Weekly Reading Roundup

The last two weeks

The last two weeks were quiet weeks. I didn’t do much in particular and didn’t read as much as I would have liked. The two weeks before, which included a holiday, I read 9 books, these last two weeks, just 3. One was a fatty and a slow read. None of them were very engaging so it took a long time to read them.

Last weekend, I met up with two other dutch book bloggers to discuss some exciting plans we have for a series of blog articles. We also visited the book fair (with reduced-price books) that happened to be going on that same weekend. I bought four books. I also had the most delicious cake at a friend’s birthday party, went to a business course, and did a lot of other smaller things.

This week is also going to be quiet, with a book group meeting (Big Brother by Lionel Shriver) and some other arrangements, next week is Arm Chair BEA! Have you signed up yet?

Books I finished in the last TWO weeks: 3

The Painter by Peter HellerNot the End by Kate VaneEen vrouw op 1000 graden [A Woman at 1000 degrees] by Hallgrímur Helgason

The Painter by Peter Heller. A successful painter commits a crime. I hoped he didn’t get caught. 4 stars

Not the End by Kate Vane. The inheritance of an old lady should include a valuable painting. But where is it? 3.5 stars

Vrouw op 1000 graden [Woman at 1000 degrees] by Hallgrímur Helgason. An 80-year old Icelandic woman thinks back on her eventful life. 3.5 stars

 

Books I reviewed

The Third by Abel KeoghLight by Michael GrantThe Book of You by Claire KendalAll the Birds, Singing by Evie Wyld

The Third by Abel Keogh. Dystopia in which everything is being recycled and no one has enough food. Two children max. But what if your wife is pregnant with your third child? 5 stars

Gone: Light by Michael Grant. Final installment in the Gone series. Phew, glad that’s over! I enjoyed this one better than some of the previous books. 4 stars

The Book of You by Claire Kendall. Thriller. Scary from the start. A stalker is following the main character around and he’s not going away. 5 stars

All the Birds, Singing by Evie Wyld. Another great read. 5 stars

 

Planning to read next

Think Like a Freak by Steven Levitt and Stephen DubnerThe Girl in the Road by Monica ByrneTilt by Michael StroinkI Am Pilgrim by Terry Hayes

 

What are YOU reading this week?

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

11 Responses to Weekly Reading Roundup

  1. Nish says:

    I am on a non-fiction run. I am enjoying my current read tremendously. It’s a travelogue cataloging the travel adventures of a hard-core traveler, and it’s great fun and inspiring at the same time.

    Of all your books, I am most interested in The Third. It sounds very intriguing.

  2. Athira says:

    I’m still torn about Armchair BEA. I haven’t been a part of it last year, but the two years before that, I did participate and it was fun. This time, I have a lot of things happening around the same time, so I’m going to have to see if I can juggle it.

    • Leeswammes says:

      I always enjoy ArmChairBEA and this year I’m on the Prize Team (not taking any bribes). If you have time, Athira, it’ll be great if you could join in for a day or two.

  3. See you on Friday. Am very curious what you and the others are thinking of Big Brother. Hope you will enjoy I Am Pilgrim. Totally loved that one🙂

    • Leeswammes says:

      Ciska, I wish I had my copy of Big Brother back! It’s been such a while since I read it.

      I chose I am Pilgrim because I knew you loved it. I hope I will, too!

  4. Miranda says:

    Very curious to hear how you will like Think like a freak. I really enjoyed the other two books and have this one on my wishlist. I’m currently reading Onder de grond by Courtney Collins (The Burial, or Untold in English)

  5. mpartyka says:

    I can’t wait to hear what you have planned with the bloggers and articles. I’m working on content too, I just completed a class on blogging, intention, and the future. I learned to much, and sadly realized that book blogs are becoming ‘dusty’ (in need of mass updates).

    I should consider Armchair BEA. thanks for the reminder!

  6. bibliosue says:

    The Painter was a popular book at Booktopia this weekend. I am glad you liked it.

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

