Book Review: Taboo by Casey Hill

Taboo by Casey Hill

After a lot of fiction, some fantasy and chick-lit, I was very eager to pick up a thriller again. It had been too long!

And Taboo is such a satisfying read! It was exactly what I needed.

Taboo: What it is about

Riley Steel is a forensics investigator who has recently moved from California to Ireland to lead the Dublin forensics team and teach them some modern methods.

Her father, who was born in Ireland, had moved back a few years before, and Riley being near him means that she can keep an eye on her bottle-loving father. Something in his past has left him unable to cope with life and Riley herself has problems dealing with it too.

Then a young man and woman are found dead on a bed, and Riley is called in to investigate. This is the beginning of a number of horrific crimes by what’s obviously a very sick-minded serial killer. The killer is leaving clues that seem to lead to something. But what exactly?

Taboo: What I thought

This is a wonderful debut novel of a husband and wife writer team. I didn’t quite connect with Riley, although I was curious as to what could have happened in her past that was still haunting her at night.

However, I really liked Chris Delaney, a policeman who was on the case together with his partner Kennedy. Chris warmed to Riley quickly, while Kennedy was unimpressed by the American forensics expert who was hired to tell the Dubliners how to do their jobs.

Chris was a very nice person, good colleague, and he too had something bothering him, a physical problem but he didn’t want to go to the doctor. I hope to read more about it in the sequel.

The story was built up well and although I had some vague ideas about what type of person the serial killer could be, it wasn’t until just before Riley and Chris found out, that I realised how matters stood.

The setting, Dublin, made a nice change from other thrillers I’ve read although I only got a good feel for the location once the story moved to a seaside town nearby.

A fast, compelling read that completely fulfilled my need for a good thriller. A book for anyone that loves mysteries and thrillers.

Rating: 5/5 stars

I got this book: as an uncorrected proof copy from Simon & Schuster UK for review

I read this in: English, the original language

Number of pages: 409

First published: 2011 (July)

Genre: thriller, mystery

Extras: This is my first book for the R.I.P. Challenge

R.I.P. VI

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

16 Responses to Book Review: Taboo by Casey Hill

  1. Yay, another one for the list! A 5/5 crime fic is going straight on the pile!😉

  2. Yes, I really enjoyed this and I will be reading their next effort!

  3. Corri says:

    Well, I’m really into crime / political / spy thrillers I discovered so this goes on my list! Thanks

    • Leeswammes says:

      I’m happy that I pointed you towards a new book, Corri. I think it’s worth a read especially if you like thrillers & crime. This is form the perspective of a forensic scientist, so not much in terms of political or spy events.🙂

  4. Carl V. says:

    I happy that the book was so satisfying for you. Sometimes a good, fast-paced read is just what the doctor ordered. I know I’m enjoying my current read in part because the last book I read was wonderful but dense and complex and huge.

    A husband and wife writing team, eh? That is interesting. I wonder how that works out. I remember listening to an NPR review of a now divorced husband and wife writing team who still write together because they have had success with their books. Can’t remember anything else about them though. Their animosity towards one another was not very veiled so the interview was quite interesting.

    • Leeswammes says:

      That seems rather odd, Carl! How could they still work together? Amazing. Thanks for your comment.

      • Carl V. says:

        I gathered from the interview that they each had strengths and had been unsuccessful writing separately and that their writing strengths complimented one another. Sadly that wasn’t true for the rest of their marriage.

      • Leeswammes says:

        Well, I think it’s great that they could still work together. Let’s just hope they had their lunchbreaks separately! Well, actually, maybe they didn’t have to spend all that much time in the same room.🙂

  5. Carl V. says:

    If I remember correctly they just send stuff back and forth and don’t have a lot of face-to-face meetings. She came off as very domineering and he came off as very passive-aggressive and it was obvious listening to them that the relationship was OVER.

  6. Kailana says:

    I am not sure I would want to work with the person I was with, but that’s just me.. It seems to me it could end badly and you need to have some space or you see each other a bit too much. Still, I am glad they write together so successfully and you enjoyed the book!

  7. KimvA says:

    Jeej you liked it. I hope to start this one soon too. Really looking forward to it.

  8. Lani says:

    I didn’t like it. Too fake. Not even a little bit believable. I read it on kindle and it was LOADED with typos. Very annoying.

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

