Armchair BEA Day 1: Introductions

ArmchairBEA Logo

 Armchair BEA is for those people who cannot visit Book Expo America but still want to join in the fun. This week, May 26th to 31st, there are celebrations for those who stay at home rather than make it to New York. 

Today, Monday, is about getting to know each other. Armchair BEA has made some interview questions that I’ll answer below.

Please tell us a little bit about yourself: Who are you? How long have you been blogging? Why did you get into blogging?

Although I call myself Leeswammes, I’m not Lee, as some people think: I’m Judith. Leeswammes is a word I made up from two Dutch words and means something like “lazy person reading”.

I’m an freelance editor (books!). This week I’m also in the Prize team for Armchair BEA, so if you win a prize, I may be the one who assigns you your first choice, or second, or third. Be sure to fill out the prize claim form a.s.a.p. because prizes go: first come, first served.

I’m from the Netherlands and I read books in English and Dutch. I have been blogging for four years. I was already reviewing books on Shelfari (it’s a reading community like Goodreads) but I wanted a place of my own to keep track of the books I read and share with others.

Describe your blog in just one sentence. Then, list your social details — Twitter, Facebook, Instagram, etc. — so we can connect more online.

Leeswammes’ Blog is mainly a book review blog, but has become famous for the thrice-yearly Literary Giveaway Blog Hop. The next one is in June.

Twitter Facebook

What was your favorite book read last year? What’s your favorite book so far this year?

My favorite book was The First Book of Calamity Leek by Paula Lichtarowicz which is an amazing story about a girl living in a farming community. Very weird! 

My favorite book so far this year is very hard to choose. The new Murakami was very good, but I’ll go for Mind of Winter by Laura Kasischke, which was nicely creepy.

What is your favorite blogging resource?

I think it’s my spreadsheet! It tells me what books to expect, what books to read this month, what books I read the last few years. It’s got my whole book-life!

 

What about you?

Let me know your answer to one of these questions! 

I’m curious! 🙂

 

 

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

45 Responses to Armchair BEA Day 1: Introductions

  1. I think if I was one of the people having to tell people which of their choices of prizes they actually got I would have a nervous breakdown! I hate disappointment!

    I am a freelance book editor myself, so we have that in common. It is surprising how many book bloggers either edit, or do promo work, or write themselves. I don’t think that that is a coincidence.

    Lisa @Just Another Rabid Reader

    • Leeswammes says:

      Lisa, hi colleague! So are we competitors?🙂 Best of luck with your work!

      Luckily, the winners can write down their first three preferences, so hopefully we don’t have to disappoint anyone.

      • Eh, I am really very much small time at this point. I have a business partner. But the editing doesn’t bring in enough yet for me to quit my dayjob or for her to be able to rely on it as a steady source of income. I really need to work on finding more editing clients though, but marketing is not my strong suit, although I am trying.

      • Leeswammes says:

        Ah, it’s more of a second job for you! I’m trying to think big, which makes me a little bit more daring. I spend a lot on Google Adwords, to get the customers coming. Once they are customers, they keep coming back, so that’s great.

  2. You should tell people what Leeswammes means. Now that I know I remember it much more easily.

  3. I can understand how non-Dutch speakers do not get the word Leeswammes😉
    And my favorite read from last year was The Outside by Laura Bickle

  4. Mystica says:

    Am following BEA keenly. Your spreadsheet is a good idea
    .

  5. Hello from Indianapolis, Indiana. What a huge responsibility to chose the winners of each contest.

  6. Charlotte says:

    I tried to make a spreadsheet once….but quickly fell back to piles of (kind of) organized books! Since I don’t have an ereader, my books can be sorted (on a good day) in reading order!

    And thanks for your BEA work!

    • Leeswammes says:

      Charlotte, I liked to read other books in between my review books, so with this spreadsheet I can see when I have to finish certain books and if there’s room, I’ll read another book that’s not a review book.

      Have fun with BEA!

  7. Laurie C says:

    Hi, Judith! I don’t really have time to attend either Armchair BEA or the real thing this year, but it’s hard to resist sneaking in some time at the virtual event…Looking forward to visiting online this week!

