Bloggiesta – Update #3

Bloggiesta

I worked for 10 hours on my blog now, 4 hours today (Saturday) and this is what I achieved today:

Technical Stuff

  • I looked again at RSS subscriptions: how can I find out how many people subscribe by RSS? Irisonbooks had the answer for me: Google Webmaster Tools will tell you about this (it takes a day or two before it works). Iris also mentioned that, for WordPress, you need to include the code that you get from Google Webmaster Tools in the My Dashboard / Tools /Tools / Webmaster Tools Verification section. This worked fine for me.
  • I continued with Theresa’s mini-challenge It’s All About the Numbers, which involves setting up an account with a Stats site. Yesterday,  I got stuck with this, but today, with help of Danielle (The1stDaughter), I used http://www.statcounter.com/wordpress.com/ with good success. So, I’m all done with this mini-challenge now!

I was glad to get these technicalities sorted, as I could not work it out at all yesterday. Thanks for the help, Iris and Danielle!

  • After I saw Graasland‘s Bloggiesta update post, mentioning she had backed up her blog, I decided to do this too. Very easy, very quick!
  • I also looked for a Gravatar, after Natasha at Maw’s books had been twittering about this and put me to shame. My husband took a few pictures and we chose the best one. Well, that figures.

Other Stuff

  • I worked a bit more on the Business Plan. Almost done. I’ve got a list of action points. I just need to prioritize them and see what I really want to do in the short-term.
  • I wrote a new post for tomorrow (for the WeekendCooking meme) and posted a review today: The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness.
  • I further looked for a Dutch bloggers community and had an email exchange with someone who has a website and forum about Dutch books. She was unaware of a community other than her forum and similar websites. She did mention she gets books for review sometimes, so at least now I know that that does happen in the Netherlands, too!
  • I also spend time visiting other people’s blogs, especially because I have an idea for an international blogging event and wanted to prepare a list with countries and bloggers.

I accomplished more than I thought, now that I’m writing it down! I expected this post to be really short. Good! A little more work tomorrow. But that was enough for today.

About Judith
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com and bookhelpline.nl. We edit books and articles for independent writers.

17 Responses to Bloggiesta – Update #3

  1. Carin B. says:

    Nice! I’m glad you found the website/forum about Dutch books! Hopefully you’ll get some to review at some point! You have done WAY better than I did today. I spent the day designing my bookmark/business cards. I haven’t written any posts! Yikes!

    I am entering the photo mini-challenge (complete with fiesta-y blanket and tequila) though. I’m sending in my entry right now! You should enter too 🙂

    • leeswammes says:

      I feel bad about not doing the photo-challenge. But I sort of forgot (had to get a Gravatar, too!) and now it’s late and I don’t have anby more energy (or ideas) to think about it…. 😦

      Getting the business cards/bookmarks sorted is a real good achievement! You might not otherwise have the time to look for this, so during the Bloggiesta is ideal.

  2. Lizzy says:

    Well, I had no idea what a gravatar was, and had to google it. Now I know! You’ve gotten quite a bit done, too. Sadly, I’m not as efficient as I thought I would be. Enjoy the rest of your weekend.

    • leeswammes says:

      Anything you get done that you normally wouldn’t is good! Enjoy the rest of the weekend and maybe you’ll get done some more tomorrow!

  3. Wow, congrats, you achieved quite a lot,a nd you still ahev tomorrow to cross off a few more things from your list! 🙂

    Thanks for the links, I’ll have to check out how to back up my blog too.

    I have heard of a few Dutch bloggers: Leontine from Leontine’s Realm, Natasha, Pearl from ROOB (if you can’t find their links, just drop me a line and I’ll send them.)

    Have a great (and prodcutive) Sunday! 🙂

    • leeswammes says:

      Stella, I guess on blogspot it should’t be hard to backup either! Good luck with that and the other to-do’s! Thanks for the Dutch names, I will check them out.

  4. Bookjourney says:

    You are doing awesome. I just set up my RSS subscriptions too. I really had no idea how to do that with wordpress. 🙂

    • leeswammes says:

      Sheila, it should give us a better idea about followers. My email followers are so few still, that I need some encouragement and see how many RSS followers I have. 🙂

  5. You had a great day! I will look up google webmaster tools, bet there’s some answers for me there.
    I live in Canada but my husband’s family is Dutch.

    • leeswammes says:

      Kristin, I was going to ask you about your last name, it sounds Dutch! So that makes sense if your husband’s family is. Have a great Sunday!

  6. You are so welcome! I’m glad it helped and it looks like you’re getting a lot accomplished! Keep it going!

  7. Rikki says:

    Is the international blogging event the one that Carin talked about as well? Can’t wait to know more about it.
    Thanks for the post about RSS feed subscribers. Must have a look at those webmaster tools and figure it out, too.

    • leeswammes says:

      Rikki, my international event is a different one, although Carin and I will be helping each other out where necessary. For starters we’ll be guest authors on each other’s blogs.

      Don’t delay on the RSS feed thing. It is very easy, I doubt that you need help, but you can always ask me if you’re unsure about something. Good luck!

  8. Pingback: The Bookkeeper » Bloggiesta update 3

  9. Jessica says:

    Thanks for the interesting update, Im still trying to get to grips with RSS so might leave that till next time. Good luck for the rest of your list.

  10. Iris says:

    I’m glad Google Webmaster Tools worked out for you!

I love comments! Let me know what you think.