Joining the A-Z Book Challenge


A-Z Books Challenge

This sounds like a fun challenge!

Edit: I realise it doesn’t clearly say, but this is not my challenge, it’s organised by Babies, Books, & Signs. Sign up here.

The A-Z challenge is very simple: find 26 books that have titles that start with each letter of the alphabet (for X you can choose a title that has the letter anywhere in it).

It doesn’t say you can’t overlap with other challenges so it shouldn’t be too hard. You can either prepare your list now, or do it during the year. I’ve left it right open for now, so I can choose whatever books I like!

I’m trying to read the books in alphabetical order, but as you can see, I’ve also added some books that I read earlier, just in case.

A. Jan: Away by Amy Bloom

B. Jan: The Bone Garden by Tess Gerritsen

C. Jan: The Collector by John Fowles

D. Jan: The Discovery of Jeanne Baret by Glynis Ridley

E. Jan: The End of Alice by A. M. Homes

F. Jan: The Finkler Question by Howard Jacobson

G. Jan: The Gargoyle by Andrew Davidson

H. Feb: Half-Brother by Kenneth Oppel

I. Feb: The Imperfectionists by Tom Rachman

J. Mar: Just in Case by Meg Rosoff

K. July: De kers op de taart [Recipe for love] by Katie Fforde

L. Aug: The Light between Oceans by M. L. Stedman

M. Aug: Miss Me When I’m Gone by Emily Arsenault

N. Sept: Nocturnes by Kazuo Ishiguro

O. Sept: The Orchardist by Amanda Coplin

P. Sept: De perpetuum mobile van de liefde [The Perpetuum Mobile of Love] by Renate Dorrestein (not reviewed)

Q. Oct- Mrs. Queen Takes the Train

R. Oct- The Round House by Louise Erdrich

S. Oct- The Secret Keeper by Kate Morton

T. Oct- Tweestrijd [Duel] by Linda Jansma

U.  Oct- The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry by Rachel Joyce (not reviewed)

V.  Nov-De verzegelde brief [The Sealed Letter] by Emma Donnoghue

 

The others are probably not going to happen…:

W. planned – Wolf Totem by Jiang Rong

X.  no idea- probably skip

Y. no idea- probably skip

Z. planned – Zonder Noorden komt niemand thuis by Nelleke Noordervliet

Sounds fun? 

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

38 Responses to Joining the A-Z Book Challenge

  1. Roxanne says:

    Oh wow that is a nice one! I put on my list for 2012 that I would like to read 20 new books, but this could be a great challenge as well😀 I will think about it.

  2. No, I won’t be doing this challenge either. I only hope to reduce my tbr shelves significantly next year. I like the idea of this one though. A few (American) friends of mine did a challenge in which they read a book set in every state during the year. I like the idea of that one as well, although it does add up to a lot of books.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Marleen, I was planning to do a TBR challenge but I thought the A_Z challenge would be more fun. Most of the books I can get from my TBR (if I want) and then there are just a few letters left that I need to fill up from my wishlist or otherwise.

      I was thinking about a 12-provinces challenge for the Netherlands, but even that sounds like too much work to me.🙂

  3. It does sound fun, but it probably won’t be easy to find a book starting with X. I have a large collection, but the only title that starts with X is an encyclopdedia of classical music (XYZ der muziek). Not the kind of book I would read!

    • Leeswammes says:

      Anna, see my intro – for X an exception is made – as long as the letter appear *anywhere *in the title of the book, that’s OK. For the other letters, it has to be the first one in the title. I think it would be near impossible to find a book starting with X!

  4. I recently looked at my Review Index, and realized I have never reviewed a book that begins with J, X, Y, or Z! This sounds like a fun challenge!

    • Leeswammes says:

      That’s interesting, Col! I updated my review index the other day and had to add two letters that I’d never used before (I think it was J and V, not sure now). Funny, isn’t it?

  5. Sabrina says:

    I tried to do this challenge in 2009. I did get to 12 letters during this year (I’m/was a slow reader). I think it’s also possible to do this with the first letters of author’s names.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Sabrina, that wasn’t too successful then. But it’s nice to try. Yes, author names: I did that before, in a Shelfair challenge. Even had one for the X!

  6. Hi, I was not going to do any challenges for 2012 as like you I want to concentrate on reading the many books we still have on our TBR shelves! Thinking though that this might just be a good way to help me choose which book to read next? Are there any rules about reading in alphabetical order? Also I guess we can ignore The in titles?

    • Leeswammes says:

      LindyLou, indeed, this challenge is nice as it helps us to decide what to read next. I think most of the book can come from my TBR if I want to, and then I have to search my wishlist for the rest.

      You can check the original post for details, but *the* and *a* can be ignored and you can read in any order you like. Now there is an interesting challenge… read A-Z in order. Hmm….

  7. I have now looked at the challenge and think I probably will link up, hope you decide to do so as well, you do not appear on the list yet?

  8. Suzanne says:

    I love these challenges — they help me clean up my huge TBR pile.
    I’m going to check this one out. Thanks for letting us know about it.

  9. BookGoddess says:

    I so join in! If comic book X-men count then you got one😉
    But you don’t have to start with A I guess!
    I love challenges🙂

  10. Rikki says:

    Sounds like a fun challenge which takes a bit of thought, too. Good luck!

  11. Leeswammes says:

    I realise it doesn’t clearly say, but this is not my challenge, it’s organised by Babies, Books, & Signs. Sign up here: http://www.babiesbooksandsigns.com/p/z-challenge-2012.html

  12. Chinoiseries says:

    Nooo, you enabler! Even more fun challenges🙂 I’ve already got 60 books lined up (not yet counting the Murakami challenge) for 212 challenges o___O

    • Leeswammes says:

      Always enjoying being an enabler, Chinoiseries! I think you can add one more challenge to the list. It’ll take you to 572 books for the next year, but hey, the year is long!

  13. Carol N Wong (@Carolee888) says:

    I am in, this sounds like fun. I just joined on the other blog.

    Carol Wong

  14. Cindy says:

    Sounds fun, alas … wish I had the time🙂

  15. Pingback: A-Z boek uitdaging 2012 « Met mijn neus in een boek

  16. Esme says:

    This sounds like a fun challenge-I did a Where am I reading challenge and was surprised where my books where located. There is a pattern for me.

  17. JoV says:

    I tried it in 2009 and the difficult one would be the letter X and Q but still I find T very difficult. Not sure why. But I ended up knowing authors I’ll never get to know, like Xinran or Zweig or Matthew Quick!🙂 All the very best for this challenge next year!

    • Leeswammes says:

      This one’s A-Z on titles of books, Jo. I did a challenge a couple of years ago with author names. I did find one X in the library which was a good read too.🙂

  18. You are doing well, I just called by to see how you were doing. At the moment i am trying to read in alphabetical order, nearly finished my choice for D and must now hunt on my TBR shelves for E.

    • Leeswammes says:

      I keep forgetting to update it, LindyLou. I know I read an “H” last month especially for the challenge – I’m also trying to read in alphabetical order, although I have filled in other letters already, just in case I don’t get around to them later.

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

