Two Read-A-Thons and a Final Challenge for 2011

When you think you can quietly (or not so quietly) enjoy Thanksgiving, Sinterklaas, and Christmas, there come the book bloggers with some more events to keep you busy.

Two read-a-thons and a getting ready for 2012 event. Maybe you want to join in! I do.

Thankfully Reading Weekend

ThankfullyReading

Spend your Thanksgiving weekend (or if you don’t do Thanksgiving: it’s this coming weekend) reading!

There are no real rules: just to read as much as you can during Friday, Saturday and Sunday. There will be mini-challenges and giveaways.

You can sign up at Jenn’s Book Shelves HERE. Over 60 people already did! Hope to see you there!

Belated Readathon

The Belated Readathon is organised by Dead White Guys and The Souls of Thought and is “For Those Who Forgot About the Last One or Were Out of Town or Slept Through it or Whatever.”

The read-a-thon runs from 7am Saturday December 3rd until 7 am Sunday December 4th. A real 24 hour read-a-thon. So read into the early hours and join the other participants HERE.

Get Read-y for 2012

Get read-y for 2012

Not a read-a-thon, but a final challenge to get as many books off your shelves as possible, before the new year starts.

This is organised by Loving Books and runs for the whole of December, with weekly check-ins and a giveaway.

The goal is to reduce your to-be-read pile, and especially any review books that you haven’t got round to so you can start 2012 with a more manageable pile of books.

More information HERE and sign up on the Mr Linky on December 1st.

Will you find the time to participate?

About Judith
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com and bookhelpline.nl. We edit books and articles for independent writers.

16 Responses to Two Read-A-Thons and a Final Challenge for 2011

  1. Ally says:

    I always try to read as much as possible, and as for challenges, I will take part in two, but that’s for next year: the new authors one and a challenge hosted by me and Bellezza, in February. Maybe you would like to join in. It is very simple 🙂

    • Leeswammes says:

      I’ll have a look, Ally. I’m trying to keep the number of challenges down. This year, I finished all of them except one (that I just gave up on).

      But if it’s simple…. I’ll take a look. 🙂

  2. Suzanne says:

    I’m officially doing Dead White Guys’ readathon next weekend and will unofficially participate in the readathon this weekend.
    I thought I was going to have to come into work sometime this weekend but it turns out I’m free for four days, and aside from one (dreaded) family dinner I can read to my heart’s content!

    I’ll look into the Get Read-y Challenge too. It would be nice to start 2012 with a clean(er) TBR pile!

    Thanks for letting us know about these events.

    • Leeswammes says:

      I saw your name on the linky list, Suzanne. I think I’ll (only) do the Turkey read-a-thon and also the Get Read-y challenge. Not sure I want to spend 24 hours reading this time. Yawn!

  3. Julie says:

    Oh! I’m so glad you mentioned that read-a-thon for this weekend. I finally have a weekend where I really don’t have any plans. So I’m going to sign up and get some reading done! Yay!

  4. I wish I could participate in Thankfully Reading but I have to work all weekend 😦

  5. I’m signed up for Thankfully readng. Still pondering exactly what I will read. Since I love to make lists, I am dragging this part out to get the most list-making fun possible. Then I have signed up for three 2012 challenges, and am considering a couple more. Plus, I’m doing the Wolf Hall readalong starting November 28 (Linus’s Blanket and Coffee and a Book Chick host). October was all work and no blogging, so I am making up for lost time!

  6. Leslie says:

    I’m participating in Thankfully Reading Weekend too. That one was a lot of fun last year. And besides, you couldn’t pry me out of the house and anywhere near a shopping center this weekend.

  7. Vasilly says:

    I’m signed up for Thankfully Reading Weekend. I’m definitely in for the Get Ready for 2012 challenge. I have a ton of ARCs that I would love to read and get rid of. Thanks for letting us know about these challenges!

    • Leeswammes says:

      I’m almost done with my review books for this year, Vasilly, although I think there are a few on their way to me. Hope you get a lot done before the new year.

  8. Neer says:

    Thanks for letting us know of these. I’ve signed up for the Thanksgiving weekend.

I love comments! Let me know what you think.