Armchair BEA Wrap up

ArmchairBEA Logo

 Armchair BEA is for those people who cannot visit Book Expo America but still want to join in the fun. This week, May 26th to 31st, there are celebrations for those who stay at home rather than make it to New York. 

Armchair BEA is over! But here’s looking back at a great week.

I met quite a few new people, which was really nice. I subscribed to several new blogs, as well as older blogs that I’d somehow lost touch with. On Day 1, we introduced ourselves.

I ‘went’ to the Tuesday Twitter party, about author interactions, and I wrote about two great authors, one British and one Dutch, that I met in ‘real life’. Well, isn’t all life real? Anyway.

On Wednesday, I also went to the Twitter party, which was about expanding horizons. Now, I would have liked to join in the conversation (and I did a bit), but I spent most of my time announcing winners. Every Twitter party, up to 20 people were randomly chosen to win a prize. Since the party only lasted an hour, and I had some related tasks as well, I didn’t follow much of the discussion.

Oh, that’s right, I was (still am) on the Prize Team, announcing prizes and processing winner’s choices the whole week. Fun to do, but a bit more work than I’d thought. I did do a post on Expanding Horizons, in which I told about how blogging lead to me starting my own editing business.

Thursday was giveaway day! I’m giving away a choice of 5-star books – have a look, it’s open until Saturday evening. I again attended the Twitter party (you can tell I enjoy them). This Twitter party was about reading beyond the borders, which I do all the time, as I live in a rather small country.

On Friday I simply processed more winner’s choices. I didn’t write a post but did surf around a bit to visit more new people. Armchair BEA is a great way to come across bloggers that you somehow miss in normal daily blogging life. It’s also fun to talk about topics that we all care about, tweet around a bit and win some prizes. I had great fun!

What about you?

Did you participate?

I’m curious! 🙂

 

 

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

13 Responses to Armchair BEA Wrap up

  1. joyweesemoll says:

    Thanks for all your work on the Prize Team! I won two–one at Monday’s Twitter Chat and one for cheering. I’m very excited about them!

  2. I’ve had so much fun visiting all the blogs on Armchair BEA. This is my first year and I’ve had such a good time that I plan to come back next time. I’ve added a ton of books to my TBR list as well as added a lot of book friends on twitter, goodreads, and bloglovin. Thank you so much for participating and making it a great first year for me.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Elizabeth, yes, isn’t it fun? I’ve taken part for a few years now and it’s always a busy week, visiting lots of blogs. Almost as if you’re at a conference.

  3. You’ve been busy! I didn’t participate this year but I hopped around the posts and discovered a few new blogs!

    • Leeswammes says:

      Guiltless reader. I was amazed (again) by the number of blogs that were new to me. I keep thinking I have an idea of the size of the book bloggosphere but there are always more blogs.

  4. I spent a lot time visiting and commenting this week, as well as doing a ton of writing. This my third year and I love it. People like you really help make this the experience it is.

  5. Laurie C says:

    I was excited to see my name on the Day 5 winners’ list today! What a lot of work goes into ABEA! You guys are all incredible! I had fun and managed to put up a few posts, and visit here and there, but was extra busy at work this week, so didn’t have as much time as I would have liked!😦

  6. Leslie says:

    I was impressed with how well organized this event was. Next year I’m going to write myself notes to remember the times on the twitter parties. I missed all of them! And I’m still visiting blogs and found a few new ones too!

  7. Nish says:

    Thanks for all the hard work, Judith. I participated and it was awesome, there was so much interaction and so many great posts. It was a great experience🙂

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

