First Book of the Year (2016)

1st-a

Happy New Year!

I’m joining Book Journey’s First Book of the Year event! We’re showing off our first book of the year, and Sheila at Book Journey makes a lovely collage showing all the participants with their books.

My first book of 2016 is Slade House by David Mitchell. He’s one of my favorite authors, and it seemed like a nice book to start the New Year with.

firstbook

I’m not doing any challenges this coming year, but I thought it might be fun to read through my TBR in alphabetical order (of the title). Since I started with S, my next book would be T, etc. I reserve the right to read more than one book for each letter, though! Shift by Hugh Howey is waving at me, so that may be next.

What are you reading?

leeswammes_signature

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

56 Responses to First Book of the Year (2016)

  1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

    I just finished Slade House and I loved it! It was my penultimate book of 2015!

  2. Laurie C says:

    Happy New Year! I’m behind on David Mitchell and still haven’t read Bone Clocks and now he has a new one out that I completely missed hearing about! I read Wool by Hugh Howey last month. I think Silo may be the first book in the Wool trilogy? It was a little confusing, and I’m still not quite sure if I read one book by Hugh Howey or three! More research required…

    • Leeswammes says:

      Laurie, this new one has only been out for a few months. I enjoyed The Bone Clocks but not as much as I had hoped.

      I heard that Silo is a prequel to Wool, and I had a discussion with the book store assistant when I bought it about whether I should read Silo first or not. He wasn’t sure, so in the end I read Wool first. And there is another one in the series, too. I agree, it’s confusing.

      • Laurie C says:

        I think you did the right thing! I’ll have to look for Silo now. I still haven’t written a review of Wool, although I really liked it. I actually just realized I left Wool off my favorites list by accident, as I compiled the last of the list in a rush. (I started out well and added to the list as I went along until the end of the July, then I didn’t keep it up and had to scramble for the last half of the year’s favorites!)

      • Leeswammes says:

        I did review Wool: https://leeswammes.wordpress.com/2014/09/29/book-review-wool-by-hugh-howey I thought I read it this year, but I reviewed it over a year ago! Doesn’t time fly? It’s definitely time for Silo, then!

      • Leeswammes says:

        Laurie, I must have confused you even further. I just realised the title of the second book is Shift, not Silo (the series is called Silo).

  3. Beautiful cover on your book!

  4. Happy New Year! Not sure why I’m so intimidated by David Mitchell…

  5. Oh, this book looks very tempting. Enjoy! Thanks for sharing…and for visiting my blog.

  6. I love the idea of reading through in alphabetical order! I haven’t read any David Mitchell but I love the look of Slade House. Hope you enjoy!

  7. Bev Hankins says:

    Happy New Year! Reading your TBR list in alphabetical order is an intriguing idea. I’m not sure I could stick to it though….random books tend to catch my eye from the stacks.🙂

    • Leeswammes says:

      I have no idea whether I’ll get beyond the U, Bev, but I’d like to try! I do get attracted to random books – and what if I find a great book starting with R? Does it have to wait for months, or years, even? We’ll see…

  8. Judy B says:

    Reading your stack alphabetically. Sounds like fun. I wonder if I have all the letters?? Because I don’t own shelves and shelves of books, I could read from my virtual bookshelves. ie Goodreads. Maybe next year..this year I am doing 4 challenges…am I a bit crazy??

  9. readerbuzz says:

    I love David Mitchell, too, but I decided to start a little bit lighter….

    http://readerbuzz.blogspot.com

  10. I’ve stopped doing challenges too although I always do them subconsciously, choosing books to read for different challenging reasons. Enjoy your first book of the year!

    • Leeswammes says:

      Thanks, Laura. I haven’t got as much time as I used to so I like to be more free with what I choose to read. My to-read shelves are a mixture of genres, so I think I’ll get a nice selection of books to read that way. Happy New Year!

  11. I’ve decided this year to not join any challenges also. I have so many books on my TBR pile that I am going to try and read as many as I can of them this year. I guess that is my own personal challenge. ; ) Have a Happy Reading 2016 Year.

  12. Rachel says:

    That sounds like a fun way to work your way through your TBR pile. Choosing which book to read next can be really hard sometimes! Happy New Year!

  13. Mary says:

    I’m not familiar with the title so I’m off to Goodreads to find out more. Happy New Year!

  14. Ooh, I was eyeing this at the bookstore the other day. I haven’t read any David Mitchell but I think I would like this one. Hope you’re enjoying it! My first read of 2016 is The Evolution of Alice, the current selection for my province’s “On the Same Page” program (it’s like a province-wide book club).

  15. Stefanie says:

    Hau’oli Makahiki Hou. This sounds like funky read. I hope you enjoy it.

  16. Love your photo…you really look like you are enjoying the book. Love the smile.

    ENJOY, and Happy New Year and Happy Reading in 2016.

    Elizabeth
    Silver’s Reviews
    My First Book Of The Year

  17. Diane says:

    Cute pic – hope you enjoy your first book. Happy New Years.

  18. Melinda says:

    I have yet to read anything by David Mitchell, but I have to say that I love your picture!

  19. Kathryn says:

    Happy New Year and nice to pick a book of a favourite author to begin the year. Love your idea for you own little challenge to whittle down your pile of books. Love the photo.

  20. A favourite author is a good route to go down with the first book – I did too. I almost picked up this whilst book shopping yesterday, but I resisted. I’m sure I’ll get round to reading it some time soon. I hope you enjoy!

  21. Diana Leigh says:

    Happy New Year! I hope your first read of 2016 is enjoyable.🙂

  22. stacybuckeye says:

    Love the cover and the idea of reading TBR in alphabetical order. I’m always looking for fun ways to choose books to read.

  23. Leslie says:

    This is on my tbr list, but I have it in audio.

    I stopped doing challenges last year, although I still participate in reading events like the 24-hour read-a-thon, which is a favorite of mine.

  24. I don’t participate in reading challenges either other than the two that I challenge myself on. Happy New Year.

  25. Happy new year Judith! I’m a little jealous, Mitchell being one of my favourite authors, and I’ve not got a copy of this latest release yet. I’ll watch out for your review.

  26. Gnoe says:

    Great start! Slade House has been seducing me since the day it arrived but I want to finish my current read first. Which I started early November… Eeks. It was that months Boekgrrls read: Us by David Nicholls.

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

