Quick Book Review: The Little Prince by Antoine de Saint-Exupéry

The Little Prince by Antoine de Saint-Exupéry

Years ago, I read this book at school, for my French class. I remember enjoying it a lot. The recent re-read in English fared less well: I was underwhelmed.

The Little Prince is a very short book about a man (the author) who crashes his plane in a desert in Northern Africa. He is all alone until a little man shows up, who claims to be from a different planet. The little man, a prince, tells him about his own (very small) planet, and about the planets he has visited before he reached Earth.

While this is  a children’s book, there are clearly some important life lessons in the book to be appreciated by adults as well.

The book contains a lot of drawings made by the author himself.

The idea is cute and I remembered this as an imaginative and charming story. This time around, I found it repetitive (the prince goes to this planet, that planet) and too unbelievable. For instance, the prince lives on a very small planet – to see the sunset after having just seen a sunset he only has to walk a few meters. The idea is fun, but it’s too far removed from a possible reality.

So, while I liked some of the ideas in the book, the overall opinion was just so-so. Most people love this (as I did, years ago), so don’t let me put you off!

Rating: 3

Number of pages: 110

First published: 1943 (French: Le Petit Prince)

I got this book: received this from Stephanie of Read in a Single Sitting. A little gift because she enjoyed being part in the Literary Giveaway Blog Hop so much (in 2012).🙂

Genre: children’s fiction

Have you read this book?

Did you enjoy it?

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

17 Responses to Quick Book Review: The Little Prince by Antoine de Saint-Exupéry

  1. Charlie says:

    It does sound brilliant for a child, the sunset after sunset sounds fun, but yes, maybe not so great for adults. Still, it’s nice to revisit childhood favourites🙂

  2. Isi says:

    Well, I haven’t read the book but it is one of my mother’s favourite books and, as I see, I think you don’t have to take it very seriously (I mean, about the small planet, for example); it is just a take for adults, for life…

  3. JoV says:

    Maybe you have grown up? So am I. I wasn’t enchanted by it. I doubt I will change my mind the next 20 years.😉

  4. Roxanne says:

    I don’t remember much of this book. I have read it in both French and Dutch when I was 15 years old. Later on someone read a part of the book out loud because she found that it was about addiction and one of the guys in that group needed to stop using drugs. So there must be a deeper layer in there that I haven’t seen back then. Maybe I should read it again?

  5. Heidi says:

    This must be one of my all-time favourite books! I didn’t know that there was a movie, too (I’m usually a bit behind the times in that regard) – found your link under the Eclectic Reader Challenge. Did you see the movie and was it any good?

  6. Alice says:

    I read this book last night, such a cute book. I agree, it is a little repetitive and hard to believe, which makes it the perfect children’s book, but not so much for adults.

  7. joyweesemoll says:

    I liked it when I read it the first time, but mostly because I some life lessons that were helpful at that time. It probably wouldn’t mean as much to me now.

  8. *shakes fist at you*

    I have nothing to say to you anymore!

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

