Book Review: The Cry by Helen Fitzgerald

The Cry by Helen FitzgeraldThe Cry: What it is about

The publisher says: “When a baby goes missing on a lonely roadside in Australia, it sets off a police investigation that will become a media sensation and dinner-table talk across the world.
Lies, rumours and guilt snowball, causing the parents, Joanna and Alistair, to slowly turn against each other. Finally Joanna starts thinking the unthinkable: could the truth be even more terrible than she suspected? And what will it take to make things right?
Perfect for fans of Julia Crouch, Sophie Hannah and Laura Lippman, The Cry was widely acclaimed as one of the best psychological thrillers of the year. There’s a gripping moral dilemma at its heart and characters who will keep you guessing on every page.”

The Cry: What I thought

In this novel, you know more or less what happened from the start. And that’s fine. What we don’t know is, what will happen to Joanna and Alistair, the parents of the missing baby.

They made a bad decision (I believe), the kind that, once you’ve done it, you can’t go back without making things ten times worse. So they stick with it.

After the first chapters are narrated by Joanna, the story moves to Alexandra, the ex-wife of Alastair. She’s worried because, as his ex-wife, she is one of the suspects of the baby’s disappearance. Since we already have a good idea of what happened, it’s interesting to see the continuation of the story through someone else’s eyes, who does not know the truth.

Later, we discover that Joanna is on the brink of collapsing, while Alastair tries to keep it together. Their relationship starts to crumble as their reactions to what happened differ so much, and Alastair tries to force Joanna to follow his example.

An interesting tale, with a few unexpected twists. Fun to read, and a quick read, too!


Rating: 4 (out of 5)

Number of pages: 280 (my Dutch edition: De overdosis)

First published: 2013

I got this book: because a thriller festival that I had bought tickets for had been cancelled. They refunded the ticket and sent me a thriller book of my choice, as a consolation prize.

Genre: thriller

Also read by Helen Fitzgerald:  The Duplicate, Bloody Women, My Last ConfessionThe Donor

 

Book Review: Love May Fail by Matthew Quick

Love May Fail by Matthew QuickLove May Fail: What it is about

Harper (publisher) says: “An aspiring feminist and underappreciated housewife embarks on an odyssey to find human decency and goodness—and her high school English teacher—in New York Times bestselling author Matthew Quick’s offbeat masterpiece, a quirky ode to love, fate, and hair metal.

Portia Kane is having a meltdown. After escaping her ritzy Florida life and her cheating pornographer husband, she finds herself back in South Jersey, a place that remains largely unchanged from the years of her unhappy youth. Lost and alone, looking to find the goodness in the world she believes still exists, Portia sets off to save herself by saving someone else—a beloved high school English teacher who has retired after a traumatic incident.

Will a sassy nun, an ex-heroin addict, a metal-head little boy, and her hoarder mother help or hurt her chances on this madcap quest to restore a good man’s reputation and find renewed hope in the human race? Love May Fail is a story of the great highs and lows of existence: the heartache and daring choices it takes to become the person you know (deep down) you are meant to be.”

Love May Fail: What I thought

A book about helping other people and almost forgetting about yourself. People who may not deserve your help, and who certainly aren’t grateful for it. But it’s also a story about destiny: are certain things pre-ordained? There are some amazing coincidences in the story – but are they really just coincidences? Is this all meant to be?

Portia has walked out of her marriage and decides to find back her old school teacher who was such an inspiration to her. He’s not who he used to be and Portia tries to help him, but he does not want her help. She fails badly. Luckily, she is more successful in other ways, until she reaches rock bottom herself and she needs help from others.

The book is divided into several parts, each told by a different narrator, in such a way that one person picks up where the previous one left. One person is dead, but we read her letters. This is only a short section; many letters in a row can be a bit tiresome, but this was just fine.

The story was sometimes a little slow and sometimes ridiculous. It was not a perfect book, but it was interesting, and, like Quick’s previous book, The Good Luck of Right Now, discusses some important questions about life and death.

An easy and fun read, with something to think about.


Rating: 4.5 (out of 5)

Number of pages: 400

First published: 2015

I got this book: from the publisher for an honest review

Genre: contemporary fiction

Also read by this author: The Good Luck of Right Now 

 

Book Review: Light and Dark by Natsume Sōseki

Light and Dark by Natsume SosekiLight and Dark: What it is about

Columbia University Press (publisher) says: “Light and Dark, Natsume Soseki’s longest novel and masterpiece, although unfinished, is a minutely observed study of haute-bourgeois manners on the eve of World War I. It is also a psychological portrait of a new marriage that achieves a depth and exactitude of character revelation that had no precedent in Japan at the time of its publication and has not been equaled since. With Light and Dark, Soseki invented the modern Japanese novel.

