Book Review: Bridget Jones: Mad About the Boy by Helen Fielding

Bridget Jones: Mad About the Boy by Helen Fielding

Bridget Jones – Mad About the Boy: What it is about

From the publishers: “Is it morally wrong to have a blow-dry when one of your children has head lice?

Is technology now the fifth element? Or is that wood?

Is sleeping with someone after 2 dates and 6 weeks of texting the same as getting married after 2 meetings and 6 months of letter writing in Jane Austen’s day?

Pondering these, and other modern dilemmas, Bridget Jones stumbles through the challenges of single-motherhood, tweeting, texting and redisovering her sexuality in what SOME people rudely and outdatedly call ‘middle age’.

The long-awaited return of a much-loved character, Bridget Jones: Mad About the Boy is timely, tender, touching, witty, wise and bloody hilarious.”

Bridget Jones – Mad About the Boy: What I thought

I thought it would be a fun, light read and it was. Bridget is 50 years old and a widow. A widow! Darcy is no longer and (sit down before you read the next bit)… Bridget has a lover who is 30. That’s a twenty year gap! She’s just as uncertain about her relationship with him as she always was about men. Luckily, she’s got kids, so that takes away some time for obsessing.

I (at 50 myself) got a bit bored with Bridget going on about Roxster, her boyfriend. There is of course the school-mum’s trouble as well, where one bossy mum arranges everything that needs to be arranged by the parents and Bridget never gets her part right. Why can’t book mums just do what the PTA ask of them? Why are they so often the odd one out? Well, because they’re more interesting that way, of course. But it gets stale if you read as much as I do.

Anyway, a little boring at points, but also a light read that would be fun to take on holiday.


Rating: 3.5 out of 5 stars (okay to good)

Number of pages: 390

First published: 2013

I got this: Borrowed from a friend

Genre: contemporary fiction, chick-lit

 

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

14 Responses to Book Review: Bridget Jones: Mad About the Boy by Helen Fielding

  1. Nish says:

    agree with you on all points. It was a pleasant read, but she didn’t sound 50 at all.

  2. I have this to read over the next couple of weeks – as much because I couldn’t miss finding out what Bridget does next! Great review

  3. Catherine says:

    I enjoyed it. I was pleased to meet again with Bridget who is so unluckyly funny. Yes some things are a bit too easy in the book but I read it as a light read. Although I can’t compare with the age as I’m going to be 30 so really, I should refer to the previous books lol. Although in some places I did think that it was a “younger” state of mind of some things she was doing and thought that I wasn’t sure it was really like this at 50. Nonetheless I was a bit sad to close the book and to leave Bridget yet again and overall thought it was a good come back.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Catherine, I’m 50 and I can’t say what I would be like if I was looking for a new man. Maybe we’ll never change and be the same as when we were teenagers when it comes to dating. But it didn’t feel right – as if Bridget hadn’t grown older at all.

  4. bibliosue says:

    I enjoyed this book for what it was – a light, fun read.

  5. Shan says:

    I didn’t mind it as it was a supposed to be a light read but I don’t know, she just didn’t remind me of the Bridget I loved when I read her in my university days. I think for me, there was just too much time left in between the books.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Shan, I think you’re right. It would have been better to read all the books closer together. But also, maybe a chick-lit-ish 50- something isn’t quite right.

  6. I’ve only read the first two Bridget Jones books…and didn’t even like the second one that much. I’m curious about this one, though. Thanks for sharing.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Laurel_rain, I guess you just have to read it so you’ve read them all. I don’t know, it was fun, but I liked the first Bridget Jones book for being original. This one certainly isn’t.

  7. BookerTalk says:

    i was astounded how much publicity this book got when it was published. Even the big national newspapers in the UK were running articles as if it was real news.

  8. Jae says:

    I DNF’d this because I just couldn’t get into it. I remember liking the other books when I was younger but I feel like I’ve matured way more than Bridget has. She seemed so immature for someone her age, not to mention a mother of two. I just couldn’t believe her character hadn’t evolved at all and I didn’t find her story interesting anymore. Plus, how could Helen Fielding do that to Mr. Darcy!?!?! 😦

  9. I loved this one – probably because I don’t know what 50 is like yet! I tried to discount Bridget’s age but I loved that she still got into crazy scrapes. It was kind of nostalgic.

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

