Doña Nicanora’s Hat Shop by Kirstan Hawkins

Dona Nicanora's Hat Shop by Kirstan Hawkins

Dona Nicanora's Hat Shop

This is a delightful story taking place in an unmentioned country in South-America. The writing style reminded me a bit of that of the No. 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency books (by Alexander McCall Smith). It’s friendly, jolly, and never heavy.

Doña Nicanora is a lady of about 50 (I think) who has always wanted some adventure in her life. She had some, but not exactly as she had hoped. Her biggest wish is to start a hat shop in her village. Not that anyone wears hats really, but maybe they should! It would make them look as distinguished as the people in the big town.

She has her eyes on the only location that would be suitable (to her): the barbershop of Don Bosco. If he were to retire (and she thinks he should) then she could start her hat shop, finally! Soon we find out there is something a bit special between Don Bosco and Nicanora: they dated when they were young, but after Bosco proposed, she ran off with someone else. Does Don Bosco still have feelings for Nicanora? And is Nicanora sorry she refused him?

A book full of small intrigues, misunderstandings and gossip. Quite a light read, although the final message is something to ponder over.

Dutch Copy of Doña Nicanora's Hat Shop

Dutch Copy of Doña Nicanora's Hat Shop

The cover is quite striking, especially the Dutch version. The book I had was a hardback, but slightly smaller than a normal paperback. This made the book seem extra special. The pages were pleasantly thick.

If you enjoyed The No. 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency books, or the books by Isabel Allende, then don’t miss out on this little gem!

About Judith
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com and bookhelpline.nl. We edit books and articles for independent writers.

4 Responses to Doña Nicanora’s Hat Shop by Kirstan Hawkins

  1. Iris says:

    I’ve seen this book around in bookshops and it was exactly the striking Dutch cover that appealed to me. I’m glad that you’re reminding me of the book again, it certainly sounds like a book I’d enjoy.

  2. parajunkee says:

    Sounds interesting. Excellent review – thanks for dropping by and “getting out there” 😉 ♥ Parajunkee

  3. Pingback: What I’m Reading This Week (May 31) « Anna Marie's Corner

  4. Chinoiseries says:

    I read it just now and I have to agree with you, it’s a delightful read!

I love comments! Let me know what you think.