Book Review: Tantric Coconuts by Greg Kincaid

Tantric Coconuts by Greg KincaidTantric Coconuts: What it is about

From the publishers: “Free spirit Angel Two Sparrow—artist and musician extraordinaire—is having trouble making ends meet.  On the verge of desperation, she inherits her crazy Aunt Lilly’s bookmobile and half-wolf named No Barks, and dreams up yet another life plan. Painting her business card on the side of the van, Angel and her trusty companion set off on a pilgrimage across America hoping to jump-start her new profession: Native American Spiritual Consultant.

Traveling in the other direction, Ted Day and his trusty Irish Terrier-mix Argo are on a much needed vacation (and in need of spiritual nourishment). When he leaves Kansas, Ted can’t image how far from his sleepy law office that old silver and black Winnebago 32RQ Chieftain will take him.

Two lives (four if you count the canines) collide (literally). Once the dust settles, Ted and Angel find themselves enamored.  Sensing that something bigger and more profound has been set in motion, the couple embarks on a wild road trip, detouring into some rarely traveled corridors of the human soul. Very soon, it becomes clear that nothing will ever be the same for these travelers, their dogs, and, heck, the world at large, too. ”

Tantric Coconuts: What I thought

This book was more spiritual/religious than I had anticipated. I may not have read it if I’d realized. And that would have been a pity.

This was such a fun book! I loved the main characters, the slightly chaotic Angel who only wants the best for other people, and Ted, the very stern lawyer, who wasn’t in the mood for a holiday at all, but still.

It takes a bit of time for Ted to defrost, but when he does, he becomes a pleasant person who is willing to learn whatever Angel is happy to teach him. And that is a lot. In two weeks’ time, he learns all about the different levels of religion, on a kind of maturity scale. Most people get stuck at a low level and believe things quite differently from people at the highest levels (who are mainly enlightened people). Ted is a quick student and soon understands most of what he’s being taught. Angel gets help from a catholic priest, a Buddhist, and a Muslim.

For all that I care about religion (not at all), I loved reading about the different levels (it was a concept I had not heard of before), and more generally, about Angel and Ted’s travels. The writing is very easy going with some of the explanations about the levels being a little harder to follow. It’s a very accessible, friendly book.

 


Rating: 4 out of 5 stars (good)

Number of pages: 296

First published: 2014

I got this: for review from my Dutch Random House rep

Genre: contemporary fiction, spirituality, religion

 

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

5 Responses to Book Review: Tantric Coconuts by Greg Kincaid

  1. harvee says:

    Travels with dogs with some tantric vibes thrown in. What’s not to like?Sounds like a fun read I should pick up for summer!

  2. BookerTalk says:

    I’ve not heard of the levels either.

  3. The title really makes one curious! Sounds like a fun yet meaningful read🙂

  4. ryandejonghe says:

    Yeah, I was totally caught off guard by this book. It was just what I needed at the time and changed me for the better.

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

