Two-weekly Reading Roundup

The last two weeks

Recently, I’ve been busy working on my website, the one for my editing company. It’s totally changed and I’d love it if you’d have a look and tell me how it could be improved (“Nice, Judith!” is nice, “Nice, but…” is nicer). Tell me in an email so I won’t be publicly shamed…

I had a fun afternoon on Saturday when I was among 60-odd bloggers invited to one of the Dutch publishing houses, Meulenhoff Boekerij. We were given a workshop on review writing, we discussed a book that we’d all been sent beforehand (in smaller groups!), The Night Guest. We also had drinks and nibbles and talked to a few authors about their new books.

I enjoyed talking to Jean Kwok (from Girl in Translation, she lives in Amsterdam) about her upcoming book (and put my name down for a review copy). I also talked to a (for me) unknown writer, Marieke Woudstra, about her novel, based on her own life, about a woman who moves with her new lover to Portugal, to live off the land (I signed up for her book, too). Finally, I spoke to an author who’d written a book about mindfulness, Marisa Garau. I was skeptic, but she convinced me it’s for people who do not believe in things like mindfulness.🙂 She was lovely to talk to and I picked up her book as I left – we all were given three books upon leaving, from a large choice, so everyone could choose whatever they liked best.

A great afternoon in which I met some new-for-me bloggers, some that I’d known virtually and a few that I had met before, who almost feel like friends.

.

Books I finished in the last TWO weeks: 4 plus a DNF

I Am Pilgrim by Terry HayesThe Night Guests by Fiona McFarlaneWhere'd You Go, Bernadette? by Maria Semple (Dutch edition)Worst. Person. Ever. by Douglas CouplandParasites Like Us by Adam Johnson

I Am Pilgrim by Terry Hayes. Thriller. A former spy is investigating a possible terrorist threat. A lot of great adventures. 4 stars

The Night Guest by Fiona McFarlaine. An older lady gets someone to help her with the household. But there is something not quite right. 4 stars

Where Did You Go, Bernadette? by Maria Semple. A fun reconstruction of the months before and after Bernadette, a wife and mother, suddenly disappears. 4.5 stars

Worst. Person. Ever. by Douglas Coupland. A cameraman gets an assignment to film on a tropical island far away. Getting there is almost impossible: he gets arrested several times and is involved in a nuclear war. All good fun! 4.5 stars

Parasites Like Us by Adam Johnson. I only read 50 pages of this book and I could not get ‘into’ it. I gave up. No review forthcoming. I should have remembered I only liked The Orphan Master’s Son so-so. DNF.

.

Other books I reviewed

Think Like a Freak by Steven Levitt and Stephen DubnerThe Girl in the Road by Monica ByrneMorgen vlieg ik terug [Tomorrow I'll Fly Back] by Johan Bordewijk

Think Like a Freak by Stephen Levitt and Stephen Dubner. From the authors of Freakonimics, a guide how you, too, can think like a freak.🙂 4 stars

The Girl in the Road by Monica Byrne. Futuristic novel about a girl traveling from India to Africa via a bridge over the water. 4 stars

Morgen vlieg ik terug [Tomorrow I’ll Fly Home] by Johan Bordewijk. A man has ran away from work and home and spends time in Spain, Italy, and Greece thinking about his life. 2.5 stars

 

Planning to read next

Bridget Jones: Mad About the Boy by Helen FieldingHet Boschhuis [The Bosch House]  by Pauline BroekemaHaal meer uit je dip [Get More Out of Your Bad Turn] by Marisa GarauLongbourn by Jo Baker

 

Announcement of giveaway hop

The coming weekend, June 21-25, I’m organizing the Literary Giveaway Blog Hop. Come and join us for another giveaway! If you want to participate in the hop and give away a book to your readers, sign up HERE (also for more information).

What are YOU reading this week?

leeswammes_signature

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

8 Responses to Two-weekly Reading Roundup

  1. Your Saturday sounds like heaven! And I loved Where’d Ya Go, Bernadette too. Off to view this site🙂

  2. I liked Bernadette, too!

  3. Isi says:

    Ohh a talk with authors, how nice!!
    I have to read something by kwok; I’m sure I’ll love her books.
    Hey, I’ve just read a couple of things about mindfulness, but I’m still not sure what it really is!😛

  4. Leslie says:

    I enjoyed The Night Guest and Bernadette was a favorite of mine a few years ago. I missed Coupland’s new book – I’ll have to add that to my ‘future’ list. Hopefully I will live long enough to read through that list.🙂

    No, no public shaming on the website! I like it. It has a nice, clean, professional look. Not that there was anything wrong with the old one. However, this version has a more modern feel to it, that’s all.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Thanks for the feedback, Leslie.

      You will never live long enough if you keep adding books! But eating a lot of fruit and vegetables will at least get you through more books than eating McD and chocolates!

      • Leslie says:

        Yes, books keep coming. It’s difficult to say no, and many times I do, but they are so tempting. I rarely eat at McD’s so I could give that up, but not my chocolate! I thought dark chocolate was good for us. That’s my story and I’m sticking to it.🙂

      • Leeswammes says:

        Ha ha! I love my chocolate too! Not McD’s – can live without that!🙂

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