  8. readerbuzz says:

    I’ve known you for a while, Judith, but I never knew what Leeswammes meant….Happy to know that. Welcome to Armchair BEA! Hope to see you more this week!

  9. msyingling says:

    The only book originally published in Dutch that I can come up with off the top of my head is Thea Beckman’s Crusade in Jeans. I’ve kept it in my library because it’s one of the best books on the children’s crusade that I’ve read. Enjoy Armchair BEA.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Msyinglin, here we still love Thea Beckman, a classic, too! Have you not read The Diner? It’s a novel most likely mentioned when talking about Dutch lit.

  10. Nish says:

    I am always amazed at how organized and on top of things you are when it comes to books and book blogging.

    And where do we have to sign up for the prizes? I don’t see anything related to prizes on the BEA page, or have I missed the boat altogether?

    • Leeswammes says:

      Nish, you can get prizes by participating. If you link up your daily post, play instagram, do a twitter party, you can win books!!!!🙂

  11. I love the idea of having a spreadsheet – I’ve tried it a few times and have always failed.😉 I particularly think it’s helpful for keeping track of when things are being released. I kind of just use Netgalley for this, so it helps, but I can see that if I started to need to read more than 1-2 per month I would get lost quickly. I’m also a big library reader, so I have due dates to think about as well!!

    • Leeswammes says:

      Emily, I used to have up to 12 or so review books per month, now it’s down to 4-6. Yes, it’s easy to get lost, knowing what book is “due” when.

      The library send me an automated email when my books are almost due, and I can renew online, so I don’t keep check of those books.

  12. Judith, I am going to add The First Book of Calamity Leek to my list – the title sounds great! Now I just have to find a copy in Canada – I’ll bug my library!

  13. I always wondered about “Leeswammes,” so now I know! I haven’t seen you around the blogosphere lately, so that must mean you are busy with other things. Enjoy the week!

    Here’s my ARMCHAIR BEA POST

  14. Athira says:

    Oh yeah, spreadsheets are my favorite tools too! The things you can do with them! Hope you enjoy BEA week!

  15. BookerTalk says:

    So that’s what Leeswammes means! I thought it was your family name. I tried Shelfari for a while but gave up and moved to Library Thing instead and Goodreads. I think most of these are similar in what they offer aren’t they, it’s just the functionality that’s different

    • Leeswammes says:

      BookerTalk, well, I got a package the other day addressed to Judith Leeswammes.🙂

      Yes, Shelfari, Librarything, and Goodreads are very similar. I like Shelfari the best. It’s a bit less ‘busy’ than Goodreads with some really nice groups. And I like the shelf they use.

  16. joyweesemoll says:

    Great to see you at Armchair BEA, Judith! Thanks for your work on the Prize team.

  17. Yay, Judith, volunteer! I really want to read Mind of Winter. Heard good things!

  18. I love the Literary Giveaway blog hop. So much fun. You’re amazing for keeping that behemoth going!

  19. Leslie says:

    Good to see you at virtual BEA. I use spreadsheets too, but I am totally dependent on my Google calendar to tell me when reviews are due and events (like this one) are happening. Google will even send me an email reminder.

    • Leeswammes says:

      That’s very handy, Leslie. I’m not that organised, but my system works fine for me so I don’t want to add extra admin to it. But it’s handy when you need it!

  20. Wait! How do you speak Dutch yet you’re not on bloglovin’? Amazing.

    • Leeswammes says:

      How are being Dutch and Bloglovin’ related, casual readers?🙂 I’m actually using Bloglovin’ but didn’t sign my blog up or something (is that possible?).

  21. trish422 says:

    I am jealous of your spreadsheet; I used to have one as I like being all organized like that, but it was one of the things I had to lose due to time loss.🙂

  22. fredamans says:

    Great to meet you. Hope you enjoyed ABEA!

  23. Yep, I’m still catching up on reading Armchair BEA posts!! I have always wondered where your blog name came from and now that I know, I love it!!!

    Thanks for all your hard work last week! You rock!!

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

