The 24-Hour Read-a-thon! #readathon

readathonIt’s almost time to start the 24 Hour Read-a-thon! Over 1,500 (!) book bloggers and other book lovers all over the world will be reading as much as they can within 24 hours. Some will read 6 hours, some will try and read the full 24 hours.

Everyone starts at the same time, 12 GMT, which is 2pm for me here in the Netherlands. I do need my sleep, but I will try and read for 16-18 hours.

—0—0—0—0—0—

This is what I’ll be reading from:

De stiefmoeder by Renate DorresteinA Mile Down by David VannBritt-Marie was hier by Fredrik BackmanJoy by Jonathan Lee

De stiefmoeder (The Stepmother) by Renate Dorrestein. One of my favorite Dutch writers.

A Mile Down by David Vann. Another favorite writer. This is a biographical story.

Britt-Marie was hier (Britt-Marie Was Here) by Fredrik Backman. From the writer of A Man Called Ove.

Joy by Jonathan Lee. I already started in this book, so it’s a reserve, in case I finish the others.


End of Readathon survey

Which hour was most daunting for you? Hour 11 (12.30 midnight) The story in my head was not the same as in the book: time to go to sleep!
Could you list a few high-interest books that you think could keep a Reader engaged for next year? A book like Britt-Marie was here, by Fredrik Backman. He also wrote A Man Called Ove.
Do you have any suggestions for how to improve the Read-a-thon next year? No, it went well!
How many books did you read? Two and a half.
What were the names of the books you read? Britt-Marie was hier (Britt-Marie Was Here) by Fredrik Backman; A Mile Down by David Vann; De stiefmoeder (The Stepmother) by Renate Dorrestein.
Which book did you enjoy most? I loved them all, but Britt-Marie was hier was most fun.
Which did you enjoy least? Can’t say, as I did love them all.
How likely are you to participate in the Read-a-thon again? What role would you be likely to take next time? If I have the time, I’ll definitely join in again next time. I’ll be a reader.


After twenty-four hours (2 pm)

I read 134 pages in De stiefmoeder (The Stepmother) by Renate Dorrestein. Not finished but over halfway.

Total pages after 24 hours: 732
Finished: Britt-Marie was hier (Britt-Marie Was Here) by Fredrik Backman
Finished: A Mile Down by David Vann


After twenty-two hours (12 noon)

I read another 47 pages of A Mile Down by David Vann and finished the book (237 total). On to my final book, De stiefmoeder (The Stepmother) by Renate Dorrestein (read 22 pages).

Total pages after 22 hours: 598
Finished: Britt-Marie was hier (Britt-Marie Was Here) by Fredrik Backman
Finished: A Mile Down by David Vann


After twenty hours (10 am)

I read another 95 pages of A Mile Down by David Vann (190 total). But I slept for seven hours, too. Then I read at breakfast and in the bath. I feel very much awake!😉

Total pages after 20 hours: 529
Finished: Britt-Marie was hier (Britt-Marie Was Here) by Fredrik Backman


After ten hours of reading (12 midnight)

I read 95 pages of A Mile Down by David Vann. It’s a good read, but now and then a little too detailed for me. It’s all about Vann buying a boat and traveling with it.

Total pages after 10 hours: 434
Finished: Britt-Marie was hier (Britt-Marie Was Here) by Fredrik Backman


After seven hours of reading (9pm)

I finished Marie-Britt Was Here. It was a very fun book, ending differently from what I was expecting.
Next up: A Mile Down by David Vann.

Total pages after 7 hours: 339
Finished: Britt-Marie was hier (Britt-Marie Was Here) by Fredrik Backman


After five hours of reading (7pm)

I read 223 pages of Marie-Britt Was Here. I’m still enjoying it a lot. There is a clear baddie. Will Marie-Britt realize in time?

Total pages after 5 hours: 223


After two hours of reading (4pm)

I read 90 pages of Marie-Britt Was Here. It’s such a fun book! I’m really enjoying the story about this funny lady who has her own view of the world and spends most of her days cleaning.

Total pages after 2 hours: 90


Opening Meme

1) What fine part of the world are you reading from today? I’m reading from the Netherlands. 
2) Which book in your stack are you most looking forward to? I’m especially looking forward to A Mile Down. I am curious to read some non-fiction by David Vann. 
3) Which snack are you most looking forward to? I got some Tony Chocolonely chocolate, crackers and mackerel spread (yummy), and much more. All very nice!
4) Tell us a little something about yourself! I have my own book editing business so I get to read ALL THE TIME (and I still wanted to join in the readathon – there’s nothing better than that!)
5) If you participated in the last read-a-thon, what’s one thing you’ll do different today? I’ll do what I always do: read, eat, blog, and tweet!


.

Are you participating? What will you be reading?

Please leave a link to your starting post so I can easily find you.


About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

30 Responses to The 24-Hour Read-a-thon! #readathon

  1. jaynesbooks says:

    Wishing you lots of luck!

  2. Bina says:

    The Dorrestein looks great, I’ll have to put it ony my list. Have a great read-a-thon🙂 I’m starting at 2 in Germany as well.

  3. Trish says:

    Read, eat, blog, and tweet. Is there anything more? LOL! Have a great readathon Judith!🙂

  4. Have a great readathon!!

  5. bibliosue says:

    Happy reading Judith!

  6. amymckie says:

    Hello and happy readathon! I’m happy to be back cheering, and visiting blogs I haven’t seen since my hiatus🙂 I hope you enjoy your books!

  7. Diana says:

    90 pages?? Holy cow you’re doing great! Keep it up!

  8. Care says:

    CHEERS!!! Thanks for tweeting with me. My hub did a dastardly deed and invited people over for the afternoon but OH WELL. I’ll probably need a break by then. Have a great time.

    • Leeswammes says:

      People, Care? That’s indeed rather dastardly! I hope they don’t expect pie. Maybe you can take time preparing coffee in the kitchen (reading), getting some cookies (reading), etc.

  9. Rachael says:

    You have done great so far. 90 pages in a 2 hours is amazing! You are a fast reader! Happy readathon day! #teamdogwood.

  10. Elsi says:

    Checking in as hour 6 begins. You’re making good progress. Hope you’re enjoying your book and the read-a-thon. Keep going!

  11. amymckie says:

    Congratulations on finishing your first book! I hope you are still enjoying your reading! Happy readathon!

  12. Gnoe says:

    Great to see you’re doing well again this readathon! I’m curious to know what Vann you plan on picking up – recently I *finally* got to read Legend of a Suicide and it like nothing else I’ve read before. Now I need to get more of him!

    • Leeswammes says:

      Gnoe, yes, Vann is a category of his own. I love his books. Well, his writing, not all of his books (one I couldn’t finish). I’m now reading his memoir, A Mile Down.

  13. amymckie says:

    Phew your current read (A Mile Down) sounds hard to read at midnight, with all of the detail! I hope that you’re still enjoying the readathon!

  14. Leslie says:

    You are doing well! I only got in about seven hours of reading, but that’s a lot for me!

    • Leeswammes says:

      I had a great time, Leslie. Sounds like you did, too. Audiobooks is a handy way to “read”, which I haven’t adopted yet. So I was stuck to my sofa most of the day.🙂

  15. BookerTalk says:

    This takes a lot more stamina than I have. Do yiu lock yourself away so no one can interrupt you?

  16. Pingback: Book Review: A Mile Down by David Vann | Leeswammes' Blog

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

