Guest Post: Carin B. (A Little Bookish) on Asian-American Writers

JapanAt Bloggiesta, a few weeks ago, Carin B. from A Little Bookish agreed to do a guest post for my blog. She’s my first guest blogger and it’s great to have her here!

Carin’s own blog has book reviews on Fantasy, Sci-Fi, General Fiction, and some Non-Fiction. Currently, she organizing the wonderful Book Read ‘Round the World event, where she sends two books around the world for bloggers from various countries to read and connect. Maybe there’s still time to join in!

The topic of Carin’s guest blog is Asian-American writers, which is of special interest to her given her own Japanese background.

Carin B. from A Little Bookish

Carin B. from A Little Bookish

I’ve been following Leeswammes’ Blog for a while now. When she joined the Japanese Literature Challenge, I got really excited because 1) I haven’t read a lot of Japanese literature and 2) I am a fourth generation Japanese American. Because of our mutual interest in Asian authors, we talked about some Asian American writers that we enjoy and I was asked to write a guest post on some of the books by Asian American writers that I really enjoy.

In my own life, I have grown up in a very American household that was more influenced by Hispanic culture (I’m originally from New Mexico and my dad is Hispanic) than Japanese, but I noticed that despite being Sansei (third generation Japanese American), my mom is still quite Japanese in some ways.  The older generations in my family tend to be tight lipped and focused on the present and future, while the younger generations want to know what makes them who they are since they did not grow up in the typical American household. Because I am fourth generation American, my experience is less this way, but it still exists. As I’ve gotten older, books by Asian American authors have become more interesting to me because the main characters are often searching for a sense of identity with a cultural that they only partially know—the strong presence of Asian culture and norms in the home and the American culture they are immersed in once they walk out the door of their house often conflict on an inner level, and their search for the significance is a very prominent theme in my own life.

~Carin B.,  A Little Bookish

Here are a few of my favorite books by Asian American authors:

One Thousand Chestnut Trees by Mira Stout

One Thousand Chestnut Trees

One Thousand Chestnut Trees by Mira Stout (Korean American):

Anna is a young artist that feels aimless and begins to search for meaning by traveling to Korea to learn about her family’s history. Her great-grandfather was once the ruler of the Kwangdon Province, but lost everything when the Japanese invaded. He ordered a temple to be built on top of a mountain amongst one thousand chestnut trees.

The book explores Korea’s history and weaves Anna’s family legacy into a beautiful tale of self-discovery. I really liked the language of the book and the little details that I still remember, including the making of kimchi that was buried underground. I didn’t know much about Korea, but the book made me want to visit the country after I read it.

The Bonesetter's Daughter by Amy Tan

The Bonesetter's Daughter

The Bonesetter’s Daughter by Amy Tan (Chinese American)

The Bonesetter’s Daughter was the story of a woman coming to grips with her mother’s illness and the difficult relationship the two had in years past.

Ruth’s mother LuLing, tells her tale of being raised as a child by a burned nursemaid named Precious Auntie. Precious Auntie claims to know the location of a hidden cave that contains dragon bones.

Through LuLing’s story, Ruth comes to understand her mother’s motivations and her own as well. The book is relevant to any mother-daughter relationship but I think is especially interesting for families who have divergent cultures.

The Street of a Thousand Blossoms by Gail Tsukiyama

The Street of a Thousand Blossoms

The Street of a Thousand Blossoms by Gail Tsukiyama (American of Chinese and Japanese descent)

The Street of a Thousand Blossoms was a different book for me because while Gail Tsukiyama is an American writer of both Chinese and Japanese descent, this book was about two brothers who grew up in Japan.

One brother, Hiroshi, is ambitious, strong, and outgoing and trains to be a sumo wrestler. His brother Kenji is soft-spoken and wants to become a Noh mask maker. As young boys, their lives are interrupted by the Second World War where they endure terrible hardships including the fire bombing of Tokyo.

