It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

itsmonday“It’s Monday! What are you reading?” is a weekly event hosted by Sheila at Bookjourney to share with others what we’ve read the past week and are planning to read next.

*****

My reading week

dewittWeerwater by Renate DorresteinMan o man by Mascha de GroofThe Strange Library by Haruki MurakamiThe Shut Eye by Belinda Bauer

I finished reading Ablutions by Patrick DeWitt which I really enjoyed (4.5 stars). Very different from The Sisters Brothers! I’m currently reading a Dutch dystopian book, Weerwater [Water Fort] by Renate Dorrestein. She’s one of my favorite authors. I missed her book presentation because I was ill, so I bought the book as soon as I could. It’s great! I’m also reading Man o man [Man, Oh Man] by Mascha de Groof, another Dutch book, a nice, easy going chicklit.

Then next it’ll be The Strange Library by Haruki Murakami and The Shut Eye by Belinda Bauer. But that’s what I said last week, too!🙂

Our book group met on Friday and we discussed … everything but the book! It was fun, though. We did a book game were we all brought a book we liked and ended up with another book. I got (stole! That’s part of the game) Rules of Civility by Amor Towles. Yay!

.

Reviews

Slaap zacht, Johnny Idaho by Auke Hulst

Just one review. Slaap zacht, Johnny Idaho [Sleep Tight, Johnny Idaho] by Auke Hulst – in Dutch.🙂

I have a small pile of to-be-reviewed books. It’s not as high as the to-be-read pile, but I must try harder at reviewing!

.

My challenges

FitReaders2015

#Fitreaders is a challenge for all readers (and everyone else, really) who want to get more active. Last week, I did quite well. I had two days of 10,000 steps and two of 7,000. The other days I was ‘resting’.  My goal is 3 x 7,000  and 3 x 5,000 per week, and one day off. So, this is not bad.

Cut-Out-Processed-Food

The Cut out Processed Food in 14 Weeks challenge was easy last week (the sixth week of the challenge): Eat no light or diet food, including low-fat. That was a walk-through for me, as I don’t tend to eat food like that, except semi-skimmed milk and I’m not changing that, not even for this challenge. The coming week, we have to eat wholemeal everything. That’s OK, too, I think!

 

What are YOU reading this week?

leeswammes_signature

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

8 Responses to It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. I have The Shut Eye on my list to read very soon too. Here is my reading week https://cleopatralovesbooks.wordpress.com/2015/02/16/4042/ Good luck with your wholemeal challenge.

  2. Nice week.

    My book club does the same thing. 🙂 We talk about other things and get to the book if we can.

    The game sounds fun.

    ENJOY your week.

    Elizabeth
    Silver’s Reviews
    My It’s Monday, What Are You Reading

  3. I hear you with trying harder at the reviewing – always have a bigger appetite in choosing than in reviewing as I’d rather get on to the next book !!
    a fav Dutch author for me is Henri Nouwen – lots of his books on my shelves🙂

    Here’s my MONDAY READING

  4. After a bout of the flu and enjoying some light reading at the weekend, I’ve remembered its Black History Month so dusted off my copy of Unbowed One Woman’s Story by Wangari Maathai, a wonderful biography of the Kenyan Nobel Peace Prize winner, scientist and environmental protector. Loving it so far, an amazing life journey and one inspirational and hard working woman.

  5. ThE Shut Eye is on my list too, I’ve always wanted to read Rubbernecker by this author but since .i didn’t get my hands on it, figured I’d give this a try.

    Have a great week!

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

