peter Matthiesen’s In Paradise.

  6. I’m glad you had a great trip ( excluding the food poisoning of course)

  7. You did manage to get a lot of books read while you were on holiday!🙂 I’m glad you had a good time.

    And thanks for the reminder… My Fitbit needs to go on charge as it’s been out of battery and I haven’t used it for a couple of weeks.

  8. mpartyka says:

    Happy to see you had a nice holiday in Spain – I was hoping to get there this year but it might slip to January next year. My travel buddy has left me for another woman (ha!… my 78 year old father has a girlfriend so all is good).

    fitbit – your comment makes me smile. If it’s motivating for you, then it’s working! My husband bought them for his team and they have a challenge going on. collective miles from now until the years end = x. I don’t know the details but they have a mile goal for a prize.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Mari, very nice that your father has a new love in his life. I hope you make it to Spain some other way – I know you will!

      I like the idea of a whole team walking for a challenge. Do they sneak off to go on secret walks?🙂

  9. OMG you read a lot during your holiday, wow I’m impressed!

    I’m planning on reading De Parttime-Junkie by Renee Kelder (her first novel) and The Lumanaries by Eleanor Catton, I bought her e-book last week, can not wait to start reading it (in English).

    • Leeswammes says:

      Sandra, I was surprised at how much I’d read in the end. I must say, I did take books that were a little easier to read than what I read in an average week. It was holiday!

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

