Book review: Smoke by Catherine McKenzie

Smoke by Catherine McKenzie

Smoke: What it is about

Lake Union Publishing says: “From the internationally bestselling author Catherine McKenzie comes an evocative tale of two women navigating the secrets and lies at the heart of a wildfire threatening their town.

After a decadelong career combating wildfires, Elizabeth has traded in her former life for a quieter one with her husband. Now she works as the local arson investigator in a beautiful, quaint town in the Rockies. But that tranquil life vanishes when she and her husband agree to divorce and a fire in nearby Cooper Basin begins to spread rapidly. For Elizabeth, containing a raging wildfire is easier than accepting that her marriage has failed.

For Elizabeth’s ex-friend Mindy, who feels disconnected from her husband and teenage children, the fire represents a chance to find a new purpose: helping a man who has lost his home to the blaze. But her faith is shattered by a shocking accusation.

As the encroaching inferno threatens the town’s residents, Elizabeth and Mindy must discover what will be lost in the fire, and what will be saved.”

Smoke: What I thought

I read this book a while ago, in the summer, so the story isn’t quite clear in my head. The reason I read it then, was that I expected another chick-lit, like most of McKenzie’s other novels. A nice, easy read is just what I like on my holidays! However, this book was more like general, or women’s fiction.

The story was a little slow in places. The main character, Elizabeth, was a strong woman, which I liked. She prefers to spend time on a wildfire that is lasting for days than with her husband, whom she had promised not to be involved with the fire. With the fire moving closer to their house each day, Elizabeth tries to balance her relationship and her work.

The story reminded me of the books by Jodi Picoult. That means it was a good story, but not quite what I had been expecting. Smoke was a ‘just fine but nothing special’ novel.


Rating: 3.5 (out of 5)

Number of pages: 368

First published: 2015

I got this book: from the publishers for an honest review

Genre: women’s fiction

Extra: Other books by McKenzie I read: Spin, Forgotten, Arranged, Hidden

 

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

2 Responses to Book review: Smoke by Catherine McKenzie

  1. Mystica says:

    Sorry it did not work out just the way you expected.

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

