It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

itsmonday“It’s Monday! What are you reading?” is a weekly event hosted by Sheila at Bookjourney to share with others what we’ve read the past week and are planning to read next.

*****

My reading week

Look at Me by Jennifer EganUs by David NichollsTegenpool by Pauline SlotDisclaimer by Renée Knight

I finished reading Look at Me by Jennifer Egan. My review is HERE (3.5 stars). Then I started Us by David Nicholls. This is a much quicker read, and more fun, too. I’m still reading a Dutch book, Tegenpool by Pauline Slot, about a trip to northern Norway.

On my way to the Evening with David Mitchell (yes!) on Saturday, I started Disclaimer by Renée Knight, which looks like it could be quite good.

MitchellInterviewThe Evening with David Mitchell was a publisher-organised event in Amsterdam. There was an interview with the writer (mainly about his new book, The Bone Clocks), a talk by the publisher on how to ‘read’ Mitchell’s work, a signing session, an exhibition on ‘the making of’ the translation (to Dutch) of The Bone Clocks, and a fun David Mitchell quiz. Mysteriously, my watch slowed down during this evening about The Bone Clocks so that the evening finished 15 minutes later than my watch indicated – luckily, I didn’t miss the train!

 

My challenges

FitReaders2015

#Fitreaders is a challenge for all readers (and everyone else, really) who like to get more active. Last week, I did four days at 7,000+ steps, none at 5,000+ and three (uh-oh) below 4,000. My goal is 3 x 7,000  and 3 x 5,000 per week, and one day off. So, not bad and not good. Must try harder!

Cut-Out-Processed-Food

The Cut out Processed Food in 14 Weeks challenge was easy last week (the second week of the challenge): Beverages will be limited to water, coffee, tea, and milk. I managed this, except for one (rather than quite a few) cup-a-soup this week. I also continued eating fruit or veg with every meal (I aimed for two, but didn’t always manage that) from week one. In week 3, I’m continuing with the challenges from the first two weeks. In this new week, we’re adding eating less meat and if possible, local and organic. Since I don’t eat meat, my challenge will be to eat fewer highly processed meat replacement foods.

 

What are YOU reading this week?

leeswammes_signature

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

14 Responses to It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. Giraffe Days says:

    (My comments don’t often ‘stick’ on WordPress lately; I’ve no idea why. They just vanish. Will try again with a google account instead.)

    I’m curious about this evening with David Mitchell, in particular the publisher giving advice on how to read his books. Can you give an example? I do have Cloud Atlas but haven’t read it yet (eek, I’ve had it since 2008!), so I’m not familiar with his writing style.

    We try not to eat processed food too – not a challenge, just a family decision. I quite like cooking, especially baking, and I like to make things from scratch. Processed food is so dodgy! A couple of years ago I read Salt Sugar Fat: How the Food Giants Hooked Us by Michael Moss, a Pulitzer-prize winning American journalist; it was preaching to the converted for me, but fascinating to learn all the behind-the-scenes stuff, as well as what really goes into the food (and how misleading labels are – all the more reason to just avoid the stuff entirely!). I get mad at my husband when he buys ready-made pasta sauces, but it’s true they’re very handy when you’re tired and crabby! Hope the challenge goes well for you, Judith.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Shannon, I’ve read a few books on the processing of foods too. Aren’t they terrible? I mean, I’d rather not know but now that I do I try to change my lifestyle a bit.

      An example of how to read Mitchell, well… The publisher mentioned that there are often links between Mitchell’s book, e.g., people from one book will appear in another. Also, there are sometimes quite small hints in a book to something that will happen later on in that book (e.g., something is ash colored, may indicate death later on).

  2. sonsothunder says:

    Actually did a little more writing than reading this weekend, but I am reading Clive Cussler’s “Fargo Series” “The Tombs” about Artilla the Huns treasure, and the Fargo couples dash for dangers attempt to recover it. It’s a pretty good book thus far.

  3. encgolsen says:

    I love David Mitchell! That sounds like a very cool event. As for what I’m reading, I just finished Station Eleven by Emily St. John Mandel and loved it–still pondering what to read next.

    • Leeswammes says:

      It was very cool, Encgolsen! I’m interested in reading Station Eleven – good to hear you enjoyed it. What next? Do you have a big to-read pile? Mine is a small book case.🙂

  4. Leslie says:

    Reading was slow for me this week… one book!

    Now that the snow and ice has melted I was able to finally get outside and walk. I don’t like treadmills and health clubs. And I’m counting the days until spring!

    • Leeswammes says:

      One book isn’t a lot, Leslie! I think I average a book a week at the moment too.

      Glad the snow and ice are gone. Is that it? Or is it likely to come back? Here, the weather is turning colder again (just around freezing at night) after a slightly better spell.

      • Leslie says:

        Oh, it will likely be back. Sometimes we get a January thaw, and for that I am thankful.

        I usually average two books a week, but lately in the evenings I’ve been snuggling up with my blanket and a cup of tea and falling asleep on the couch instead of reading. It’s a winter thing I guess.

  5. I applaud you on your fitness challenge…I need to do something! I am sooo lazy…

    I am curious about Us…and I remember enjoying Look at Me, but realize that I read it a long time ago…before I was reviewing books.

    Here are MY WEEKLY UPDATES

    • Leeswammes says:

      Thanks for stopping by, Laurel-Rain. To become more active, set yourself a (low, to start with) daily or weekly goal. Saying “I need to do something” won’t get you anywhere!

  6. Very nice reading week, Judith.

    US seems to be a popular read.

    ENJOY this week of reading, and thanks for stopping by my blog earlier.

    Elizabeth
    Silver’s Reviews
    My Mailbox Monday

  7. Mystica says:

    Enjoy the week and good luck with the food challenge

  8. After my novellas of last week, which I didn’t find heavy at all🙂 why one of them was only 1 sentence long (ok a 117 page sentence)😉 so this week I’ve lightened up kind of, and am reading a children’s book, Margarita Engle’s The Poet Slave of Cuba which is written in prose poetry, I love her work, she tells a great story in such a wonderfully creative, lyrical style and often based on true events, as this one is. Previous to this I also read her fabulous The Wild Book. Voila!

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