Recovering in a clinic following surgery, thirty-year-old Tsuda Yoshio receives visits from a procession of intimates: his coquettish young wife, O-Nobu; his unsparing younger sister, O-Hide, who blames O-Nobu’s extravagance for her brother’s financial difficulties; his self-deprecating friend, Kobayashi, a ne’er-do-well and troublemaker who might have stepped from the pages of a Dostoevsky novel; and his employer’s wife, Madam Yoshikawa, a conniving meddler with a connection to Tsuda that is unknown to the others. Divergent interests create friction among this closely interrelated cast of characters that explodes into scenes of jealousy, rancor, and recrimination that will astonish Western readers conditioned to expect Japanese reticence.

Released from the clinic, Tsuda leaves Tokyo to continue his convalescence at a hot-springs resort. For reasons of her own, Madam Yoshikawa informs him that a woman who inhabits his dreams, Kiyoko, is staying alone at the same inn, recovering from a miscarriage. Dissuading O-Nobu from accompanying him, Tsuda travels to the spa, a lengthy journey fraught with real and symbolic obstacles that feels like a passage from one world to another. He encounters Kiyoko, who attempts to avoid him, but finally manages a meeting alone with her in her room. Soseki’s final scene is a sublime exercise in indirection that leaves Tsuda to “explain the meaning of her smile.”

Light and Dark: What I thought

First of all, this is one of the most beautiful books I’ve ever owned. A hardback, with a pressed-in print of the title and author, a beautiful loose cover. The paper has serrated edges and each chapter starts with a small picture. The paper is slightly shiny and very pleasant to read from. I love this physical book!

soseki1 soseki2

The story of the newlywed couple is fun to read but rather slow. Although the story was written in 1916, it felt quite modern, with O-Nobu, the wife, going her own way as much as she could. She seems quite the feminist. Of course, she hadn’t know her husband for very long (I think the marriage was arranged) so she was more likely to spend time in the theater with her friends than visiting her husband Tsuda in the hospital.

Also the wife of Tsuda’s employer plays a mysterious role in this story. She is an independent woman, too, who hides certain things from her husband and has a connection with Tsuda of some kind. In addition, Tsuda’s friend Kobayashi, who is so poor he has to beg a coat off Tsuda, is a fun character.

The combination of the beautiful book, the interesting characters and the exotic setting in time and place, made this a magical read. However, the story itself never grabbed me enough to keep reading. I read several pages a day for the month of April and part of May (because of East-Asia Month) but almost halfway, I felt it was enough. I may get back to this book at some point, but for now, I’m just very pleased that I own this beautiful book and that I read some of the story. In fact, since the author died before he could finish the manuscript, I would not be able to read the full story anyway. :-)


Rating: DNF (Did Not Finish – but: very beautiful!)

Number of pages: 422 (I read until page 188)

First published: 1916 (Japanese edition, Meian; this edition 2014, translated by John Nathan)

I got this book: I won a giveaway by Tony of Tony’s Reading List

Genre: classic (Japanese)

 

Book review: The Jesus Cow by Michael Perry

The Jesus Cow by Michael PerryThe Jesus Cow: What it is about

From Harper Publishers: “Life is suddenly full of drama for low-key Harley Jackson: A woman in a big red pickup has stolen his bachelor’s heart, a Hummer-driving predatory developer is threatening to pave the last vestiges of his family farm, and inside his barn is a calf bearing the image of Jesus Christ. His best friend, Billy, a giant of a man who shares his trailer house with a herd of cats and tries to pass off country music lyrics as philosophy, urges him to avoid the woman, fight the developer, and get rich off the calf. But Harley takes the opposite tack, hoping to avoid what his devout, dearly departed mother would have called ‘a scene.’

Then the secret gets out—right through the barn door, and Harley’s “miracle” goes viral. Within hours pilgrims, grifters, and the media have descended on his quiet patch of Swivel, Wisconsin, looking for a glimpse (and a percentage) of the calf. Does Harley hide the famous, possibly holy calf and risk a riot, or give the people what they want—and raise enough money to keep his land—and, just possibly, win the woman and her big red pickup truck?

Harley goes all in, cutting a deal with a major Hollywood agent that transforms his little farm into an international spiritual theme park—think Lourdes, only with cheese curds and t-shirts. Soon, Harley has lots of money . . . and more trouble than he ever dreamed.”

The Jesus Cow: What I thought

This was a humorous story about a man who only wanted peace and quiet. What he got was a veritable theme park in his back garden. He was trying to hide the calf with the Jesus image on its side, but didn’t manage. There come the crowds!

A fun read about a small town with its awkward relationships, secrets, and envy. Although only a few people are highlighted, it feels like a (small) town full of individuals. They all have their own interests at heart, and they clash. When the cow is discovered, for a while it seems the winners and losers have exchanged places. But are there really any winners now?

No one really knows what to do with all the crowds, until the men from Hollywood come in and sort it all out (including the money!). Poor Harley is more interested in his new girlfriend. Will she stay with him?

The ending is a little abrupt but is also the only way it could really have ended.

A real adventure involving a small town and is townspeople. And a cow.


Rating: 4.5 out of 5 stars (good to very good)

Number of pages: 288

First published: 2015

I got this book: for review from the publishers, Harper

Genre: contemporary fiction

 

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,585 other followers

%d bloggers like this: