ArmchairBEA Day 1: Introductions

ArmchairBEA Logo

 Armchair BEA is for those people who cannot visit Book Expo America but still want to join in the fun. This week, May 27th to 31st, there are celebrations for those who stay at home rather than make it to New York. 

Today, Wednesday, is about getting to know each other. Armchair BEA has made some interview questions that I’ll answer below.

Please tell us a little bit about yourself: Who are you? How long have you been blogging? Why did you get into blogging?

Although I call myself Leeswammes, I’m not Lee, as some people think: I’m Judith. Leeswammes is a word I made up from two Dutch words and means something like “lazy person reading”.

I’m an independent editor (books!). I’m also in the Prize team for Armchair BEA, for the second year running. So if you win a prize, I may be the one who assigns you your first choice, or second, or third. Be sure to fill out the prize claim form a.s.a.p. because prizes go: first come, first served.

I’m from the Netherlands and I read books in English and Dutch. I have been blogging for five years. I was already reviewing books on Shelfari (it’s a reading community like Goodreads) but I wanted a place of my own to keep track of the books I read and share with others.

What is the top book in your TBR pile?

Ah, it’s one that is related to my work as an editor – Between You & Me: Confessions of a Comma Queen by Mary Norris

What does diversity mean to you?

I chose this question because I found that I have no idea how to answer this!

What comes up in my mind is equality and companionship (i.e., we’re all one group, not many). But also: can’t we all just accept each other so we don’t have to worry about terms such as diversity?

What book are you reading right now?

Aquarium by David Vann. A beautiful novel that reads like a fairy tale, but with a nasty fairy godmother!

Share your favorite blog post on your blog

A few years ago I was getting annoyed by all the author emails asking me to review their books. So, I wrote this post: Authors: How to Pitch Your Book to Bloggers which has become quite popular, as you can imagine!

What about you?

Let me know your answer to one of these questions! 

I’m curious! 🙂

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

11 Responses to ArmchairBEA Day 1: Introductions

  1. Please tell us a little bit about yourself: Who are you? How long have you been blogging? Why did you get into blogging?
    Hi there! I’m Raven and I have been blogging since February. A friend suggested I share my thoughts on books I have read with other fellow readers. Plus I enjoy writing and blogging allows for my two passions reading and writing.
    I reside in San Francisco. What pays my bills – I work in marketing for a large computer company. I enjoy exercising, traveling, arts, just about anything with the right person and of course my optimistic attitude.
    What is the top book in your TBR pile?
    Trying to clear the deck for Lucky Break by Esther Freud. A gift from a friend, I hope to clear my schedule very soon to enjoy this read from my thoughtful buddy.
    What does diversity mean to you?
    Embracing differences with respect.
    What book are you reading right now?
    American Wife by Taya Kyle. The widow of “American Sniper” Chris Kyle shares their private journey, a moving and universal chronicle of love and family, service and patriotism, grief and sacrifice, faith and purpose. Just started….
    Share your favorite blog post on your blog
    Les Penseés by Lucienne Hollard McKay. Exquisite collection of poems not intended for an audience. Affecting and intimate – especially given the authoresses history. Simply beautiful.
    http://ravenhairedgirl.com/2015/05/20/review-les-pensees-the-thoughts-of-lucienne-hollard-mckay-by-lucienne-hollard-mckay-lilian-polk-translator/

    • Leeswammes says:

      Hi Raven. Thanks for your comment. Nice to find out a little bit about you. So you’re quite a new blogger. You can still join ArmchairBEA if you like! It’s for any book blogger. Enjoy American Wife! (I don’t know it but it sounds interesting.)

  2. Laurie C says:

    So good to see you at ABEA again this year! I’ve been so behind on my blog-reading that I practically missed it!

  3. readerbuzz says:

    I loved it when you had a question every week on your blog. I know that takes a lot of time, but I love the hops!

    Hope you enjoy Armchair BEA!

    http://readerbuzz.blogspot.com/2015/05/armchair-bea.html

  4. Debbie says:

    It should be a great week at ABEA! Love your blog name! I don’t really ‘review’ books–just do this for fun–but I would be annoyed too at they way they pitch their stuff.
    http://thefridayfriends.blogspot.com/2015/05/armchair-bea-introduction-post.html

  5. Freda Mans says:

    Cool job! Happy ABEA!

  6. Hiya Judith! I’m here to visit!🙂

    Wow, you are so cool! How did you get into the editing business?

    I get what you mean about diversity. Like, if we don’t think so much about others being different from us, maybe we won’t be so focused on them being different from us. As in, we should be color-blind, race-blind etc. Did I get that right?
    That’ something I’ve been thinking about. And I think Morgan Freeman said something similar.

    Looking forward to your next post🙂

    • Leeswammes says:

      Hey, Jessica! Nice to see you on my blog. I got into editing because people started to ask me to look at their books before they were published (rather than after, as we bloggers do). I realized I was actually quite good at that, and that’s how it began.

      Yes, regarding diversity, that’s just what I mean! Although there is of course the issue that we don’t treat everyone the same to start with (children vs. adults, scary-looking people vs. people in our in-crowd) so to say we should treat everyone exactly the same is never going to work. But if I (white) treat a black person badly, it should be because I would treat just anyone badly in that situation, not because they’re black.🙂

  7. tfs93 says:

    I wish I could read in another language. That should be on my bucket list.

  8. Oh, I didn’t know where you blog name came from! I like it😀

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

