Book Review: The Home Place by Carrie La Seur

The Home Place by Carrie la SeurThe Home Place: What it is about

From the publishers: “The only Terrebonne who made it out, Alma thought she was done with Montana, with its bleak winters and stifling ways. But an unexpected call from the local police takes the successful lawyer back to her provincial hometown and pulls her into the family trouble she thought she’d left far behind: Her lying, party-loving sister, Vicky, is dead. Alma is told that a very drunk Vicky had wandered away from a party and died of exposure after a night in the brutal cold. But when Alma returns home to bury Vicky and see to her orphaned niece, she discovers that the death may not have been an accident.

The Home Place is a story of secrets that will not lie still, human bonds that will not break, and crippling memories that will not be silenced. It is a story of rural towns and runaways, of tensions corporate and racial, of childhood trauma and adolescent betrayal, and of the guilt that even forgiveness cannot ease. Most of all, this is a story of the place we carry in us always: home.”

The Home Place: What I thought

The publisher compares this book with A Land More Kind Than Home by Wiley Cash and The House Girl by Tara Conklin, which I enjoyed both, so I was keen to read this book. While I’m not quite sure about the comparison with the latter, I enjoyed The Home Place a lot.

Alma comes back “home” after her sister has died. Is it an accident? Really, Alma wants to go back to her busy life in the big city but there’s also her sister’s daughter. There isn’t really anyone suitable around who can take care of her. They spend some time on the Home Place, the old farm house where no one of the family have lived for a while.  But are they safe there?

Alma finds herself looking into her sister’s death and discovering things she’d rather not know. It’s an almost-thriller (I wasn’t on the edge of my seat at any time) that gently evolves. It was enjoyable but it finished too fast for me. I guess that’s a good sign.

 


Rating: 4 out of 5 stars (good)

Number of pages: 261 (ebook)

First published: 2014

I got this: for review from Netgalley/HarperCollins

Genre: contemporary fiction

 

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

2 Responses to Book Review: The Home Place by Carrie La Seur

  1. Care says:

    Too short books are better than too long ones, right? Glad it was a good one. I will tbr it.

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

