Book Review: Inamorata by Megan Chance

Inamorata by Megan ChanceInamorata: What it is about

From the publishers: “American artist Joseph Hannigan and his alluring sister, Sophie, have arrived in enchanting nineteenth-century Venice with a single-minded goal. The twins, who have fled scandal in New York, are determined to break into Venice’s expatriate set and find a wealthy patron to support Joseph’s work.

But the enigmatic Hannigans are not the only ones with a secret agenda. Joseph’s talent soon attracts the attention of the magnificent Odilé Leon, a celebrated courtesan and muse who has inspired many artists to greatness. But her inspiration comes with a devastatingly steep price.

As Joseph falls under the courtesan’s spell, Sophie joins forces with Nicholas Dane, the one man who knows Odilé’s dark secret, and her sworn enemy. When the seductive muse offers Joseph the path to eternal fame, the twins must decide who to believe—and just how much they are willing to sacrifice for fame.”

Inamorata: What I thought

It’s always so d*mn annoying when one of my careful selected prejudices gets shattered. I hadn’t asked for this book, I just got it sent for review. I’m absolutely sure about that, because I never, ever want to read books that take place in Venice. Yuck-y-de-yuck. I just don’t like that fake-mysterious atmosphere, the rich people, the poor people, the masks, the dirty, stinking water. I’ve never been to Venice, but my unwillingness to visit it equals my unwillingness to visit Las Vegas. No, thank you!

Okay, short story: this book was great! I enjoyed it so much. The setting didn’t bother me. In fact, the traveling about in gondolas was fun! As were the large, old-fashioned houses.

The story was interesting, too. It was told from several perspectives and I especially liked Nicholas Dane, who is on a kind of witch hunt, with varied success. Will he be at the right place at the right time when his help is required? The twins Sophie and Joseph seem so innocent when they get to Venice, although they have just one goal: get someone to finance them, whatever it takes. But I wondered if they had a darker side.

There were a few dead bodies, which added to the mystery. The writing was very fluent and compelling.

So, this novel of Venice was great fun. Of course, I will not revoke my prejudice against all other novels that feature Venice, obviously.

 


Rating: 4 out of 5 stars (good)

Number of pages: 412

First published: 2014

I got this: for review from Lake Union Publishing

Genre: historical fiction, supernatural

 

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

2 Responses to Book Review: Inamorata by Megan Chance

  1. Just go to Venice. It’s an amazing city and you can easily beat the crowds of people. Just take a couple of turns and you’re on your own at the waterside. And this book sounds interesting. Will put it on my ‘maybe’-pile

  2. Venice is a very enchanting and lovely city. The food and the architecture are amazing. I liked this book too, very interesting read!

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

