It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

itsmonday“It’s Monday! What are you reading?” is a weekly event hosted by Sheila at Bookjourney to share with others what we’ve read the past week and are planning to read next.

*****

My reading week

I’m still reading Look at Me by Jennifer Egan. It’s okay, but not brilliant. I love reading about the main character, but there are other characters getting the lime light and I don’t care so much about them. I’m also reading a Dutch book, Tegenpool by Pauline Slot, about a trip to northern Norway (yes, just what I’d like to do myself).

I wrote a review (in Dutch, sorry, I hope to translate it soon!) of The Bone Clocks by David Mitchell.

Next on my reading list is Us by David Nicholls.

Look at Me by Jennifer EganTegenpool by Pauline SlotThe Bone Clocks by David MitchellUs by David Nicholls

 

My challenges

FitReaders2015

#Fitreaders is a challenge for all readers (and everyone else, really) who like to get more active. Last week, I did three days at 7,000+ steps, three at 5,000+ and one (uh-oh) below 4,000. My goal is 5 x 7,000  and 2 x 5,000 per week. So, a fail. Except that I’ve changed my goals on the basis of the first two weeks. Let’s keep it realistic. Everyone deserves a quiet day at home! So, the new goals are: 3 x 7,000+, 3 x 5,000+ and one day off. Hey, isn’t that just what I did last week?🙂

Cut-Out-Processed-Food

The Cut out Processed Food in 14 Weeks challenge was easy last week (the first week of the challenge): For every meal, replace some food with two portions of fruit or vegetables. I managed this quite easily, except for one or two meals where I had just one fruit or vegetable (I just forgot about the second one). I’ll continue this into the new week, as the new challenge is also pretty easy: Beverages will be limited to water, coffee, tea, and milk – and can only be naturally sweetened with a little honey or 100% pure maple syrup. As this is more or less what I drink anyway, I’ll be fine. I don’t take sugar in my coffee or tea and take normal milk in both. Easy peasy!

This coming week… Another quiet week. But… there is the ‘Evening with David Mitchell’ on Saturday, that I’m really looking forward to. His book, The Bone Clocks, was a mixed read for me, and I’m keen to see what he has to say about it.

What are YOU reading this week?

leeswammes_signature

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

26 Responses to It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. sonsothunder says:

    Reading Clive Cussler’s “The Tombs” I think it’s called, as soon as I get started on it… just bought it last night.

  2. Deborah says:

    I’m keen to hear what you think of Us. It’s only my TBR list (at some point!).

  3. I’ve just finished a beautiful book, Delicious by Ruth Reichl. Still in that post-Delicious happiness. I’m starting a translation of a Malayalam (my mother tongue, the language of Kerala, India) novel called On the Banks of the Mayyazhi by M.Mukundan. The original is a classic and I’m finding the translated version also to be very interesting.

    • Leeswammes says:

      I’d love to read that too, Greedy Reader! Delicious sounds, well, delicious! It’s always interesting to read a book from your country of origin(s), have fun!

  4. Isi says:

    I’m not in the food challenge, but I like to see whay you guys are doing every week. I also drink only water and hot drinks without milk or sugar, but I suppose there are many people who drink a lot of sodas, and this can be a good way to cut them off.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Isi, it seems especially the American participants (the majority!) drink a lot of sodas. I find it quite easy to abstain. I’m waiting for the heavier stuff later in the challenge, which is really going to be a challenge!

  5. I couldn’t give up my Pepsi Max habit. The caffeine is what gets me through the day. Us is still on my reading list.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Shelleyrae, ouch, bad! Pepsi Max? How about coffee? It’s not perfect but doesn’t contain some of the bad ingredients. {Says she, who knows her way around fizzy drinks… but I can leave them alone quite easily.}

  6. I have been hearing so much about Us, I really need to just get a copy and read it myself! I hope you enjoy it. Have a good week!

  7. Mystica says:

    I have been very busy this week but am enjoying reading the mailboxes.

  8. I enjoyed Look at Me more than some of the author’s other books, but it’s been a few years since I read it. Hope you have a great week, and here are MY WEEKLY UPDATES

  9. Melinda says:

    I’m trying to decide if I want to read “The Bone Clocks,” so I’ll be interested to see what you thought of it.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Melinda, The Bone Clocks is quite a tome. If you’re a David Mitchell fan, you must read it. Otherwise, it’s at your own peril. It’s good but has some weaker parts, I thought. In the end I was happy I read it, but somewhere in the middle I was having a hard time.🙂

  10. joyweesemoll says:

    Looks like some good reading.

    Re-setting your fitness goals once you’ve figured out what really works seems wise to me.

  11. I heard good things about US.

    ENJOY all your books.

    BTW, I LOVED your guest post on Sheila’s blog. Great job.

    Have a great reading week.

    Elizabeth
    Silver’s Reviews
    My It’s Monday, What Are You Reading

  12. thebookdate says:

    I agree the fitness has to be realistic. You did really well and not a fail! I think one day off is a great idea.

  13. Just finished Reading the Female Voices: Inner realities series from Peirene Press, 3 novellas all translated from European languages:
    Beside the Sea, Véronique Olmi (French)
    Stone in a Landslide, Maria Narbal (Catalan)
    Portrait of the Mother as a Young Woman, Friedrich Christian Delius (German)

    Now contemplating a large work of non-fiction about the life of Vaclav Havel.

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

