The 24-Hour Read-a-thon! #readathon

24hourreadathon

It’s almost time to start the 24 Hour Read-a-thon! Over 1,500 (!) book bloggers and other book lovers all over the world will be reading as much as they can within 24 hours. Some will read 6 hours, some will try and read the full 24 hours.

Everyone starts at the same time, 12 GMT, which is 2pm for me here in the Netherlands. I do need my sleep, but I will try and read for 16-18 hours.

—0—0—0—0—0—

This is what I’ll be reading from:

Readathon pile

[Finished] An Amorous Discourse in the Suburbs of Hell by Deborah Levy – A short one to keep the spirits up.

[Finished] The Strange Library by Haruki Murakami – Another short one, for my East-Asian month.

Boo by Neil Smith – A YA novel, looks like an easy-going read.

[Finished] The Subprimes by Karl Taro Greenfeld – Dystopia (which I love) and looks good fun.

[Abandoned for now] Wolf Totem by Jiang Rong – My oldest unread book in the TBR and for my East-Asian month.

[Finished] The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins – Got it from fellow readathoner Ciska and it sounds great.

Light and Dark by Natsume Soseki – For my East-Asian month, already over 100 pages in, I’m planning to read a few short chapters every few hours.

Total pages after 24 hours: 889

I read 4 whole books and parts of two more books


End of Event Meme:

1. Which hour was most daunting for you? Hour eleven. I was planning to stay awake much longer but this was 1 am for me and I decided to go to sleep for a while.
2. Could you list a few high-interest books that you think could keep a Reader engaged for next year? The Girl on the Train was definitely a good choice. An easy, engaging read.
3. Do you have any suggestions for how to improve the Read-a-thon next year? No.
4. What do you think worked really well in this year’s Read-a-thon? I loved the blogposts – very nicely formatted and easy to follow.
5. How many books did you read? Four and a bit.
6. What were the names of the books you read?

I finished:
An Amorous Discourse in the Suburbs of Hell by Deborah Levy
The Strange Library by Haruki Murakami
The Subprimes by Karl Taro Greenfeld
The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins

I also read some of:
Wolf Totem by Jiang Rong
Light and Dark by Natsume Soseki

7. Which book did you enjoy most? They were all good!
8. Which did you enjoy least? See above
9. If you were a Cheerleader, do you have any advice for next year’s Cheerleaders? n/a
10. How likely are you to participate in the Read-a-thon again? What role would you be likely to take next time? 100% if I have the time. I’ll stick to reader as I don’t get to read quite as much these days as I used to. Wouldn’t mind doing a giveaway.


After Twenty-Four Hours

I finished The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins (191 pages)

I read 26 pages in Light and Dark by Natsume Soseki

Total pages after 24 hours: 889


After Twenty-One Hours

I read 100 pages of The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins

Total pages after 21 hours: 672


Mini-challenge: Shelfie

shelfie

I took a shelfie for the Book Monsters‘ mini-challenge! I have more books than that, but these are my favorite shelves.


Hour 17 – After reading and sleeping

I slept from 01.00 (hour 11) to 0.630 (hour 16/17) and now I’m ready to read some more.

I read in bed last night and at breakfast and this is the score:

I read 15 pages of The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins

Total pages after 17 hours: 572


After ten-and-a-half hours of reading

Well, I’m in bed by now! It’s 12.30 am here in the Netherlands.

I finished The Strange Library by Haruki Murakami (96 pages)

I started The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins (12 pages)

Total pages after 10.5 hours: 557


After nine hours of reading

I read 160 pages of The Subprimes by Karl Taro Greenfeld and finished it.

Now reading The Strange Library by Haruki Murakami

Total pages after 9 hours: 449


After six hours of reading

I read 112 pages of The Subprimes by Karl Taro Greenfeld

I also had dinner (it’s now 8 pm here) and although the sun is shining, I’ll just keep reading rather than going for a walk.

Total pages after 6 hours: 289


After three hours of reading

I read 95 pages of Wolf Totem, but put it aside for now. It’s a great book, but the story line isn’t strong and I prefer more of a page turner for the read-a-thon. So, I’ll continue reading this, but not now.

I read An Amorous Discourse in the Suburbs of Hell by Deborah Levy (72 pages)

Total pages after 3 hours: 167


Opening Meme

1) What fine part of the world are you reading from today? I’m reading from the Netherlands. 
2) Which book in your stack are you most looking forward to? I’m especially looking forward to The Subprimes, a dystopian book – I love dystopia!
3) Which snack are you most looking forward to? I got some store-bought potato salad that is really terrible, paint-stripping stuff, but I love it!
4) Tell us a little something about yourself! I have my own book editing business so I get to read ALL THE TIME (and I still wanted to join in the readathon – there’s nothing better than that!)
5) If you participated in the last read-a-thon, what’s one thing you’ll do different today? I’ll do what I always do: read, eat, blog, and tweet!


.

Are you participating? What will you be reading?

Please leave a link to your starting post so I can easily find you.


About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

17 Responses to The 24-Hour Read-a-thon! #readathon

  1. That is a great stack! Enjoy your books and good luck with all the reading!

  2. Laurie C says:

    Quite a variety there! The only one I’ve read is The Girl on the Train, and you’ll whip right through that one, I imagine! I haven’t joined a readathon yet, but maybe someday. Good luck with your stack!

  3. readerbuzz says:

    Happy to see you here today! I doubt I’ll make all 24 hours but I do love to join in when I can. Enjoy!

    readerbuzz.blogspot.com

  4. bibliosue says:

    Good luck Judith and have fun!

  5. Looks like a nice lineup. Girl on a Train is high on my TBR. Enjoy.

  6. Leslie says:

    Have a great reading day! I’m participating too, but not for the entire day this time. I read The Girl on the Train and it was a quick, almost compulsive, read. So that a good choice. And I have The Strange Library in my audio stack.

  7. Gnoe says:

    You’ll love The Strange Library! I know I did😀 Happy reading and see you around!

  8. Looks like your doing well. Cheers.

  9. Camilla says:

    Great stack! I’ve only read The Strange Library myself, but I’ve heard good things about several of your choices🙂

    Hope you’re enjoying your books!

  10. Isi says:

    You did great!
    I was taking a look at Ciska’s books and she also read The strange library, I’m curious to read both your reviews🙂
    And I also like white shelves :)))

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

