Book Review: The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins

The Girl on the Train by Paula HawkinsThe Girl on the Train: What it is about

From the publishers: “Rachel catches the same commuter train every morning. She knows it will wait at the same signal each time, overlooking a row of back gardens. She’s even started to feel like she knows the people who live in one of the houses. ‘Jess and Jason’, she calls them. Their life – as she sees it – is perfect. If only Rachel could be that happy.

And then she sees something shocking. It’s only a minute until the train moves on, but it’s enough.

Now everything’s changed. Now Rachel has a chance to become a part of the lives she’s only watched from afar.

Now they’ll see; she’s much more than just the girl on the train…

The Girl on the Train: What I thought

This is one of the books I read for the 24-hour-readathon. And it was ideal for that. A fast read, reasonably thrilling, ideal for when you want something that doesn’t last for hours and hours and hours.

It was both interesting and frustrating that the main character, Rachel, can’t remember certain things. She was in the area when a woman went missing, but did she have anything to do with it? She doesn’t know. She befriends the prime suspect, the woman’s husband (a real clever thing to do, right?) and meddles in the police investigation. But for all we know, she has nothing to do with it. Or maybe everything.

It’s fun to read, but I had trouble keeping certain characters apart, in particular the husband of the missing woman, and Rachel’s own ex-husband. They seemed too similar. Also, their partners were rather similar. What I like about certain thrillers, is that initially I have an idea of what might have happened and during the story, I have to change my mind again and again. That was certainly the case here. Bit by bit new information comes to the surface that changes your view on the situation. I love that!

So, a fun, quick read, but nothing too special. Ideal for a holiday or train journey.


Rating: 4 out of 5 stars (good)

Number of pages: 318

First published: 2015

I got this: from Ciska of Ciska’s Book Chest (just because)

Genre:Thriller

 

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

15 Responses to Book Review: The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins

  1. I actually just finished listening to it today! Really enjoyed it. Sounds like the audio might have worked even better for you, as they chose 3 different female narrators to differentiate between the 3 women! awesome!

  2. bibliosue says:

    I enjoyed this book on audio as well, the style of the narration seemed suited for listening; I’m not sure how well I’d have liked reading the book. I’m glad you enjoyed it!

  3. Leslie says:

    I listened to the audio too and thought the narration was nicely done. Rachel certainly was an unreliable narrator though… and they were all quite unlikeable too.

  4. Nish says:

    I agree with you. It was a fun read, nothing too memorable, but I enjoyed it tremendously. It’s actually perfect for travel🙂

  5. Catherine says:

    I have it on my Kindle but haven’t read it yet. Train -read is exactly what I need as I commute to work so that’s perfect!

  6. Techeditor says:

    I read this, too. Here is what I thought.

    Riverhead is doing a great marketing job for this book, right down to its very clever cover. But, after all this hype, THE GIRL ON THE TRAIN may disappoint. While it will keep your attention, it probably won’t be as unputdownable as claimed until the last couple of chapters. It wasn’t for me.

    Rachel is a raging alcoholic who has opinions about people that are often based on nothing and are always wrong. The entire book is about her alcoholic blackouts and figuring out what really happened.

    Some things about this book are aggravating. For instance, during tense moments, characters, especially Rachel, bite their lips, often so hard they draw blood. I could just imagine all the people walking around with bloody mouths they had chewed.

    The biggest aggravation is difficult to describe without saying too much and spoiling the story. It has to do with how everything is explained in the end. It is too convenient for An author to explain everything in the end this way and is too hard to swallow.

    Yet, even considering these and other faults, I agree with you that the book rates four stars simply because it kept my attention more than books I’ve rated with three stars.

    I won this ARC from the publisher and librarything.com.

  7. neer says:

    Sorry but this was a disappointing read. The women sounded so similar that it became difficult to tell them apart.

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

