Book review: Sense and Sensibility by Joanna Trollope

Sense & Sensibility by Joanna TrollopeSense and Sensibility: What it is about

From the publishers: “Two sisters could hardly be more different . . .

Elinor Dashwood, an architecture student, values patience and reliability. Her impulsive sister, Marianne, takes after their mother, Belle, and is fiery and creative, filling the house with her dramas and guitar playing while dreaming of going to art school.

But when their father, Henry Dashwood, dies suddenly, his whole family finds itself forced out of Norland Park, their beloved home for twenty years. Without the comfort of status, they discover that their values are severely put to the test.

Can Elinor remain stoic and restrained knowing that the man she really likes has already been ensnared by another girl? Will Marianne’s faith in a one-and-only lifetime love be shaken by meeting the hottest boy in the county, John Willoughby? And in a world where social media and its opinions are the controlling forces at play, can love ever triumph over conventions and disapproval?”

Sense and Sensibility: What I thought

Yes, that’s right, it’s that S&S from Jane Austen, but then in a modern fashion. I actually don’t remember much of the original S&S, assuming (as I do) that I actually read it. However, looking at the Wikipedia description of the plot, it does seem to be quite similar.

I enjoyed reading this novel with its family feuds, jilted lovers and romantics. I did find it rather old-fashioned, though. Yes, there is some talk of Twitter and mobile phones but generally, it’s just an old story about who is allowed to marry who.

The parents (mothers) are all rich and therefore, want their offspring to marry among their own kind. The Dashwoods no longer fall into that category, so any liaisons with the Dashwood girls are problematic. But this is nothing new (modern).

I loved the beginning especially but lost track of who some of the characters were along the way. This didn’t take away much of my reading pleasure.

It was a fun book, but I would have liked to see a bit more of the modern setting.


Rating: 4 out of 5 stars (good)

Number of pages: 362

First published: 2013

I got this: for review from HarperCollins

Genre: contemporary fiction, fan fiction

 

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

10 Responses to Book review: Sense and Sensibility by Joanna Trollope

  1. I agree, keeping to the original version that much lead to it being out of tune with time at various points. I was shocked at the young ages of the sisters which was all right in Austen’s time but did not go well with the 21st century. I loved the fact that in Trollope’s version the older sister comes out best though. Trollope is good at writing ‘women’s’ books, her skills at that made this novel amusing and worthwhile. It lacked Austen’s subtle irony though, few writers can beat that.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Liliane, I agree, the sisters were quite young. I didn’t really buy the modern setting but enjoyed the story. I have read quite a few books by Trollope, especially those from more than a decade ago.

  2. I am all for re-tellings, but I find it odd that it has the same title.

  3. This does sound good. I have not read the original although some day I do hope to.

  4. BookerTalk says:

    I’m not a great fan of the current trend of re-imagining the classics. Sometimes it just feels like the author lacked the imagination to come up with their own story line.

    • Leeswammes says:

      BookerTalk, I think it’s more that authors sometimes like a story so much that they want to write their own version of it. I didn’t see it as an easy way to get a new book published.

  5. thebookdate says:

    I picked this up at a book fair in October so am interested to read your review. I like J Trollope as an author so looking forward to it.

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