After the war, both boys grow into men and their lives take them in very different directions, but they remained linked by the shared experiences of their childhood and brotherhood. The story was interesting to me because as a Westerner, I don’t often hear the Japanese experience of the horrors of WWII and the rebuilding of Japan afterwards.

Thanks, Carin, for telling us about your background and your favorite Asian-American writers! I have read some books by Amy Tan, but not this one. The book by Mira Stout sounds very interesting too. And books about Japan, well, I always enjoy those. Carin, maybe you’d also like this book: My Year of Meat by Ruth Ozeki, which is set in modern-day Japan and America, and deals with the eccentricities of Japanese culture.

—xxx—

Look out for another guest post here on Leeswammes coming Thursday. This will be the first in an international guest blog series, Book Bloggers Abroad, that I organize. Don’t miss the post by Rachel from Australia!

About Judith
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com and bookhelpline.nl. We edit books and articles for independent writers.

14 Responses to Guest Post: Carin B. (A Little Bookish) on Asian-American Writers

  1. Thanks! I put My Year of Meat on my TBR list and on my wishlist. I always like to find new Asian American writers! Thank you for asking me to guest post on your blog as well. I love reading your blog and feel very honored that you asked me to write a guest post.

  2. kolibri says:

    Thanks for this post. I always love to read about books new to me. I just finished Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet by Jamie Ford. He has Chinese ancestors.

    • leeswammes says:

      I liked that book a lot. I didn’t know about his ancestors, though.

      • I didn’t either! That is so interesting! I have had that book on my TBR list for awhile. I just have so many books hoarded on my shelves that I’ve been trying to get to those first.

        I will definitely get to this book soon. I think that’s what started our talking about Asian American writers in the first place. Leeswammes has a great review of it on her blog. I think it was from May, wasn’t it?

  3. I’ve not read any of those. I’ll add them to my list.

    • They are my absolute favorites that I’ve read so far. I especially loved One Thousand Chestnut Trees because I really don’t know anything about Korea. It was really beautifully written as well. I really enjoyed it.

  4. Tes says:

    What a great post to kick start the program! Carin did the wonderful job writing and suggesting interesting books. I will look for these soon.

  5. gnoegnoe says:

    Hi Carin, interesting post! One of the books that has made quite an impression on me in the past few years is Obasan (Aunt) by Joy Kogawa. It’s about a Canadian-Japanese girl learning about what happened to her family in WW2.

    It was a bookcrossing copy and my thoughts can be found on the book journal page. Don’t get scared away by some Dutch text on top; just scroll down and you’ll find my opinion in English.

    It’ll be fun to meet you in the JapLit4 Challenge! My list can be found at Graasland. The Street of a Thousand Blossoms is not on it I’m afraid, but it is waiting on Mount TBR so you never know! I absolutely loved The Samurai’s Garden and The Women of the Silk.

    An Anglo-Asian writer I especially like is Kazuo Ishiguro.. 🙂

    • Carin B. says:

      Oh I will look into Obasan for sure. You know, I didn’t sign up for the Japanese Lit Challenge this time around. I will definitely do it next time though! I didn’t even know it existed until I had acquired too many books for this year. I will definitely be following all of you guys on it though! I can’t wait to read your reviews.

      I thought the Japanese Lit Challenge was only Japanese writers (from Japan I mean). Are you able to read writers of Japanese descent as well?

      I also liked The Women of the Silk but thought Street of a Thousand Blossoms was better. I can’t remember if I’ve read The Samurai’s Garden or not. Dreaming Water by Tsukiyama is on my “Mount TBR” at the moment. By the way, I love the term, “Mount TBR”….SO fitting.

      You know, I don’t mind when people write in their native languages as much now because of Google Translate. I can just click a button and there it is in English for me! 🙂 I’ll go check out Bookcrossing right now and then hit your blog to look at your list!

  6. Wallace says:

    I really enjoy Lisa See’s books. I’ve read Snow Flower and the Secret Fan and Shanghai Girls, and flew through them both. Although being blonde and looking like she doesn’t have an ounce of Asian blood in her she is (I believe) half Chinese. Very good writer.

I love comments! Let me know what you think.