Two-weekly Reading Roundup

The last two weeks

Thanks to all for your feedback on my website. It was much appreciated and I did change a few things on the basis of your comments.

Of course, if you follow my blog, you know it was the Literary Giveaway Blog Hop last week. It was another great success. I didn’t win a book this time, but in a Facebook giveaway, I won a mosquito net from my local book shop. The owner bought one and liked it so much that they started selling them in the shop with the suggestion that you might read undisturbed this way. My son and I are planning to set it up soon – only he has been so busy with overdue school work this weekend that it will have to wait.

I went to the 40-year work anniversary of a blog follower of mine who works at the library of Amsterdam. I’m telling you: if you’re ever in Amsterdam, go there! It’s almost next to the central station (go left) opposite the Chinese boat restaurant. The top floor has food and a balcony so you can look out over all of Amsterdam. Brilliant! The anniversary party was also great, by the way.🙂

This week, I’m doing a two-day course and it’s book group on Friday. I’m keeping busy!

.

Books I finished in the last TWO weeks: 5 plus a DNF

 

Bridget Jones: Mad About the Boy by Helen FieldingTurn of Mind by Alice LaplanteThe Martian by Andy WeirLongbourn by Jo BakerBoer zoekt m/v by Rhijja JansenHet Boschhuis [The Bosch House]  by Pauline Broekema

 

Mad About the Boy by Helen Fielding. Third book in the Bridget Jones series. Darcy is no longer and Bridget has a much younger lover. Otherwise all as before. 3.5 stars.

Turn of Mind by Alice LaPlante. A woman with Alzheimer may or may not have killed her best friend. 4 stars.

The Martian by Andy Weir. On a mission to Mars one of the astronauts stays behind. He has to survive until the next mission in a few years’ time. 4.5 stars

Longbourn by Jo Baker. Behind the scenes at Pride and Prejudice: the servants’ tale. 4.5 stars

Boer zoekt m/v [Farmer seeks m/v] by Rhija Jansen. Dutch. Easy, totally unbelievable story about a television programme in which a young woman is one of the candidates to become a farmer’s girlfriend. 4 stars

Het Boschhuis [The Bosch House] by Pauline Broekema. A fictionalised family history. Too detailed, too disconnected. DNF.

.

Other books I reviewed

Not the End by Kate Vane

Not the end by Kate Vane. The death of an older lady and her inheritance. 3.5 stars

 

 

Planning to read next

Haal meer uit je dip [Get More Out of Your Bad Turn] by Marisa GarauSnow White by Donald BarthelmeDark Eden by Chris BeckettAlles hiervoor by Andre PlatteelThe Home Place by Carrie la Seur

 

What are YOU reading this week?

leeswammes_signature

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

10 Responses to Two-weekly Reading Roundup

  1. Joanna says:

    The Martian sounds amazing. Will be checking it out.

  2. Katrien says:

    I’m curious what you think of ‘Longbourn’. I read some nice things about it, so I might read it myself. Looking forward to your review!

  3. bibliosue says:

    I missed visiting the library, I guess I will have to return to Amsterdam 😉. Have a great week!

  4. I struggled with Longbourn which surprised me… glad that you enjoyed it.

  5. Diane D says:

    I first read this post a 5 DNF– that would have been a disaster;) great week for you

    • Leeswammes says:

      Ha ha, that would be terrible, Diane! I haven’t been 100% lucky with my books recently. I have had better times. But no more than one DNF per week, please!

  6. Wow, you have been busy. I enjoyed Longbourn, although P&P will always hold first place in my heart!

  7. lisaalmedasumner says:

    That library sounds fabulous! Looks like you had an excellent week.

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

