April: East-Asia Month!


4月には、東アジアの月です!

In April, I will continue working on my goal to reduce my pile of to-read books. In March, I read all the books I owned (but hadn’t read) by Spanish authors (3). In April, I will read all the East-Asian books I own but haven’t read yet.

It’s a doable pile:

The Strange Library by Haruki MurakamiThe Reason I Jump by Naoki HigashidaThe Three-Body Problem by Cixin LiuWolf Totem by Jiang RongLight and Dark by Natsume Soseki

The Strange Library by Haruki Murakami. A short story in a beautifully designed book. Ideal for the 24 hour readathonUPDATE – read it! My review is HERE.

Slightly bigger, but not by much, is The Reason I Jump by Naoki Higashida, the story of an autistic boy, told by himself. Also ideal for the readathon. UPDATE – read it! My review (in Dutch) is HERE.

The Three-Body Problem by Cixin Liu is a science fiction novel that I happened to come across in a book store. I’ve never heard of the author or the book, but it sounded so intriguing, I had to buy it. Read about it hereUPDATE – read it! My review is HERE.

Wolf Totem by Jiang Rong is one of the books that has spent the most time on my to-read pile. Not sure why. I heard good things about it. This is the ideal month to read it! Read more about it hereUPDATE – read it!  My review is HERE.

Finally, I have a beautiful edition of Light and Dark by Natsume Soseki. A Japanese classic, but unfinished novel. I have the feeling this will be a tough read. I’ll read a bit every day, three short chapters. That will bring me half-way the book. If I enjoy it, I’ll continue in May. Read more about it here. UPDATE – read it!  My review is HERE.

Want to join in?

My East-Asian authors are all from Japan or China. But let’s define East-Asia as any country to the right of (but not including) India. I’m not sure if there is an official definition, but this will do, right?

So, let me know in the comments if you’d like to join in and read all (or some) of your East-Asian books in April.

What will you be reading?

leeswammes_signature

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

8 Responses to April: East-Asia Month!

  1. bibliosue says:

    What a great idea! I have lost control of my TBR piles but I will see if I have anything appropriate for this event. (PS The Reason I Jump is amazing).

    • Leeswammes says:

      Suzanne, it would be great if you joined in with one or more books! My TBR pile is all in one dedicated book case (yes, indeed) and all its books are entered in Shelfari. So it’s quite easy to check what books I own.

  2. Katrien says:

    I don’t think I will join in, but this is a good reason to continue reading the 1Q84 series by Hurakami, which I started in January!

  3. I have The Strange Library lined up for the readathon too😉

  4. ssandrav says:

    Wat leuk, ik lees volgens mij nooit iets van Aziatische schrijvers, geen idee waarom niet eigenlijk? Nu genoot ik vorige maand erg van de Lets Get Spanish maand van Soraya dus ik ga zeker meedoen met jouw April East Asia month Judith!
    Mijn bieb heeft helaas Wolf Totem niet maar een vriend mailde eerder dat hij de film heeft dus ga ik die zeker kijken. Heb jij nog meer tips qua Aziatische schrijvers?

    • ssandrav says:

      Oh lekker snugger, ik zie dat mijn bieb hem wel in het Nederlands heeft haha, afijn, dan maar de film én het boek lezen (eerst lezen daarna de film) 😉

    • Leeswammes says:

      Wat leuk dat je meedoet, Sandra! Ik wist niet dat er een film van Wolf Totem is, bedankt voor de tip. Ik kan je zeker aanraden Murakami te gssn proberen als je die nog niet kent.

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

