Book Review: Wool by Hugh Howey

Wool by Hugh HoweyWool: What it is about

From the publishers: “For suspense-filled, post-apocalyptic thrillers, Wool is more than a self-published eBook phenomenon―it’s the new standard in classic science fiction.

In a ruined and toxic future, a community exists in a giant silo underground, hundreds of stories deep. There, men and women live in a society full of regulations they believe are meant to protect them. Sheriff Holston, who has unwaveringly upheld the silo’s rules for years, unexpectedly breaks the greatest taboo of all: He asks to go outside.

His fateful decision unleashes a drastic series of events. An unlikely candidate is appointed to replace him: Juliette, a mechanic with no training in law, whose special knack is fixing machines. Now Juliette is about to be entrusted with fixing her silo, and she will soon learn just how badly her world is broken. The silo is about to confront what its history has only hinted about and its inhabitants have never dared to whisper. Uprising.”

Wool: What I thought

For me, this was a whole new dystopian world: a silo under the ground. And a deep one at that. Special couriers travel the stairs to deliver packages and letters all day through. But most people only use a few levels from where they live, and so, sub-societies are formed of those living near the top, the middle, or the bottom of the silo.

I love the ideas in this book. The details of the silo weren’t totally convincing to me: there was running water and electricity, and apparently the silo was so airtight, that the poisonous gases from outside never entered it. It did not disturb me too much. After a slow beginning, the story started to speed up and I was turning pages to see what would happen next rather than worry about believability.

The beginning was not only slow for me but also frustrating. In each of the first two chapters, a main character is introduced who is thereafter no longer important in the book. Only from the third chapter onwards did the main character actually stay in the rest of the story. I never like it when I get to know and love a character and then have to shift focus to another character.

For fans of dystopia, this is a great and suspenseful novel. I have already got the sequel, Shift, and I’m really curious to see how the story will continue.

 


Rating: 4 out of 5 stars (good)

Number of pages: 528

First published: 2013

I got this: bought it

Genre: science fiction, dystopia

 

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

9 Responses to Book Review: Wool by Hugh Howey

  1. I read Wool a few years ago and really enjoyed it. I agree that it started kind of slow. It was worth sticking with, definitely. Still need to get around to Shift!

  2. Laurie C says:

    I’ve had Wool on my Nook for many months now, and really need to get to it soon!

  3. curlygeek04 says:

    I’ve been hearing great things about this book! I can’t wait to read it.

  4. Lucybird says:

    I have all 3 of these on the TBR pile. They weren’t really something which appealed to me, although I had heard good things about it, I got it for the boyfriend and he passed them on

  5. susanbright says:

    I am a fan of dystopian novels and downloaded this one months ago. Thanks for the reminder! Time to read Wool!

  6. Sounds interesting! *adds book to her very long TBR list*

  7. Pingback: Wool, Omnibus Edition by Hugh Howey | The Sleepless Reader

  8. Pingback: Book Read: Shift by Hugh Howey | Leeswammes' Blog

  9. Pingback: Wool Series- Hugh Howey | Lucybird's Book Blog

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

