It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

itsmonday“It’s Monday! What are you reading?” is a weekly event hosted by Sheila at Bookjourney to share with others what we’ve read the past week and are planning to read next.

*****

The last three weeks

Three weeks since my last update! Oh, I’ve been busy with other things. I haven’t spent all that much time outside when the weather was good (I loved being inside when we had some days of very, very heavy rain, though!). Another of my online friends bought a fitbit, so I have to be more conscientious and do my 10,000 steps a day myself!

.

Books I finished in the last THREE weeks: 7

Mambo in Chinatown by Jean KwokDark Eden by Chris BeckettThe 4-Hour Work Week by Timothy FerrissTantric Coconuts by Greg Kincaid
Mr. Penumbra's 24-Hour Book Store by Robin Sloan
Thuis in Portugal by Marieke WoudstraAlles hiervoor by Andre Platteel

The 4-Hour Work Week by Timothy Ferriss. Some great business ideas, although the 4-hour work week seems not my kind of way to do business. Even so, I got some nice ideas from it. No review.

Mambo in Chinatown by Jean Kwok. A really good story about a young Chinese woman who gets the chance to become a dancer. 4.5 stars

Dark Eden by Chris Beckett. A group of humans on planet Eden is waiting for the time when they can go back to Earth. One young man wants to explore the planet and causes a big uproar with his plans. 5 stars

Tantric Conconuts by Greg Kincaid. A single man and a single woman are traveling by themselves, until they meet and she teaches him spirituality. 4 stars.

Mr Penumbra’s 24-hour Book Store by Robin Sloan [Review in Dutch] A man starts working in a strange book store where buyers borrow books. 4.5 stars

Thuis in Portugal [Home in Portugal] by Marieke Woudstra. A Dutch woman and her boyfriend are looking for a home in Portugal. A sunny and fun book. 4 stars

Alles hiervoor [Everything Before] by André Platteel. A Dutch man with a history travels through California and deals with his demons along the way. 3.5 stars

.

Other book I reviewed

The Home Place by Carrie la Seur

The Home Place by Carrie La Seur. A woman’s never-do-well sister has died. Was it really an accident? A book full of family secrets. 4 stars

 

Planning to read next

California by Edan LepuckiBlackbird by Tom WrightInamorata by Megan ChanceThe Storied Life of A. J. FikryDay of the Vikings by J. F. PennDe kamer [The Room] by Jomas Karlsson
.

What are YOU reading this week?

leeswammes_signature

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

24 Responses to It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. Roxanne says:

    City of Heavenly Fire – Cassandra Clare… Deel 6 van The Mortal Instruments. Ik ben er nog wel even zoet mee want het is een dikke pil.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Ik ben ooit bijna begonnen in die serie, Roxanne. Duidelijk een goede serie als jij al tot deel 6 bent gekomen! Veel plezier met het verder lezen.

  2. Glad you are enjoying some sun! Both Kwoks latest and Mr Penumbra are on my wish list!

    Read on,
    Shelleyrae @ Book’d Out

  3. Mr Penumbra’s 24-hour Book Store is one I want to read too!

  4. Kathy Martin says:

    Nice looking assortment of books. Dark Eden caught my eye because I am a science fiction fan. Come see my week here. Happy reading!

  5. bibliosue says:

    The Storied Life of A.J. Fikry is amazing — I hope you like it!

  6. Nice assortment of books you read and I can’t wait to see what you think of The Storied Life of A. J. Fikry as I want to read that one!!🙂

  7. I read Inamorata and The Storied Life of A.J. Fikry and enjoyed them both. I hope you like them too🙂 Happy Reading!

    • Leeswammes says:

      Hi Magistra! I’m not sure I’ll like Inamorata but I’ll try. I don’t like stories that take place in Venice. It’s a particular atmosphere. Or maybe it’s just me.🙂

  8. I also received California…and I’m wanting to read Mr. Penumbra’s 24-Hour Bookstore…enjoy! Here’s MY WEEKLY SUNDAY/MONDAY UPDATES POST

  9. joyweesemoll says:

    I also found some good ideas in the 4-hour Work Week, but not enough to write a review. I keep thinking I may read it again in a different spot and see if some of the ideas seem more reasonable, then.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Joy, I didn’t write a review of it either. The best idea for me was, that if you give yourself a lot of time to do a particular task, it will take a lot of time. Give yourself less time and you’ll still manage to finish on time. We get lost in the details so often! So, that’s one that I want to remember and use.

  10. Leslie says:

    There you are! I thought maybe you were working a bit too much to read.

    I read The 4-Hour Work Week a few years ago and yes, a few good ideas. But mostly I thought it was a guide on how to get others to do stuff cheaper so you can keep more money. A true entrepreneur would use the extra time to develop an even better business – although more time for fun is always appealing.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Hi Leslie, yes, suddenly the work is flooding in. Just enough to keep a cool head, any more and I’ll panic!

      I think you’re right about The 4-hour Work Week. A real entrepreneur would do more and improve/expand his business, not sit down and relax. It sounds fun to be traveling and doing other stuff but I wonder how quickly you get bored from it, missing a kind of purpose.

  11. mpartyka says:

    I have taken a break from blogging this summer, trying to unplug as the world seems more plugged in every day. I just heard that cars are now built with ‘hot spots’ so we can connect… oh brother. 🙂

    Funny to see your fitbit comment, and I too was reading Timothy Ferriss’ 4 hour week last week. Mostly for the foreign language 8 sentences you must know. I’m struggling with my french but I can read it quite well (afraid to speak the language though).

    Hope you are enjoying summer!

    • Leeswammes says:

      Good for you, Mari! I’m not taking a blogging break but I’m blogging much less than before. Is it the beginning of the end? I hope not. Still enjoying talking books with (former) strangers.

      If you want to practice your French more, maybe you’ll like Duolingo. I’ve used it for learning some Spanish (must get back to it). It’s online and good fun.

  12. Mystica says:

    A superb range of reads. Enjoy them all.

  13. That’s the second review of Dark Eden I’ve read that has made me want to read it, so I’ll go to ibooks right now! My favourite dystopian read this year was the series by Hugh Howey consisting of three books; Wool, Shift and Dust. So awesome, I talked to everyone about them for ages. So so good!

    • Leeswammes says:

      Wendy, yes, you must read this! I have both Wool and Shift, but not read either of them. They are near the top of my “read asap” pile, so I hope to be able to read them soon.🙂

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

